We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skeleton Coast Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
NWR Terrace Bay Resort
Reviewed December 6, 2011

If you are going to the Skeleton Coast it is because of its mystique or you are fishing. Therefore arriving at the NWR resort is a very pleasant sight to see.
The clean & adequate rooms overlook the Atlantic Ocean. The 4 course dinner & hot breakfast are excellent.
Having a beer outside the restaurant at sunset is particularly pleasant. The staff are very attentive & friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 106 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

The only atraction of Terrace Bay is its remoteness, otherwise, there is little to thrill the eye in the area or on the way to it. They live from the feeling of "I have made it" of some travellers. Arriving there is by the way not difficult, the gravel road is good, flat and straight. Only, there are better places in Namibia where to spend the precious and limited travel time. The (only) lodge there, belonging to state-owned NWR, is, as usual in this company, a take-out-only-investment. No one has invested here in the last 30 years, only prices have been adapted to the level of a 4 star city hotel in Europe. It would be OK if you like fishing from the shore and they would charge you max. one third of what they charge. Bathrooms and furniture have the standard of a poor pension of the 70ies. Food and drinks in the lively (Namibian fishing visitors) bar are OK.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HenryM-Stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Terrace Bay is 200+ miles from anywhere else and is run by bthe parks Department so to be honest we were not expecting anything special. The buildings are old prefabs so again not great.
The staff were wonderful - very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The rooms were fine the food was really good. The only disappointment was the fish at dinner, it was probably frozen which is daft as fresh fish is the one thing which is easy to get in Terrace Bay.

There is nothing fancy about Terrace Bay but it shows what a difference it makes to have staff who enjoy what they do and want you to enjoy your stay. It is probably one of the strangest and bleak places I have ever stayed but memorable and somewhere I would like to go back to.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

October is not high season here - we were the only guests apart from a couple of cheerful fishermen from Cape Town. It was a 6 hours 250km drive from Cape Cross (itself remote) with only a handful of cars and NO SERVICES en route (petrol, refreshments etc). But warm welcome, good service and lots of cameraderie at this atmospheric spot. Luckily they had petrol at Terrace Bay. Unluckily there was a patch of sand near Torra Bay which trapped us on the way out (in a 2x2) and we had to be pulled out after ah hour by a passing 4x4 -beware! Scenery magical. Some wildlife at the (dry) river crossings (oryx, springbok, flamingoes). Route out of the National Park through the Damaraland mountains to Palmwag equally dramatic. The whole trip was awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mavuradonha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We spent 2 nights at Terrace Bay end of October, and we really liked the place atmosphere.
Facilities in rooms are pretty basic, but they are very clean, and they've got a feeling of "end of the world".
Looking outside you can see the rough sea, waves breaking on the shore, cormorants flying around.
The restaurant is one of the best we had on our tour. Plenty of food. If you take the full menu (starter, soup, main course, dessert), it's a very good quality/price ratio, and you can be sure you won't be hungry after the meal...
The bar is a nice place to relax, listening to the stories of fishermen who are here for a week of holidays.
Staff is very friendly, very helpful.
The scenery around Terrace Bay is very rough, but it gives a true feeling of Skeleton Coast. The road up to there is beautiful with sand dunes, animals in dry river beds (plenty of Oryx, springboks,...)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Munhoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Arrived here as we (well me at least - husband not so keen) wanted to drive all the way up the Skeleton Coast. A long drive from Swakopmund, but enjoyable and puncture free!

We were told that the drive would be hugely boring, but we quite enjoyed it. Stopped off with the seals at Cape Cross - that is really unmissable - lots of seals pups and the big males lumbering round / fighting / etc - definitely worth the trip - and in no way as smelly as the guidebooks would have you believe.

Terrace Bay rooms were better than expected, but relatively basic. Food is poor - they are right by the sea with great fishing, and they serve frozen fish pieces! However - all the staff are very friendly and charming.

If we had to do our trip again I would probably skip this bit and turn off the Skeleton Coast a bit earlier. It wasn't really worth the very long drives for a one night stay. Not sure why you would stay any longer, unless you are there for the fishing.

There are more scenic and comfortable spots to spend your time, so if time is limited give Terrace Bay a miss. If you do go up there, then you have no choice but to stay here as there is nowhere else - unless you have a tent or a camper - so hence the recommendation.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Det finns bara ett antal rum att välja mellan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skeleton Coast Park
0.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Hoanib Skeleton Coast
Wilderness Safaris Hoanib Skelet...
#1 of 3 in Skeleton Coast Park
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hoada Campsite
Hoada Campsite
#1 of 10 in Kamanjab
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
#7 of 14 in Damaraland
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
#1 of 15 in Outjo
742 reviews
0.0 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Etosha National Park
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NWR Terrace Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NWR Terrace Bay Resort

Address: Skeleton Coast Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Skeleton Coast Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skeleton Coast Park
Price Range: $12 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — NWR Terrace Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Terrace Bay Hotel Skeleton Coast Park
NWR Terrace Bay Resort Namibia/Skeleton Coast Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing