We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here on the second leg of our Honeymoon in Zambia. It proved the perfect end to our all too brief holiday. I would not have wanted to venture onwards to any other lodge after Chichele - it could only have disappointed.
The Lodge has a wonderfully informal yet highly attentive feel to it from the moment you arrive. Game drives were undertaken in the company of other guests. Our guide and driver was superb; good humoured and patient as well as sensitive to the needs and wishes of different guests on each drive.
Could not fault the F&B - always an interesting choice amongst the 3 courses and the signature breakfasts were a fine start to the day. We were approached on our first night and asked if we wished to dine separately from the other guests as we were on our honeymoon - an offer we declined but made us feel very well looked after. Garth & Lindsay made for fabulous hosts.

Room Tip: I think were treated to the Vic President's Suite. A privilege indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Tough_customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 111 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Prior to leaving Africa after living here for three years, we had to visit the South Luangwa Valley as we had visited both Kafue River and Lower Zamezi River areas in Zambia. Wow! What a fantastic weekend we had! You are warmly greeted at the entrance, offered refreshments, and then an overview of the lodge and facilities. All three days we went on day or night game drives and a walking safari on Saturday morning. The wildlife was fantastic-pride of five lions, elephants, leopards, hippos, and even wild dogs, which are very elusive. The guides were very knowledgeable and aware of safety. The weather was hot hot, but the air cons in the chalets were wonderful for sleeping -beds were very comfy. And then the food - the chef outdoes himself - and at such a remote location. We were thoroughly fed and kept hydrated with a variety of beverages and water as well. And a pool on site for a soothing dip. Highly recommend to anyone from around the world. It is worth the travel for the views and sightings!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is one of 6 reviews that I have written about our trip to Zambia- Chichele is one of the most magnificent places we have ever visited. From the moment that you arrive, you know that you are part of something special. The personal greeting from Lindsay and the staff on arrival- your welcome drinks- your personal guide around the facility and the hosted walk to and from your own private rooms- make this a truly wonderful place. You have access to everything that you would want from the best of the 5 star hotels, and you get more! The staff are wonderful, the facilities are brilliant, the guides that take you on safari and protect you if you want to venture on foot into the bush are exceptional. We were incredibly fortunate to have Prince and Maurice as our companions along the various journeys we did- and the knowledge and care they both took of us was wonderful. Prince is a particularly gifted guide and on our walking safari educated us on all of the sights sounds and smells of Africa. Mr Godfrey our professional game warden kept us safe, and took us to sights of buffalo that we could have only dreamt of. We saw giraffe, kudu, rhino, leopard, lions, zebra, elephants, owls, bee eaters, porcupine all within 4 metres of either us being on foot or in our land cruiser. Food was prepared by a wonderful chef who treated us to gastronomic delights both in the restaurant but also when we had sunset picnics whilst out on safari- . For us this was the best of all worlds and one that we will be returning too as soon as we possibly can.

Room Tip: This is a very select location- all of the rooms are positioned to ensure the best of views of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Quality Control Assistant at Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Anne,

Thank you for taking the time to post this detailed and positive review. Your praise about our staff, facilities and food is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Title tells it all. Staff was gracious and accomodating. Rooms were just ok but nothing special. And cats very sparse - saw 1 lion with a collar, and 1 leopard sprinting away in the distance. I expected more in this park!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, where we note your disappointment concerning your game sightings in the South Luangwa National Park. Whilst we are privileged to operate in one of the great wilderness areas of Africa, and invest heavily in training and empowering some of the best and most qualified guides in the region in order to enhance our guests experience in the bush, we are sadly unable to control the movement of the wildlife, which can be very unpredictable.

The area around Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge is famed for being one of the most densely populated areas in Africa for Leopard sightings where on certain days guests are fortunate enough to encounter several different sightings of this famously elusive species.

We are also fortunate enough to have what is known locally as ‘the Chichele’ Pride of lions in our area, however again with large territories, and constantly moving in search of food and water sightings are never guaranteed. In an attempt to understand more about these species, certain individuals have been fitted with radio collars in order to assist the researchers to follow their movements so that we can ensure their long-term futures and habitats are protected.

Thank you very much for staying at Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had three nights at the lodge and didn't want to leave. The extremely friendly staff really do go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. All the rooms and large, airy and very well laid-out. The food was just superb and lots of it! Our guide was extremely knowledgable with a great sense of humor - we learnt a lot without even realizing it. Really can't recommend this place highly enough, we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This place is fantastic .... We had never been to Africa before and what a experience! The game drives were brilliant .. And we did two walking safaris .. Which were extremely special. The guys at the lodge were so fantastically flexible in terms of allowing you to experience the area in the way you wanted to do it ! The accommodation and food was 5star .... And the team at Chichele were quality !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

It’s easy to see why former Zambian President Kenneth Kaunda chose this site for his bush retreat. It’s in a prime hilltop position with 360 degree views of the park and in close proximity to a range of different ecosystems and varied wildlife. There are only 10 rooms here dotted around the property and the feeling is of staying in a private country house (except you’re in the middle of the African bush). The interiors retain the colonial feel with wildlife trophies on the wall, antique prints, ceiling fans and furnishings in soft muted tones. There’s a swimming pool to cool off in, beautiful meals and the charming and vivacious Lindsay will make your visit a delight. Staying here is the perfect way to end a safari in the South Luangwa and in particular after walking at Sanctuary Zebra Plains.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serenam255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
2.2 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#15 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
235 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
102 reviews
10.3 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#14 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Track and Trail River Camp
Track and Trail River Camp
#8 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
194 reviews
20.1 mi away
Safari Explorers Camp
Safari Explorers Camp
#41 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge

Address: South Luangwa National Park, South Luangwa National Park 10101, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: $583 - $1,225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge was originally built for Kenneth Kaunda, the former Zambian president, in the 1970s. This historic property was recently carefully restored to maintain the original colonial style. A majestic arched entrance leads you into a huge colonial-style lounge and outside the grand dining room, a long veranda stretches with views down the valley to the Luangwa River. The main area features a comfortable lounge, intimate fireplace and bar area. In keeping with the grand colonial style of the lodge, the suites are decorated in the same understated elegance of years gone by. In the ten Victorian-style rooms, the large French windows offer a light, airy feel to the suites and open onto private terraces overlooking the valley - the ideal vantage point to relax and enjoy the wildlife. Air-conditioning, plush furnishings, a four-poster bed, and a luxurious bathroom can make you forget you're in the bush. The lodge also features an interconnecting room - perfect for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing