We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Betesda Lodge & Camping
eMalahleni, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We visited Betesda on 12 and 13 Sept 2011. There was absolutely nothing we could complain about. The recepstionist personally took us to our room, show us around and offered us coffee/tea, which is available in the reception area any time of day. Special arrangements were made for our breakfast the following morning seeing that we left the lodge at 6:15 to visit Sossusvlei. Our "take-away" breakfast was a treat! The dinners were very good, delicious and more than enough! Thanks again to the friendly owners and staff for the wonderful stay. Bennie and Marlene

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    37
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
12
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

What a beautiful location. So peaceful and quiet. We really enjoyed our time here and think it was worth every minute of extra drive from Sossusvlei Gate. Very comfortable beds. Heaters didn't work well, but the comforter compensated nicely. Great stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmanphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

What we heard about the cats, is true, they’re everywhere and it is quite funny. The location is wonderful, sunsets are breathtaking. The rooms all have great views on the nearby hills and have an own terrace. The restaurant is buffet-like and the food is quite basic, the dining room is inside a characteristic, African reed-roof building. The pool is small but nice and from the terrace you get an amizing sunset view. The second night we had no hot water.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stientje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

this was the only place in Namibia where we were not offered a welcome drink, which was not a good start. There was also no soap in the very basic motel style rooms. Towels had bleach stains on them and the rooms looked tired and dated- very Fawlty Towersesque!
We stayed for 2 nights and our room was not serviced after our first night- again this was the only place in Namibia where this happened.
The first evening meal was pretty awful. I don't think they have a proper chef there. Frozen veg do not impress, nor does heinz tomato soup. They did not seem to be in hurry to restock food and the pudding was vile.
The second evening meal was a little better, but we made sure we were there dead on 6:30pm so that there was enough food left.
It was freezing in the restaurant and there was only one small communial area in Reception to sit in, which normally had cats sat on it.
The water is supposedly heated by solar panels but I had a cold shower the first time. It was warm the next day but they even have a notice which recommends that you shower late afternoon and not in the morning.
We got up early to drive the long journey to Sossusvlei only to have to get up in darkness as the electricty had tripped in our block, not much fun.
It was incredibly windy when we stayed and it was very noisy at night as the wind whistled around the blocks. Apparently the winds come for about 3 days every month( not something you read about in the guide books.)
When we were there we got caught up in the worst sandstorm in living memory- a pretty scarey experience, which did mean we didn't get to see many dunes, which was the whole reason of driving down here. My daughter even got blown off Dune 45!
It was ceratinly a memorable stay but not necesaasrily for the right reasons.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brealsonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Namib-Naukluft Park hotels

Aylesbury, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

Enjoyed the peace & quiet together with the views from our room as well as from the terrace above the pool (great sunsets!). Simple but nice and clean room with a terrace outside, watching the (pet) springbock and oryx. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

During our three weeks travel through all of Namibia this was by far the worst value ever!
This place is definately overpriced! The cleanliness was disappointing, the entire place has no charme whatsoever, even little things don't get fixed. The family-rooms are ridiculous and the staff does not seem to be well organized at all.
The only positive part about the stay was dinner.
This place is definately not to be recommended. There are tons of other places, even closer to Sesriem where one gets a better value than at Betesda.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deckerinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2009

Our family recently stayed at Betesda lodge whilst on a Peregrine trip through Namibia. The main lodge ( reception, restuarant ) is very charming with its thatched roof. The rooms are more motel style though quite adequate. Our only issue was the lack of air-conditioning !! We spent a sleepless night under our mosquito nets getting up at 5am the next morning to drive to see the sunrise on the dunes of the Sossusvlei. The staff were all very friendly and there is a lovely little swimming pool in which to cool off. We were virtually the only guests staying at the lodge and therefore the resturant choices were limited but what was available was very tasty.
Our girls loved the three cats who appear to rule the reception area.
We were told that the lodge has only recently had electricity connected having used a diesel generator for some time and that they now plan to install a/c units in the rooms !!!

  • Liked — Location near the sossusvlei
  • Disliked — No a/c in the rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwidadSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
73.9 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
11.9 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
49.9 mi away
Capricorn Rest Camp
Capricorn Rest Camp
#12 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.0 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
15.1 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 8 in Sesriem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
13.3 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betesda Lodge & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betesda Lodge & Camping

Property: Betesda Lodge & Camping
Address: 5km along road 854 from the C19, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Betesda Lodge & Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betesda Lodge & Camping Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing