We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
93
11
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerflood plaintreated like kings and queensgame viewingwild dogssouth luangwapresented foodwake up calllarge numberwatching the animalsevery morningleopard sightingswater holeother guestsfauna and floraspent four nightsleopard kill
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 105 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Still cannot believe how much I was privileged too see in just 2 days/3 nights! Lameck was my guide and with his genial courteous good humour I saw 7 lion sightings, 6 leopard sightings, not to mention countless elephants giraffe hippos buffaloes and many more. Many sightings were just a metre or two from our vehicle, and Lameck was a master at putting us in the right place at the right time. Don and Suku run a wonderful camp. The tents were huge, the food delicious, and the staff amazingly friendly and helpful. The view over the plains from the bar/open lounge/dining area is unbeatable with wildlife coming down to the waterhole immediately in front from dawn to dusk and even hippos munching at night. With only 7 tents the privacy and peacefulness was assured, and we had the flexibility to stop everything and go out on the deck to see 2 lions walking past the camp at dawn or interrupt breakfast to see the leopard that had just dragged an impala up a tree only 2 minutes up the hill from the camp. Came away exhilarated and deeply thankful for a real once in a lifetime experience. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn-of-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

After staying a few nights in another part of the park to see some friends, we spent two nights at Puku Ridge. It was an absolute delight! This part of the park is so much quieter than other areas I have stayed in and it feels like a lovely escape. From the moment we arrived we felt so welcomed.

Our first night drive included an amazing setting on Chichele Hill for sundowners and snacks. If we hadn’t had a game drive to finish I would never have wanted to leave there. The drive was followed by a ladies only dinner, with Suku hosting my friend and I and two other Australian women who were the only other guests in camp.

Alick was our guide and did a fantastic job. We felt like we knew him a little because his brother has been our guide on a number of stays at another property. My friend had never seen wild dogs and just after we had given up on finding them on this trip - there they were! We sat with them for a while and went back the next morning to watch them again.

Out tent was HUGE! It looked out over the pan in front. We slept with the windows open so we could watch the sunrise from our beds and also watch the wildlife while having a siesta in the afternoons. The tent had everything - even a box of workout equipment (not that it was used by us - we were on holidays!). I love Africology products so it was a treat to see them in the bathroom.

Meals were delicious and plentiful with lots of variety. Breakfast and lunch were buffet style then a choice for each course at dinner.

The staff we met were lovely and friendly, always smiling. They were always close by when we needed something but were never hovering too closely.

It’s the small touches which really make a place like this special, such as the way your laundry comes back to you wrapped like a gift.

My one regret? That I couldn’t stay longer!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have just returned after having spent 6 amazing days at Puku Ridge. Right from day 1 we were treated by all the staff who could not do enough to make our holiday so special. When we arrived Don and Suku were the managing couple, but when we left, they were our friends. Every detail was taken care of and I can quite honestly say that I could not fault them on anything. The only problems we had was that we could not consume all the delicious food they presented to us. Lameck, our guide was phenomenal and after 3 days in search of the elusive Leopard managed to find one for us and thereafter we had sightings every day. The highlight was the staff choir that serenaded us after dinner each night. Accommodation was superb, service outstanding and friendliness unmatched. Don and Suku were full of surprises and aptly arranged a "bush lunch" for us which was so so special - we sat eating with herds of elephant and buffalo all around us. On our last night, we were also treated to sun-downers on a hilltop complete with lanterns, champagne and delicious snacks. Everything combined made out departure very difficult and we left Puku with wonderful memories and heavy hearts. Thanks Don, Suku and your wonderful team. Cheryl and Ivor van Bart - Krugersdorp

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same with exceptional quality
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent a few days in Puku Ridge & both had an incredible experience.The tents are perfectly positioned overlooking the flood plane. Don & Nsouko are entertaining hosts; Don with a wonderfully gentle manner, Nsouko, a wicked sense of humour! It is evident their team enjoy their work - everybody we met always had a smile & easy conversation. All this of course is in addition to the personal walking safaris, mouth watering food & attentive staff.
I hope all the team are paid very well for the fantastic jobs they do; they made our experience unforgettable & we hope to return. (Kiss for little Jasmine xxx) Debbi & Paul Dillon-Smith Liverpool

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbiDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

After visiting Puku Ridge last September with my in-laws and having an amazing experience, I couldn't think of anywhere better to go when my sister-in-law decided she was coming to Zambia to visit us! Once again, everything about Puku Ridge was exceptional - from the quality of the accommodations to the gourmet meals and fantastic service from all the staff!! This time my visit was at the end of the wet season and although South Luangwa National Park looked very different (so much more vegetation), we were still able to see a huge amount of game with Alick our guide. Even though I'd stayed at Puku Ridge before, I was still treated to many 'surprises' by the staff, including an unforgettable bush lunch. The highlight of this stay, though, was being only a metre away from an adult male lion as it roared with a mating call on our night drive - just magic, especially as we were the only vehicle to see it happen!! Thanks again Suku, Don, Alick and the rest of the staff at Puku Ridge :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groovy_chicstrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews