We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bungalows, super staff, and a great place to watch the moon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Homestead Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Paola, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful bungalows, super staff, and a great place to watch the moon”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here three nights in September and really enjoyed it. The wide open views to the low mountains are great for watching the moon (and sun) rise and set. The private bungalows have large, comfortable beds with mosquito netting, big bathrooms with showers, windows that offer flow-through ventilation, and a front porch to watch the view. The meals were prepared by highly-trained chefs and staff, and the folk singing and dancing every night was a great addition. We had a good guide from there take us for the day to Sossusvlei, and he took us where we wanted to go and had a huge, delicious brunch for us spread out on a picnic table when we finished climbing Big Daddy dune. They also have a small pool that is so cold it's perfect for surviving the desert sun. We didn't ride the horses, but they had several, and they looked healthy and strong. Great "oasis!"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sndpail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    155
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
70
196
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Check the location first. This accommodation is not in the park - it is 30 min drive to the park entrance. We stayed here 3 nights in October and thoroughly enjjoyed it. We were self drive so didn't use a guide or do any activities like horse riding. The huts and not luxurious nor basic. They have lights, mossi nets, couple of chairs, wooden branches for coathangers - no wardrobe, some shelves and an antiquated looking piece of plumbing for sink/shower. I loved the Heath Robinson pumbing - and it was fine. HIgh ceilings in the straw roof - and we saw NO spiders at all !!! NB we don't like 'em. All face a low range of nearby hills with no views of other huts. You have to walk to the main lodge for meals etc - only a few yards. Paths are lit but a torch is a must. Average size pool, some loungers. Charge up any electrical items in the main lodge. They will freeze freezer blocks for you. Good evening meals with small choice but they would do a special if you don't fancy anything. We loved it. It exceeded our expectations which were of a more basic nature.

Room Tip: You could ask for a hut that is closest to the nearby range of hills so there is no overlap with oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windhoek namibia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is one of the tourist lodges lining the main drag past the well known Namibian desert oasis of Sossusvlei, about 25 km from the turn off to the latter. Rather modest looking from the road, it is comfortable and reasonably priced (by which I mean about $80 per night instead of the $500 charged by the more pretentious hostelries along the route). No choice of evening menu but meal tasty enough, rooms all separate units ('Rondavel' style) with great views but no lighting or power outlet for those trying to catch up with a bit of work. Despite the blazing day time sun, seemingly no effort to use solar water heating at least - all power is from a diesel generator. Staff helpful and provide 5am breakfasts for those setting out for hot air balloon trips. Refreshing splash pool to cool off.

Room Tip: one in the middle of the row nearly the pool and main reception area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at this lodge as our starting point for driving into Sossusvlei. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The bungalows were simple inside but wonderfully situated, with a veranda at the front where we could relax and enjoy the open savanna. The meals were good. The lunch/breakfast pack they put together for our trip to Sossusvlei was huge and included all types of goodies (sandwich, peanuts, yogurt, granola bar, juice, banana, cookies). The place is very good value for the price. The staff were friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allons, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a 3 night stay here in September of 2012. We enjoyed having our own private 'hut' in the desert. The views out of our door were great, the food at the lodge very good and they catered nicely to my vegetarian request. The guides we had were very knowledgeable and we enjoyed very much our day in the dunes and champagne lunch under the shade tree. While we were there there was a problem with the electricity, so we had several hours a day including 11Pm to 5Am with no electric to our 'hut'. The only real downside for me was the bed, it was very hard. I do recommend this place, especially after I saw the other choices in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeReiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hechtel
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Desert Homestead and really liked it. Like you can read in the other rewies, the location and view are stunning. Open savanna with little mountains in a distance. Different in every part of day.
The bungalow was beautifull. Basic accomodation, keep in mind you have to charge your electronics in the main building. The shower and bed are good.
We liked the food during dinner here. Just a 3-courses menu, but very tasty. We also tried the lunch once (salad), but were dissapointed, lots of mayonaise, few vegetables.
We went to sususvlei with a guide from the lodge and were happy to do so. You can also visit it by yourself, but the guide gave us lots of information. We had a champagne-brunch at sususvlei, really good tasting! The guide was very nice to conversate with and we took our time, very relaxing!
We also did the sundowner horse riding. We saw some antilopes and coyotes. The drive back under millions of stars was one of the highlights of our trip in Namibia. We just looked up and let the horses find their way in the dark.
The staff was helpfull and friendly.

We really recomment this lodge, espacially when you want to do some horse-riding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights and it was a socially unpleasant surprise. As soon as we said that we were not going to book any activity with them (which are excessively overpriced) we were non-existing to the staff. Additionally, the generator makes a huge noise which can be heard lively while it is on! do not recommend...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
75.1 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
316 reviews
10.7 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
14.7 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
477 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 9 in Sesriem
787 reviews
13.1 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Homestead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Homestead Lodge

Property: Desert Homestead Lodge
Address: Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Homestead Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Desert Homestead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desert Homestead And Horse Trails Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Desert Homestead Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing