We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing place!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“What an amazing place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

I stayed at Bilimungwe Bushcamp for 2 days. What an amazing experience. Mike was a fantastic host and Manda my guide had exceptional knowledge and expertise out in the Bush.
I cannot rate my time at the camp highly enough. The food, service and attention to detail in the rooms were fantastic. It made my whole experience of South Luangwa and the Bushcamps a trip of a lifetime.
This is without even mentioning the walking safaris and game that is abundant.
Overall I cannot recommend it highly enough!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue37242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
64
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tortola
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

The level of service and attention to detail was outstanding! Words cannot express how amazing the guides, staff and camp was, they have to be experienced to be believed! Stunningly beautiful accommodations to match the natural scenery! Highly recommend this camp, Oh, and the wildlife was prolific!! Elephants, kudu, bushbuck, warthogs, buffalo, all viewed from our own private balcony! Then to go on game walks and drives..... what a truly memorable experience that we will be talking about for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at Bilimungwe for our first 3 nights in Africa. The camp was completely rebuilt last year and it really shows. It is a beautiful place, the rooms are magnificent, everything done is wood, even the sink and showers. We had a private waterhole that brought a wide variety of game during the days. The staff was excellent, responding to any request we had, and the food was equally excellent. The manager, Mike, is also a guide and took us out for a private guided drive when we arrived after the group had left! The best part of the camp, though is Manda. He was the best guide by far we had, explaining many many details about what happens in the bush. He explained animal behavior, uses for many trees and plants, the local population’s interactions with animals, and his pacing and delivery of this information was perfect. Our bush walks with him were the highlight of our trip. This camp is isolated from civilization, which is its charm, and allowed us to see the environment with no man made interferences (noise, light, etc). We saw 5 of the 6 Bushcamp Company’s camps, they are all different with their own charm, and all equally comfortable, and would not hesitate to recommend any of them.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

This bushcamp really is a must on any visitors itinery to South Luangwa.
We stayed for 2 days as a family of 4 and were made to feel exstremely welcome in the most beautiful surroundings, in the middle of almost nowhere.The rooms themselves were truly enormous and decorated with a high level of taste and luxury in mind.
Mike was the most friendly host we met on our travels, and Manda the guide with the most knowledge and experience. We can not rate this bushcamp highly enough, it is fabulous, including the food and service -it made the experience of a lifetime even more precious, and I haven't even started on the amazing wildlife and walking safaris...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Bilimungwe is buried deep in South Luangwa, and sited around a couple of waterholes. Overall we thought each of the 4 private rooms had been impeccably designed, each having a huge floorspace split into living room, bedroom and bathroom. The sublime extra touch was the outside shower (there is an indoor one as well) which was a joy in the afternoon while the heat was at it most intense. The central dining/resting area is also beautifully put together having being built into a shady copse of mature trees and also overlooking the waterhole. Excellent and attentive staff made the camp run seamlessly. Game viewing was very good and we loved the ambience.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at Bilimungwe for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon and can't recommend the place highly enough. It is truly in the middle of nowhere, very tastefully decorated, lovely huge rooms with indoor and out door showers overlooking the watering holes and excellent food. Its intimate, there are only 4 rooms. The guide Manda's knowledge was astounding & the rest of the staff, including Mike the host, were a delight to be with. All this coupled with the fantastic wildlife ( we saw 3 lions on our first morning and then came back to shower to find 16 elephants at the watering hole behind our room) made this an amazing place to stay!

The lodge had been refurbished recently & there had been good attention to insect inaccessibility to the bedrooms which made my wife very happy!

Naldi the booking agent was also brilliant in helping us to organise this trip.

Don't think about it any longer just get on and book it!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We saw amazing game, and the whole camp had been renovated since the last time we went. This is five star luxury deep in the bush. Manda, the guide, is incredible and Mike is the most friendly host we have come across in the bushcamps. I would recommend staying here to all of my friends and family. No matter what you're looking for from a safari, you'll get it here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njstockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
33.2 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#15 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
18.5 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#16 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
23.5 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#10 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#32 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#7 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
#21 of 42 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Property: Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Address: PO Box 91, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing