We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Track and Trail River Camp(South Luangwa National Park)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Zikomo Safari Camp(South Luangwa National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croc Valley Camp(South Luangwa National Park)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tafika Camp(South Luangwa National Park)
Shenton Safaris Mwamba Bush Camp(South Luangwa National Park)
Kuyenda Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company(South Luangwa National Park)
Chinzombo - Norman Carr Safaris(South Luangwa National Park)
Nsolo Bush Camp - Norman Carr Safaris(South Luangwa National Park)
Mushroom Lodge(South Luangwa National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp(South Luangwa National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
103
15
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
15
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguide johnfalling to bitssaga holidaywho looked after our roomamazing positiongame drivessouth luangwawild dogsthe general managerthe air conditioningpuku ridgeeach guestsafari experienceclose proximitygreen seasonsmall groupwatching the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 122 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile

I visited Chichele with my family for my dad's 60th birthday and I can't say enough good things about it. The location is in the south luangwa park giving it a greater advantage as to the other camps that are outside the park. It sits on the top of a hill looking down in the plains where you see all sorts of animals wondering around :) the rooms were lovely and beds super comfy. The food was just five star and Roy the chef goes above and beyond for each guest. Lameck was our guide and he was very knowledgeable and we saw the wild dogs every single day with him!
I definitely will be back, what a special place.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Peks92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

We spent 7 nights at this accommodation on a small group booking with SAGA holidays. 12 people in all and for the majority of that time we were the only guests. The staff were so very professional; from the maid Peggy who looked after our room to the Lodge manager and of course the important safari driver/guide who was the fountain of all knowledge. But most of all we must mention the chef who at every meal time paid particular attention to the guest's food intolerances to ensure we all ate very well. There is no game on the menu - thus to avoid local illegal hunting but the meat was imported from S.Africa - some of the best we have enjoyed.
Rooms are a short walk from the public rooms and at night a guard escorts you back as the wildlife does come right up to the lawns around the lodge. We spotted impala, puku, baboons, vervet monkeys, warthogs, a hyena and one evening an elephant and her calf came to drink from the swimming pool while we were eating our evening meal just a short distance away on the veranda.
We were in for a few special surprises during our stay - but I won't detail them as it will spoil the moment - suffice to say we loved it and the attention to detail was 1st class.
Would recommend this for a relaxing stay - but would also recommend you take advantage of both morning and afternoon game drives - there is so much to see.
p.s. A laundry service is provided daily free of charge (but not for ladies underwear) suggest quick dry Rohan garments for practicality.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet. You are not overlooked but the animals may gaze in your window as they pass by!
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tansysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017

Chichele differs from many of the lodges in South Luangwa in that it was originally built as retreat for President Kaunda in the 1970s. It is also on top of a hill rather than on the banks of the Luangwa River, but it is still located within the South Luangwa National Park - which is superb at any time of the year, including the green season, when many of the animals have their young.

The welcome at Chichele was presidential, with the Manager and all the staff lined up to greet us on arrival and great food and service were the order of the day. Paul Ngoma was our Zambian guide on the game drives and despite it being the green season, with Paul's help we recorded more than 20 different mammals and more than 70 different birds in our two day stay. Paul's knowledge of the flora and flora was encyclopaedic and added hugely to our enjoyment of the drives - which culminated in a stand off over a kill made by a pack of wild dogs between the dogs, a male lion and a hyena. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brianmcleish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

Need a romantic getaway, travel to Chichele Presidential lounge in South Luangwa National park.
See some of the most majestic animals in Zambia. From the big 5 the only animal missing would be the Rhino.
There used to be a pride named the chichele pride, which used to leave in close proximity with the camp. You can hear them many a time late at night or the early hours of the morning calling for the lost leader as they pass by the plains in front of this magnificent place which you'll call home many a time after.
Everything about this place, The park in its magnificence, the staff at Chichele everything about this place is perfect. The staff will ensure you enjoy your time at the lodge and in the park.
Things not to miss while staying with them would be everything that they offer you.

I hope you enjoy your stay as much as mine and my other half.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ricobunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful place. The best walking safaris in Zambia guided by the manager. The staff was really good amb professional. We loved the place. We stayed there 3 nigths. The views were great. The food is excelent and the atmosphere very quietly and relax.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Bastiments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews