We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Africa, real African hospitality”
Review of Leopard Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kafue National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leopard Lodge
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Northern Kafue National Park is one of the last really remote places where you can still experience the real Africa. Come across lion or leopard or elephants and it will only be you there - not dozens of other vehicles looking at the same thing. It is really special. We've been going for over 20 years but never stayed at Leopard Lodge before. What a tremendous experience it was. Elise's hospitality is second to none. The rooms are luxurious and the catering extraordinary. The place runs like clockwork, nothing is too much trouble and Elise's team of knowledgeable guides, excellent chefs and hardworking staff are fantastic. We saw all the game we expected to see including wonderful lion and leopard sightings and the bird life was tremendous. This is a very special place and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanet C, Owner at Leopard Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

The kafue National Park is a special place and it is great being secluded as the lodge is. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything was in order

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 34 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our stay at Leopard was a great african experience! We saw Lions, Crocodiles, Zebras, Leopard, Hippos, Elephants, Antilops, Marabout, ... The kids were over happy to make the boat cruise and see the hyppos or the elephant, view from the desck is exceptional and the rooms are beautifull, clean with perfect bathroom and great beds! The team is really helpfull and listening to all your needs. The atmosphere is peacefull and food is delicious (particulary the snacks - scones - pies - panecakes ). What do you need more than Leopard Lodge?

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanet C, Owner at Leopard Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hi Alex - you are right there is nothing else you need than Leopard Lodge - we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Drove approx 6 hours from busy Lusaka to remote Leopard Lodge and no 21st century mobile telephones or television - wonderful.
Very warm welcome from Elise and staff.
Excellent first night on the river. It was as if the local elephant herd crossing in front of the vessel had been pre-arranged. What a performance.
The chalets were spacey, well finished and comfortable, although we spent very little time in them with so much to do. The knowledge, skills and experience of the Head Guide was second to none. He had been head-hunted for the position. Although we didnt see any big cats this visit, the lion had walked through the lodge one evening whilst we were out. We did see Max the regular visiting Hippo on the lawn. On the very last day as we travelled to the geothermal springs, we saw Bush Pigs just outside the lodge gate.The guide had only ever seen them once before. It is a bird lover's paradise.
The food was home cooked and excellent and there was a truly surprising dinin experience..........
Leopard Lodge should promote their eco-friendly use of hand held solar units after dinner and the use of fallen wood to heat the hot water for showers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 59maria2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The transport to the lodge was the start of an amazing adventure. Just outside of the lodge we came across an elephant troop. One decided that it need to prove it's dominance by charging the car, ears flapping - unfortunately no photos as our lives were too busy flying past our eyes....
Fortunately no damage done, surprising how quickly an elephant can stop. After an excellent meal we finished he evening with a walk around the grounds to see two lioness snoozing on the perimeter and Max the resident hippo trimming the grass. How could a day like this possibly be topped?
Started off with a safari, not much happening knew it couldn't live up to the day before - how wrong could I be? Suddenly on our right two leopards jump up and run off into the distance, we take off in hot pursuit, not easy given the ground conditions. The leopards were giving us the run around and generally laughing at us, help was needed and found in the unexpected form of a lion. The lion grumpy with the leopards in her territory chased them up a tree and then sat at the base waiting for us to arrive, once we had she gave us a knowing look and wandered away. Three impossible occurrences in one morning, a cinch - leopards are only seen in pairs when they are mating so this is very rare, lions don't chase leopards unless they really have to and leopards keep sufficient distance from humans that you rarely catch them up a tree, wow!
Finished the day with a sunset cruise saw lots of bird life and then sat on the shore drinking wine eyeballing a number of hippos who weren't to sure about us - they have mighty big mouths. Not so sure that standing watching Max eating the grass outside our chalet last night was such a wise move, but fun :-)
Finished off with a barbecue in the bush, this really is the trip of a lifetime, better than the one we had planned last year.
A quiet day, we started by walking to the hot spring about 4km from the camp, a pleasant jaunt. It also gave us the opportunity to learn about tracking the local wild life and saw a number of birds. Then we jumped in the van and an assent up the local hill, the views were spectacular and really gave a feel for the layout around the camp.
Then spent a few hours just chilling, well we had walked a little and eaten a good hearty breakfast so needed the chill time?!! During this period the camp was invaded by warthogs odd looking beasts and a bit skittish so no photos. (Later Elize admitted to chasing them off as they dig up the lawn looking for roots to eat.
To celebrate our last safari we went in to the bush to drink bubbly as the sun went down, really cool. That evening as we sat eating steak under the stars big red crept up behind Debbie, he has a main to be proud of. The rangers chased him off, Debbie blissfully unaware as I reassured her it was only a monkey. She hit me when she found out it was a lion, note to self next time I must look more carefully.
How sad packing to leave Leopard Lodge. Our stay here has been sublime, nothing has been too much for Elize and her crew, the food glorious and plentiful. The rangers Honest and Peter have taken great care of us, despite what I've said never once did I feel that I was in danger from the animals even though they got very close and personal. But above all else I am left with an impression of the majesty of Kafue, which is impossible to put into words, would I return - you bet I would, anyone fancy the trip?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_j_fis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanet C, Owner at Leopard Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hi Chris

We are so glad you had an awesome time and we all enjoyed your visit.

Hope to see you guys soon

Leopard Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 4 fantastic days at the Leopard Lodge. Elise and her staff were very helpful and managed? to have a lion and a lioness waiting outside our chalets in the morning. So the morning safari started already at our chalets at 5.30 AM! Fantastic food.
We liked to stay longer but we had to go.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanet C, Owner at Leopard Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Hi John

We are so pleased that you had a great time. Just for your interest the lions are still coming regularly to the Lodge.

Hope to see you back at the lodge soon.

All the best
The Leopard Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

5 glorious days at leopard lodge in Kafue national park what a place

We basically saw it all at the lodge, leopards, lions and elephants apart from the warthogs, monkeys, puku, impala and plenty of birds.

The resident lion and his lionesses were there most evenings through to morning, a lot of the time they lay up just near our chalet. One morning a boat had to come an fetch us from our chalet as the lions blocked our path to the main buildings.

A hippo also comes to the lodge every evening to feed - they have nicknamed him Max.

Had lovely views of elephant drinking whilst we were canoeing and caught lots of fish.

Staff, food and chalets great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patience M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

What can I say? Outstanding!!!! I am glad I came back to this faboulous lodge, because now the perfect location and fantastic guiding is together with great rooms (not more oldfashioned anymore, but very beautiful, spacious and "fresh") and perfect managment! On the top of it, the food is over the top!
Kafue National Park is probably still one of the last place in Africa where you can really enojoy the bush and feel "to be in Africa"...you have that feeling "YES! This is it!", so even a hut with a blanket is fine here, but I have to admit that this lodge is now perfect in terms of location, guiding, rooms, managment and food... What else could you ever ask for?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanet C, Owner at Leopard Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Marta

So glad you returned and liked our changes. We always strive to improve and will continue to do so.

We look forward to your next visit.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kafue National Park hotels
9.0 mi away
Bongwe Kafue Camp
Bongwe Kafue Camp
#21 of 28 in Kafue National Park
12 reviews
57.1 mi away
Mu-Fungata Safaris
Mu-Fungata Safaris
#22 of 28 in Kafue National Park
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hippo Lodge
Hippo Lodge
#15 of 28 in Kafue National Park
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.3 mi away
Mukambi Safari Lodge
Mukambi Safari Lodge
#4 of 28 in Kafue National Park
175 reviews
99.8 mi away
Konkamoya Lodge
Konkamoya Lodge
#11 of 28 in Kafue National Park
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mawimbi Bush Camp
Mawimbi Bush Camp
#17 of 28 in Kafue National Park
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Lodge

Address: Kafue, Kafue National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Kafue National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kafue National Park
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an authentic African wildlife safari in total solitude at our luxurious Kafue National Park game lodge on the banks of the Kafue River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing