We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hippo Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$86
$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$51
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
roomertravel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$206
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$118
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kubu Kweena Lodge(Kafue National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
10
4
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
4
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springsgame viewingthe riverfishingaccommodationlionscamp
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 17 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Authentic bush experience. Four of us travelled together (two couples.) Wonderful staff, charming accommodation, great food, fantastic fishing. Warm welcome extended from the really attentive, knoweldgable and flexible guides and manager who couldn't have done any more for us. Terrific trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were three couples and between us we stayed in Stony House and an 'A' frame cottage. We had opted for self catering. Terry (the Manager) ensured we were comfortable and had all we needed. It was really a pleasant surprise after the long journey from Lusaka to find this little hidden gem at the rivers edge. We spotted quite a number of different species of wildlife on our way to the lodge, including an elephant grazing near the car park at the lodge!
We hired the boat every day (we were there 3 days) and fishing was fantastic, with all of us getting a good catch daily, Agri is fantastic and knows all the fishing 'hotspots' on the river. The sunsets on the river are stunning. At this time of year it is a little cool in the mornings and the evenings so luckily we had been warned to take some warmer clothing! We will visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renalda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We spent 3 nights here in late September. The transfer was arduous but mainly due to Lusaka traffic. Once thro' that there are lots of sights of local life and the last hour you may see game. Our party all thought the chalets were equipped with everything we could want and were very well appointed. Most of the rooms do not have electricity but inverter for charging devices in the bar. Terry proved a great manager and the kitchen produced some really lovely inventive food. The special feature of the lodge is the river and boat trips are always available. Our typical day would be early morning drive, breakfast, walk in area of lodge for birds (of which there is a great variety, lunch, river trip and then dinner followed by a night drive! Not many places that could offer you that I bet! Our best wildlife sightings were from the river and if you are combining your trip with another lodge then take advantage. Having said that night drives provided lots of mongooses and cerval and genet cats with the odd porcupine. Hot spring with your G&Ts floated over to you was also a special experience! The lodge had a really relaxed atmosphere and we did feel that we were choosing our activities rather than being shoe horned into the 2 drives a day scenario. Our guide Joe was extremely knowledgeable, on night drives he even asked how long we wished to stay out! You can't knock that! Nothing else to say, we are hoping to return and make Hippo our base for a much longer stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are all good. Some are longer distance from lodge than others spread along the river bank.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I totally disagree with the last review. We had the most incredibly wondeful time at Hippo Lodge, in July.If you go to Kafue Nat Park, this is a MUST,we could nt fault it.Terry the manager and staff were amazing!Location - exquisitenroads very good. Accommodation- lovely, food - excellent, fishing very good,we caught bream which were deliciously prepared for us by the chef.We saw lion and elephant just outside the camp.As for the hot springs experience,really something to write home about,one of the most incredible experiences we ve had - and we have travelled a lot.We d love to go back and take the family to share this wonderful place with us.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya082_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The plus s clearly the Kafue River and the remoteness of the location. Accommodations are fine ranging from nice tents to small cottages. Food was good. Wildlife viewing is either hit or miss due to the size of the park and the lack of trackers locating the animals. While I was there wildlife was very disappointing. Worse is the accessibility issue. It's a five hour drive from Lusaka and about 40 percent on dirt roads. They have an air strip but the cost of charter flights was outrageous. New management in place as the longtime legendary manager named Bruce has moved on. The staff was good but not great. The new manager is clearly a nice guy but has a steep learning curve. Time will tell if this quaint lodge recovers up to it's disco days but even some regular visitors told me things are just not the same here. My conclusion is there are better places to spend your time in Zambia..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MONYLINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews