We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would thoroughly recommend Croc Valley Camp.”
Review of Croc Valley Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Croc Valley Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Val-d'Isère, Rhone-Alpes, France
1 review
“I would thoroughly recommend Croc Valley Camp.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at Croc Valley Camp during September 2012. What am amazing place! Situated just outside the South Luangwa National Park, Croc Valley is perfectly placed with camping right up to the rivers edge.

There was a wide range of accommodations to choose from, from camping, to backpacker rooms, to luxury tents. The luxury tents were situated on the bank of the river with exultant views into the park. The tents were a good size with large, ensuite bathrooms attached.

The camp was beautiful. A bar was situated at one end of the camp, which was open all day, serving refreshing drinks to cool you down in the heat of the sun. The bar also offed a lunch menu with a variety of delicious hearty meals.

A ‘hippo friendly pool’ offered relief from the mid day sun. Along with the hammocks and bar, it was a great place to relax between safari drives.

The animal activity in and around the camp was extraordinary. Monkeys and baboons were permanent members of the camp along with a variety of bird species. Giraffes, bucks, crocodiles and hippos were common to see from the camp. The best game viewing from the camp were the elephants that wondered though the camp almost every evening.

I would thoroughly recommend Croc Valley Camp.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    53
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
33
57
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I camped here for 3 nights and absolutely loved the warmth and genuine hospitality of Louis and Leisl, who went out of their way to accommodate one lone Aussie! Despite it being the wet season, on our morning and evening game drive in the very close by South Luangwa NP, we saw some amazing wildlife, then to top it all off, 2 leopard cubs walked right by our land cruiser after our guide knew where they were resting after a baboon kill they had made earlier that day. Croc Valley Camp is in such a beautiful location, right on the Luangwa River, in a serene, clean and relaxed environment, with well manicured gardens and personal touches everywhere. I'd love to return again soon, but next time armed with a much bigger and better lens! Thank you Louis and Leisl, and all the great staff at Croc Valley Camp. Paul

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solarpanelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocValley, Public Relations Manager at Croc Valley Camp, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Paul,
We are so glad that you felt at home and enjoyed your experience.

Seeing the leopards was a bonus hey!

Hope to see you back soon with some Oz mates and family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

On the 20th of December 2012, my friend and I landed in Mfuwe where we were greeted with the happiest smile from a lovely lady Liesl who then took us to Croc Valley Camp.

You could not ask for a better location, right next to the South Luangwa National Park and the river that borders the Park. The over all experience was something that I have never experienced before, the wildlife "WHAT!!" monkeys greeting you every morning the elephants that walk around freely on the "DRIVE WAY" and the hippo laughing at one-another every day and so much more (this is a time when you have to be there for experience no words can describe it and give it full Justas). The game drives, a special thanks to Duncan our guide, I got to see my first REAL LIFE Leopard and O-MY-WORD what a beautiful cat.

The beauty never stops, remember it not just about the animals it is all bout the Mother Nature around us. The sunset, WOW B-E-A-UTIFUL everyday, where do you get a sunset that is different colors everyday... Remarkable

The staff members at Croc Valley Camp, what amazing people, from the bartenders to the waiters to the kitchen staff as well as the cleaning staff and gardeners, the most friendliest people I have ever met in my life, with the biggest of smiles and always willing to stop and talk and even teach you a little of there language. ZIKOMO (Thank you)

Another special thank you to Louis and Liesl, Louis for the educational talks while watching the sunsets, sorry I can't remember the name of the tree, outside the bar overlooking the river with crocs and hippos. Liesl, thank you for everything from the company at the bar to the food from the kitchen, really felt like a made a new friend.

Over all BEST holiday by far and can not wait to return to this experience again.

Thank you very much
Colin

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin-Byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocValley, Public Relations Manager at Croc Valley Camp, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Colin,

It was good having you here and glad you enjoyed your safari experience with us.

The tree at the bar is a Natal Mahogany......but as long as you enjoyed your Mosi,thats also fine!

Hope to see you back soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Such an incredible experience. Friendly and accomodating staff. Food was great. Accomodations were clean and comfortable with electricity. Tents gave the feel of roughing it, but it was really a very lovely stay.
Hippos grunting as a wake up call each morning was a perfect way to start the game drives.
Only drawback was the emphasis on Zambian kwatcha as a payment method, but even then, they were willing to accomodate and adjust to help out!
Game drivers full of information and stories about the park and all the animals we saw.
Loved every minute of it!
Baie Dankie!

Room Tip: The luxury tent - I think it was called; a large tent with the attached washroom facilities out back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocValley, Public Relations Manager at Croc Valley Camp, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Groot plesier Melissa,

Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We drove in from Malawi (journey started in San Francisco) and spent a full two days at Croc Valley for the last two days of December. Croc Valley was relaxing and low key, with superb views of the river and quiet riverside tables and hammocks in which to enjoy a beer and recharge between safari outings. The camp owners and staff were attentive but unobtrusive, allowing guests the maximum opportunity to relax and enjoy. The weather was mild, sunsets lovely, and the moonlit nights magical.

Our safaris were brilliant with fantastic sightings, well planned execution, and an excellent guide. We had a brief breakfast early each morning followed by a safari, then time to relax about camp and a brunch, capped by an evening safari and dinner. We saw all the animals we could have hoped to see: leopards, lions, giraffes, elephants, hyenas, etc., as well as a great abundance of bird life. Low key relaxation by the river at Croc Valley was the perfect way to reflect on and appreciate the magic of South Luangwa.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocValley, Public Relations Manager at Croc Valley Camp, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Glad you had a great time with us!
SF is not that far away and you must visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I went to croc valley as part of an organised tour from Malawi and was very happy with the campsite. It was in a great location with a great feel to it. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and were always making sure that we were happy with everything. The food was great and plenty of it. The safari driver was great - friendly and very knowledgeable. Overall, I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Bordering the South Luangwa National Park, Zambia, sits the most beautiful, boutique Crock Valley Camp, where we experienced an unforgettable personal wildlife vacation !!! From the moment we arrived, Louis and Liesl made our stay exceptionally comfortable by their unique personalized touch!! We stayed in a luxurious tent with airconditioning, magnificent view over the rivier where the wildlife enjoyed their playgroud, right on our 'front stoop'. What more do you want??? The food is outstanding and we also could make our own food. We had three game drives in the Luangwa National Park and experienced how 4 female lions prepared a kill on a herd of buffaloes. All the staff was always friendly and always tried their best to give us the most enjoyalbe stay possible !!! Thank you !!! Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wielie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocValley, Guest Relations Manager at Croc Valley Camp, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Wielie,

Hope to see you back soon?
Paarl is not that far away from us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#32 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
62 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#11 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
107 reviews
8.4 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#18 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#16 of 46 in South Luangwa National Park
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crossroads Lodges - Chipata Lodge
0.0 mi away
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 31 in Livingstone
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croc Valley Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croc Valley Camp

Property: Croc Valley Camp
Address: Mfuwe | Eastern, South Luangwa National Park 0000, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Croc Valley Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Luangwa River overlooking the South Luangwa National Park nestled under shady Mahogany trees lies the picturesque Croc Valley Camp. “Your camp with personality” We offer a variety of varied accommodation to suit everyone’s pocket, from self contained chalets on platforms, luxury en-suite tents on the river bank , ten dollar per night backpacker/dorm rooms, Family House to the campsite with thatched lapa's, electrical points and water outlets all on lush green lawns. All tastefully segregated but still part of the overall experience.Our chalets are completely environmentally friendly and in order to experience the nomadic night wonders at eye level our chalets are raised on platforms providing a fantastic safe viewpoint from which to see the wildlife that wanders through the camp. Throughout your stay, our chef's can provide delicious meals and snacks from original recipes using fresh ingredients for your meticulously prepared meals and for those that wish to self-cater or camp, full kitchen facilities are provided. Our campsite is well catered for campers and overland trucks with parking areas, fire places, power points, hot showers and ablutions.Between safaris, in the midday heat, our hippo friendly swimming pool provides the perfect place to relax and cool off. Hammocks are also scattered around the camp over-seeing the river and the swimming pool. The bar is always open and serves ice cold drinks throughout the day, whether you prefer to relax by the pool, catch up through our FREE WiFi , in a hammock or catch up with the news on our satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Croc Valley Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croc Valley Camp Hotel South Luangwa National Park
Croc Valley Camp Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing