We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kafue at its best.”
Review of McBrides' Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kafue National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McBrides' Camp
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have stayed at McBrides a few times, always end up staying longer than planned and always have a great time, run differently than most camps it's a true bush camp and the day is decided on what and when it happens. One morning there was 14 of us squeezed into the game vehicle following a lioness through the camp. Chris and Charlotte are both entertaining, knowledgable, great hosts and fantastic to walk with, yes things can get a little haphazard but that is the charm, if after a scheduled, orderly and planned safari then this may not be your place. But if walking with true legends passionate about Africa and its wildlife and nature with a fountain of knowledge is then don't hesitate.
On our last stay we had 2 male lions sleeping by our front door taking it in turns to roar throughout the camp keeping us all awake, but thrilled, that's how close to the real Africa it is. Also had a great walk to there fly camp and then a boat trip back up river.

A classic camp and location that should be on anyone's Zambia trip.

We stayed with our daughter of 5, small children not recommended but we have visited before and have had a lot of experience in remote locations.

Room Tip: All are rustic if thats the right word, maybe unique is...Clean very comfortable all with outdoor sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 55 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Though the campsite is nice, clean, secluded and nicely situated, we were mainly disappointed about the lack of warmth and organization of this camp. We arrived but were left to ourselves for about an hour, there was no one that could help us. When we explained we wanted to do all activities possible for the 1 or 2 nights we might be staying, the owner said she would send someone over to discuss the options. After 1 1/2 hours a person came over and said we could go on the boat cruise but had to go right away. We just settled for a drink, so had to hurry. Unfortunately, that's where all activities information ended, we did not hear anything for the following morning so we were hugely disappointed as we wanted to make the most of our time. At 9 the same guy came and said we could do the same cruise again, which was not something we wanted to do, we wanted the walk, but that was not possible. We decided to leave the same day as we did not feel too welcome and even with checking out we had to wait for over an hour to just settle the bill. I think activities will be better organized for people staying in the jungle lodges (which I could never stay in, way too basic for me!) but the people at the camp site at our stay were totally ignored. A shame for the long drive (6 hours!) we had to make...

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Yvette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just had an awesome 3 nights at Mcbrides Camp in Kafue, rustic, comfortable and both Charlotte and Chris are fountains of knowledge. There are not many owner run camps now days, run by true legends. Great for couples and groups of friends, not for families if children under 12 years of age. Plenty of wildlife in and around the camp.

Room Tip: This is a bush camp with comfortable beds, large en suite open air showers with plenty of hot and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeasonsSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you are looking for a beautifully isolated piece of Africa in the Kafue National Park you can do no better than McBrides. We were self-drivers and stayed in the campsite. Charlotte and Chris McBride are absolute experts on African wildlife and their love for their concession and for Africa reflects in the way they host you. The walk with Chris was memorable and a real African experience. The "drifts" down the Kafue in their pontoon are not to be missed. We did not stay in the lodge but found the rustic setting and atmosphere very appealing. This is a very attractive alternative to the packaged and plastic experience in the luxury lodges.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a wonderful three days at McBrides' camp site in July 2011. Nice seting, at the jafue river, neat ablutions, very informative morning walks with Chris and Charlotte, superb river criuise, it was a pity that we had to ga after three days.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had booked a few months upfront, as a start of our camping trip with our 4X4 with rooftop tent, 2 nights in their campsite and they told us 'not to worry, as plenty of space'.. On arrival although (count at least 3 hours when leaving Mumbwa -tar road- to get here), we found out that a group was camping there and no spot was left on the main camping area (where 2 ablutions and power supply were..), so we had to put our car a bit away, still campsite, but no shade at all, but lucky with another (very clean) ablution not too far away.. You don't see the river, even if it's just in front of you (some 50 meters away)

Firewood is supplied, we also booked a boat 'cruise', which was very nice and relaxing, just don't forget as a camper to take your drinks with you, as none supplied by the camp.

The evening/night drive on the other hand we took the day after was a real disaster, the driver and what could have been the guide were chatting all the time, we pointed out some birds before they even saw them and they didn't give any explanation at all on them , even when asking for it..
On the way back some small effort was given to look for night animals, none seen. ( as we already had settled the bill upfront - both guys didn't react on our comments - we were left quite disappointed at the campsite) at the end we just realized that they didn't seem to be very used to this kind of activity, as even the car needed to be brought back 'in shape' before the drive (it would have been fair if they would have warned us upfront on this, we would have happily taken another boat cruise)

Wildlife is very scarse , we saw some sable, puku, impala, hippo and even a few elephants that came into the camp, we heard lions roaring both nights, but didn't see them, there are some roads where you can drive around, but those will take you maximum a few hours. Birdlife is good, certainly in morning.

We also met Chris McBride (whom gave us a passionate 'talk' - as they call it - on lions), a quite 'not to forget' personality, the lodge (on what we saw of it) looked indeed quite rustic, even a bit worn out. Cost campsite combined with parkfees quite expensive !

Is it worthwhile to come so far overhere ? For us, if we look at it, it was the more 'wild' part of the Kafue NP, wildlife is scarse, but also in the rest of the NP, you just have to be lucky as always.. Anyway the roaring lions nearby at night when sitting in your tent make it always worthwhile !!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great campsite set back a bit from the river and overlooking the river/plains. It was what we were looking for....no noise, no electricity, just wild life and the stars above us. Only one other camper in camp and we never noticed them. Always hot water to shower and wash the dishes. Clean ablution. Just a great place for camping and very helpful host if you need help or like to take advantage of their river or walking trips.
No tse tse in camp but tons on your game drive at times.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank velmmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kafue National Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Hippo Lodge
Hippo Lodge
#14 of 28 in Kafue National Park
17 reviews
32.8 mi away
Mukambi Safari Lodge
Mukambi Safari Lodge
#4 of 28 in Kafue National Park
180 reviews
141 mi away
Mawimbi Bush Camp
Mawimbi Bush Camp
#16 of 28 in Kafue National Park
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
88 mi away
Konkamoya Lodge
Konkamoya Lodge
#10 of 28 in Kafue National Park
47 reviews
45.1 mi away
Mu-Fungata Safaris
Mu-Fungata Safaris
#21 of 28 in Kafue National Park
8 reviews
0 mi away
Bongwe Kafue Camp
Bongwe Kafue Camp
#22 of 28 in Kafue National Park
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McBrides' Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McBrides' Camp

Address: Kafue National Park, Kafue National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Kafue National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kafue National Park
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing