We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
17
38
25
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
38
25
9
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 90 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I gave this lodge only two stars because of how pricey it is for what is offered! For 4 people, our overnight stay came out to about 80€ per person, sharing a very hot and very basic motel-style room. The staff was nice enough and there is a nice pool, but 320€ is on par with NYC prices!

It's true that breakfast and dinner are included. But, as someone else noted, there is surely no chef, so warmed up frozen veggies, incredibly basic salad fixings and two meat choices plus rice were the extent of the buffet. The appetizer that night was... Cold fishsticks with some sort of vinaigrette (I kid you not) and the desert was pudding from a dry mix package, no doubt.

For what we paid, I definitely expect more, either better food, or a better room. We paid less at other establishments for much nicer accomodations and cuisine. The place feels a bit tired and musty, it could use a breath of fresh air!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Visited Betesda 27-29 Sept. 2011. Very warm welcome from all staff esp. as we arrived at short notice after a change of plans. Very comfortable rooms with ac (needed). Plenty of hot water for morning & evening showers. Excellent trip to Sossusvlei with Smithy (arranged by lodge) which included lots of ice cold drinks & a substantial breakfast, which we shared with weaver birds. Evening meals were of high quality with more than enough choice - soups, salads, meats, vegetables, desserts - all served by friendly staff - & the best lasagne in Namibia ... Southern Africa ... well anywhere really. Much appreciated (clean) pool where we spent the best part of a full day before 'retiring' to our private patio at the back of our room to enjoy a sundowner whilst looking at the very impressive views. Minor point - you are asked to inform reception in the morning should you require lunch. We didn't, so the chef was sent for when we did ask for lunch. Not bad service, eh?

Room Tip: If you want your room serviced, then you need to ask at reception. If you don't ask, it won't be serviced.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We visited Betesda on 12 and 13 Sept 2011. There was absolutely nothing we could complain about. The recepstionist personally took us to our room, show us around and offered us coffee/tea, which is available in the reception area any time of day. Special arrangements were made for our breakfast the following morning seeing that we left the lodge at 6:15 to visit Sossusvlei. Our "take-away" breakfast was a treat! The dinners were very good, delicious and more than enough! Thanks again to the friendly owners and staff for the wonderful stay. Bennie and Marlene

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

What a beautiful location. So peaceful and quiet. We really enjoyed our time here and think it was worth every minute of extra drive from Sossusvlei Gate. Very comfortable beds. Heaters didn't work well, but the comforter compensated nicely. Great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmanphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

What we heard about the cats, is true, they’re everywhere and it is quite funny. The location is wonderful, sunsets are breathtaking. The rooms all have great views on the nearby hills and have an own terrace. The restaurant is buffet-like and the food is quite basic, the dining room is inside a characteristic, African reed-roof building. The pool is small but nice and from the terrace you get an amizing sunset view. The second night we had no hot water.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stientje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews