We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tena Tena Camp
Nearby Hotels
Croc Valley Camp(South Luangwa National Park)(Great Value!)
$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Zikomo Safari Camp(South Luangwa National Park)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Robin Pope Safaris(South Luangwa National Park)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tafika Camp(South Luangwa National Park)
Shenton Safaris Mwamba Bush Camp(South Luangwa National Park)
Kuyenda Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company(South Luangwa National Park)
Chinzombo - Norman Carr Safaris(South Luangwa National Park)
Nsolo Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris(South Luangwa National Park)
Mushroom Lodge(South Luangwa National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
49
11
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
11
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomfantastic guiderobin pope safarisnsefu sectorcommunal areasluangwa riversafari vehicleincluding lionsremote placewild dogsgame drivesmating lionsview of the riverexcellent game viewingwake up callgreat sightingssense of humour
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 63 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2016

We'd rate Tena Tena Camp an 11 out of 10 because, for us, it was absolutely perfect and we loved every second there. It is a beautiful camp, beautifully maintained with an outstanding staff (and of course guides) and fantastic food. We love tented camps and this is one of the best we've ever seen (and we've seen quite a few!). We loved the stunning bathroom especially. Tena Tena is relaxing, lovely, comfortable, fun and very, very friendly. It's also a lovely place to celebrate a birthday! The guests were all 'out' the day three lions walked through camp, but at least we got to hear the story! Great wildlife sightings with a great guide.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2016

Tena Tena is a luxury tent camp surrounded by hippos and lions at night. They take care of everything. The individual tents are very clean and comfortable. The open air bath with low walls allowed you to see out while showering or shaving. The fire pit allowed everyone to gather and share stories in the evening or during afternoon tea. The morning game drive after a nice breakfast allowed us to see animals up close and the afternoon game drive included a "sundowner" cocktail before the night drive when we saw the nocturnal animals. A very excellent place to safari.

Room Tip: With only 6 rooms/tents it is difficult to go wrong.
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank calypso1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

Tena Tena is an amazing place to go on an African Safari . The tented camp is beautifully appointed . The rooms were spacious and the outdoor bathroom was unique. The staff at Tena Tena are incredible and attend to the needs of the guests . Our hostess "Lynnet" was incredible . Her effervescent personality was infectious and she always welcomed us with her beautiful smile . The chefs cooked gluten free meals for me which were delicious . Our guide Chilumba was very knowledgable and friendly .
The beauty of visiting South Luangwa is that there are never lots of cars at an animal sighting . One is able to enjoy it at your own pace .

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
2  Thank Sandandsun29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We had an incredible stay at Tena Tena...unforgettable! The tents were homely and the food was enjoyable. Overall an amazing time and I would definitely recommend! There was a beautiful view out onto the river from the tent and the staff were very friendly. The game drives were exciting and we enjoyed the walking too! Thank you very much to all Tena Tena staff.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank SophsC222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2016

An amazing place in the heart of the bush. A very authentic bush experience. The attention to detail is five star. The staff are amazing, Christabel always there with a ready smile even when the leopards have accompanied her to her room. Toast over the fire before the sun is up and great game drives, Nyambe is a very good guide with Wilson a champion spotter. Nothing is too much trouble. We go to the bush at least 5 times a year and this is a verrrrrrry special place.

Room Tip: They are all amazing with river views
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews