We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wild Dogs and Lots of Game , Elephants are Agrrasive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mukambi Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mukambi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad , India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wild Dogs and Lots of Game , Elephants are Agrrasive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Nice people , Good service , Room size is Small , Go with Family suite its big and two bedrooms , they should offer private game drives , we saw lots of game , Dogs , Leopards , two different Lion Pride , nice river , even river boat ride was really nice , The guide will not take you near to elephants as most elephants are aggressive ,

Room Tip: Go for Family Suite , They only have one ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ram_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    41
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
59
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Mukambi tented camp in the Busanga Plains. What an amazing place! When we arrived at the end of July, the camp had only been accessible by vehicle for a couple of weeks - and even then, getting through the marshy areas was an adventure ! - so how Tyrone and his team manage to run an immaculate tented camp in this beautiful, isolated place is hard to imagine. But they do! The food is worthy of a quality restaurant, and the facilities are of a very high standard.
Tyrone is an excellent host, always around to cheer us on our way on game drives, and a source of many great stories round the fire or the dinner table. Game drives were fascinating, in a landscape quite different from the other areas of Zambia we visited. We saw a good range of game, including lions and cheetah. We would love to go back one day.
make sure you take a torch with you, and if you go during the winter months, layers of warm clothes for game drives - it really is cold in the mornings, though pleasantly warm by mid-morning - I was glad of my gloves!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Mukambi is a great place to go. The campsite is clean and very spacious. While the facilities are limited, there is all you actually need. The bomas over each tent pitch give great shelter. Each tent pitch has a fire place and staff will light fires on request. There is a large braai available to use with free charcoal also.

The campsite is next to the river and is perfectly placed so the sun sets through a gap in the trees over the river – a perfect sundowner spot.

The toilet block has flushing toilets and hot and cold showers – which are great after a day on safari.

There is also a kitchen area on the campsite with a few burners, running water and 2 electric sockets for those times when you just need something recharged (or to boil your kettle if you are a lazy camper)

The day we arrived we were greeted by a hippo wandering through the campsite in the middle of the day, then a herd of warthogs passing through for a graze. At night you can hear more hippos in the river, jackals, lions and hyena’s – all around the campsite, so it is good the fires can be kept going all night.

We camped in our own tents, but you can stay in their tents for a bit more of a fee and they are pretty large and luxurious. The tents are all situated together, so a group can still be together even if some are with/without tents.

The campsite is outside the actual park, so you only pay park fees for the days you go into the park. We saw lots of game in the park, but we did our own night drives along the main road after dark and managed to spot 7 lions in just two evenings.

The staff are very friendly and helpful but there is no mobile phone coverage, so communication to the outside is very difficult – good if you are trying to escape hectic work calls.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Red-110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

We had 2 days respite from camping at the end of Easter, and it was great to sleep in a bed, have meals prepared, and have the fantastic outlook over the Kafue River.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VFlaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

I stayed at Mukambi for 2 nights with a friend in March. This was a break from a work trip in Lusaka. I have only praise for this gorgeous lodge.
We got the bus from Lusaka and were met at the main road by the Mukambi staff and promptly offered a cold drink!
When we arrived at the lodge we were had the pleasure of meeting Basil the local hippo who occasionally wanders into the resort. There are also monkeys, babboons, and warthogs around constantly.
It was the rainy season so the normal game drive routes weren't available but we still saw quite a few animals and had a great cruise up the river.
The place was paid attention to small details while it felt relaxed and comfortable. The managers were always present and the local staff were always up for a chat but also got the hint if you wanted some quiet time.
The rooms were lovely, the linen fantastic and the shower was heated by solar but always had ample hot water for us two girls!
The pool was lovely and the setting quiet-apart from the lion roaring his head off late one night!
The food was fantastic and the breakfast was an absolute treat.
I would totall recommend this place and hope to come back one day!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

This lodge is my favorite. Especially their bushcamp on the Plains was outstanding. Very good service and facilities in the middle of nowhere. Nature as pure as possible in these modern times. Memories I will never forget.

Room Tip: Visit also the bushcamp at the Plains
See more room tips
Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DiederikS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

We stayed on the campsite, 2 days, did a game drive ( not too many sights).
We had meals in the restaurant, perfect!
And...Basil, house hippo, was worth it alone!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doroPfalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kafue National Park
16.3 mi away
Mu-Fungata Safaris
Mu-Fungata Safaris
#25 of 28 in Kafue National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
62.1 mi away
Konkamoya Lodge
Konkamoya Lodge
#8 of 28 in Kafue National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
53.2 mi away
Bongwe Kafue Camp
Bongwe Kafue Camp
#21 of 28 in Kafue National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#9 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lilayi Lodge
Lilayi Lodge
#1 of 98 in Lusaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#7 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mukambi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mukambi Safari Lodge

Property: Mukambi Safari Lodge
Address: Lusaka-Mongu road | Busanga Plains, Kafue National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Kafue National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kafue National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mukambi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mukambi Safari Lodge is your gateway to Kafue National Park, one of the biggest and last remaining true wilderness areas of Africa. We are located on the Kafue River and organize game drives, boat cruises and walking safaris at your request. We are open all year and are know for our beautiful location, good food, friendly staff and good atmosphere. We are open all year and are child friendly. Try us, you won't regret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Mukambi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing