We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful camp, excellent food and the best guide.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at Bilimungwe for our first 3 nights in Africa. The camp was completely rebuilt last year and it really shows. It is a beautiful place, the rooms are magnificent, everything done is wood, even the sink and showers. We had a private waterhole that brought a wide variety of game during the days. The staff was excellent, responding to any request we had, and the food was equally excellent. The manager, Mike, is also a guide and took us out for a private guided drive when we arrived after the group had left! The best part of the camp, though is Manda. He was the best guide by far we had, explaining many many details about what happens in the bush. He explained animal behavior, uses for many trees and plants, the local population’s interactions with animals, and his pacing and delivery of this information was perfect. Our bush walks with him were the highlight of our trip. This camp is isolated from civilization, which is its charm, and allowed us to see the environment with no man made interferences (noise, light, etc). We saw 5 of the 6 Bushcamp Company’s camps, they are all different with their own charm, and all equally comfortable, and would not hesitate to recommend any of them.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverFan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 153 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

This bushcamp really is a must on any visitors itinery to South Luangwa.
We stayed for 2 days as a family of 4 and were made to feel exstremely welcome in the most beautiful surroundings, in the middle of almost nowhere.The rooms themselves were truly enormous and decorated with a high level of taste and luxury in mind.
Mike was the most friendly host we met on our travels, and Manda the guide with the most knowledge and experience. We can not rate this bushcamp highly enough, it is fabulous, including the food and service -it made the experience of a lifetime even more precious, and I haven't even started on the amazing wildlife and walking safaris...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Bilimungwe is buried deep in South Luangwa, and sited around a couple of waterholes. Overall we thought each of the 4 private rooms had been impeccably designed, each having a huge floorspace split into living room, bedroom and bathroom. The sublime extra touch was the outside shower (there is an indoor one as well) which was a joy in the afternoon while the heat was at it most intense. The central dining/resting area is also beautifully put together having being built into a shady copse of mature trees and also overlooking the waterhole. Excellent and attentive staff made the camp run seamlessly. Game viewing was very good and we loved the ambience.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at Bilimungwe for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon and can't recommend the place highly enough. It is truly in the middle of nowhere, very tastefully decorated, lovely huge rooms with indoor and out door showers overlooking the watering holes and excellent food. Its intimate, there are only 4 rooms. The guide Manda's knowledge was astounding & the rest of the staff, including Mike the host, were a delight to be with. All this coupled with the fantastic wildlife ( we saw 3 lions on our first morning and then came back to shower to find 16 elephants at the watering hole behind our room) made this an amazing place to stay!

The lodge had been refurbished recently & there had been good attention to insect inaccessibility to the bedrooms which made my wife very happy!

Naldi the booking agent was also brilliant in helping us to organise this trip.

Don't think about it any longer just get on and book it!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We saw amazing game, and the whole camp had been renovated since the last time we went. This is five star luxury deep in the bush. Manda, the guide, is incredible and Mike is the most friendly host we have come across in the bushcamps. I would recommend staying here to all of my friends and family. No matter what you're looking for from a safari, you'll get it here!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank njstockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I stayed at the Bilimungwe Camp recently on the recommendation of family, and I am very pleased I listened. It is deep within the South Luangwa National Park, and gives you a feeling of being cut off from the busy 'real' world. The main dining/chilling area is on a new waterhole, which the animals have not yet become accustomed to, but when they do it will be the perfect place to watch quietly in the afternoons.

There are 4 'cabins' to stay in. My favourite aspect of the cabin I stayed in was the handcarved leadwood basins in the bathroom. Definitely something I would like to have in a house I build in the future. The layout of the camp is well thought out, with the cabins being far enough away to feel you are enjoying your own space in the afternoons, but near enough away to join up with others when you want to.

The guide (Manda) was informative and knowledgable about so much more than just the bush, but at that he was an infinite mine of information. And the scout, Priest, is a modern day He-Man, being the protector on game walks in a very gentle and calm way.

All in all a recommended spot to spend a relaxed few days.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Bilimungwe has recently been remodeled and is wonderful. This camp is very luxurious for a bush camp. The rooms are huge. There is a shower inside and one outside each room for a shower under the stars. The location surrounds 2 water holes where animals come to drink. There are a few other bush camps in the area, but you are likely to see no one else while out on game drives. The area is beautiful with lots of game. Manda is a very knowledgeable and engaging guide. He is very involved in community development and preservation of local wildlife. The food and staff are very good.
The Bushcamp Company has a full range of bush camps, from rustic to luxurious. I would recommend staying at more than one.
The South Luangwa National Park is a premier game viewing area. This was my 12th trip there, and 7th with the entire family. The game viewing is superb, the cost is reasonable compared to other destinations, there are fewer tourists than other destinations, and they do night drives.
We highly recommend Bilimungwe Bush Camp and the South Luangwa National Park.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sactrav8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
25.0 mi away
Track and Trail River Camp
Track and Trail River Camp
#6 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
197 reviews
18.5 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
103 reviews
33.2 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#16 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
237 reviews
23.5 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#15 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
112 reviews
25.3 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Address: PO Box 91, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: $420 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bilimungwe Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing