We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent 2 stormy days in this lodge, with a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Homestead Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bilzen
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spent 2 stormy days in this lodge, with a beautiful setting”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent 2 days in the lodge, when visiting Sossusvlei - quite a distance to get there, especially if you want (like us) to go for ballooning over Sossusvlei.
The surrounding is beautiful (like most of the time in Namibia) and worth a horse ride. Do not forget that July is cold, once sun sets, so take a sweater!
Food is average in this lodge.
Staff is very friendly (again like most Namibians).
The lodge is not heated, other than by 1 fireplace in the main building, and windy - the hot water bottles that were distributed at night, were very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    158
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
73
197
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
colchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights mid November, and after a long drive from Windhoek, were greeted by big smiles and a welcome fruit juice. Before being shown to our room we were shown the set menu for the evening and asked if we would like any alternative, as, if we did not like anything or were allergic, the chef would be able to accommodate our tastes. This was not necessary, as, eventhough I am very fussy eater, the food turned out to be delicious.
Our room was delightful, with amazing views over a huge sparse Savannah plain, scattered with grazing Springbok. It was all very rustic with things like towel rail, closet rail and loo roll holder all made out of branches, hopefully from local trees! Our mosquito net served us well, although we didn't actually see any mosquitoes, however with the fan being above the net we did not feel the benefit of any draft and subsequently were very hot overnight.
We drove to ourselves to Sossouvlei in the morning and were very pleased to be in an air conditioned car, as the temp outside was approx 44C, but the landscape was amazing!
I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable, welcoming hotel with amazing views.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Ostfold, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Beautiful location and very nice bungalows. The food was not too bad and the breakfast in Sossuvlei with the guide Seven, was absolutely perfect - thanks to you Seven. Good help from the guy who fixed our tire and a very nice horse ride for the sunset. The rest of the staff had a horrible attitude, looked like they had the most boring jobb in the world and I beleive it was a total lack of management. The place has such a great potensial, so it was sad to see some of the staff totally destroing the reputation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente Vold K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My 2 adult daughters and I traveled around Namibia in March/April. We puled into Desert Homestead after a long drive from Windhoek. It is in the middle of the "desert area", a oasis that felt very welcoming. We asked for a room closer to the main area and were moved. The rooms are small but nice with wonderful views to the desert. The food was excellent and dining almost under the stars was fun. The lodge offered excusions but since we had a 4 wheel drive vehicle we went to Sossusvlei on our own with no problems. We partially climbed Big Daddy which was fun but ended up on the top in mid day. Almost had heat strokes, better to go in climb in the morning. Remember to get a little sand to take home, it is the reddest sand I have ever seen. The pool area did not have much shade so we did not use it. Service very good, I would go back.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same but it is better to be closer to the main lodge area, especially at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sswm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of October. The land that the lodge is located on is amazing. The view from the room and the main building are definitely the highlight of this place. We enjoyed dinner on the two nights we were there but didn't care for the packed lunch or lunch in the lodge. Breakfast was pretty standard and basically what we have received in other locations. The cold pool was great, especially considering how hot it was while we were visiting. One of the major dislikes to this place was the poor ventilation in the huts. Someone in another review says that was great and I strongly disagree. We were so hot in our rooms at night that it was difficult to sleep and we couldn't even relax in there at all during the day. Due to us having every window open we were eaten up by mosquitos. We used the netting but because the single beds are just pushed together, the mosquitos were able to come up between the beds and were basically trapped inside with us for the night. They really need to invest in putting screens on their windows. The other issue was not having any soap. We asked for it right after we got to our room and were told they ran out. Not having soap seems like lack of planning and I seriously hope the staff had soap for themselves!!
Luckily we took an amazing balloon ride while in Sossusvlei so that made up for being very uncomfortable for a few days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonS1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here three nights in September and really enjoyed it. The wide open views to the low mountains are great for watching the moon (and sun) rise and set. The private bungalows have large, comfortable beds with mosquito netting, big bathrooms with showers, windows that offer flow-through ventilation, and a front porch to watch the view. The meals were prepared by highly-trained chefs and staff, and the folk singing and dancing every night was a great addition. We had a good guide from there take us for the day to Sossusvlei, and he took us where we wanted to go and had a huge, delicious brunch for us spread out on a picnic table when we finished climbing Big Daddy dune. They also have a small pool that is so cold it's perfect for surviving the desert sun. We didn't ride the horses, but they had several, and they looked healthy and strong. Great "oasis!"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sndpail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Check the location first. This accommodation is not in the park - it is 30 min drive to the park entrance. We stayed here 3 nights in October and thoroughly enjjoyed it. We were self drive so didn't use a guide or do any activities like horse riding. The huts and not luxurious nor basic. They have lights, mossi nets, couple of chairs, wooden branches for coathangers - no wardrobe, some shelves and an antiquated looking piece of plumbing for sink/shower. I loved the Heath Robinson pumbing - and it was fine. HIgh ceilings in the straw roof - and we saw NO spiders at all !!! NB we don't like 'em. All face a low range of nearby hills with no views of other huts. You have to walk to the main lodge for meals etc - only a few yards. Paths are lit but a torch is a must. Average size pool, some loungers. Charge up any electrical items in the main lodge. They will freeze freezer blocks for you. Good evening meals with small choice but they would do a special if you don't fancy anything. We loved it. It exceeded our expectations which were of a more basic nature.

Room Tip: You could ask for a hut that is closest to the nearby range of hills so there is no overlap with oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
75.1 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
319 reviews
10.7 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
14.7 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
489 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 9 in Sesriem
799 reviews
13.1 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Homestead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Homestead Lodge

Property: Desert Homestead Lodge
Address: Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Homestead Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Desert Homestead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desert Homestead And Horse Trails Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Desert Homestead Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing