We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Namib Desert Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Namib Desert Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Namib Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Marloth Park
2 reviews
“Namib Desert Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a lovely lodge in a beautiful setting. The staff are friendly and professional. The nature guides, especially Chantal, are knowledgeable and helpful. This is a lodge that I will make a point to visit again if ever the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Genie019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon. Thank you for complimenting our staff, we will forward your comments to the lodge manager and thank Chantal especially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    227
    67
    13
    3
See reviews for
134
206
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good service and friendley and well trained staff.
Food was well presented with great atmosphere!
Clean cosy rooms with every thing you need at hand.
Beautiful suroundings and sceinery.
The lovely open spaces and the water hole at the lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing a Gondwana Collection destination and for taking the time to write about your experience. We will forward your review to the staff and really hope we get the chance to accommodate you again at one of our many destinations in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good service very clean. Rooms is basic but comfortable.
Very helpful staff and kind.
Need to work on more tracks to walk.
Food was excellent. Can serve coffee complimentary during the day. Excellent overall

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bonteskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review about your stay and thank you for your suggestions. We are always exploring opportunities to improve and we will consider your recommendations. We have forwarded your review to the lodge manager to thank the staff for their friendly and helpful nature. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

It was a short stay overnight only, but nevertheless I can say the place has a perfect atmosphere fitting to the surrounding desert. Rooms are excellent, food excellent and service excellent. A few mats in the toilet ( for cold winter nights) and a hook or two in the rooms to hang up my jacket, pants, shirt, hat etc. would help and are necessary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris / Erika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at a Gondwana Collection establishment and really hope we get the chance in the future to welcome you back. Thank you for the review and for your suggestions. We will make sure these suggestions are considered, to give visitors to Gondwana an even more relaxing and comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very quite place with a beautiful view. Food is good, people working there is very friendly and fast. They are very well organized. You have the possibility to do two different nice walks around the lodge by yourself. Rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo8_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for visiting Namib Desert Lodge, we are also thankful for your review. We hope to get the chance again in the future to accommodate you at one of our establishments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Unfortunately we could not stay very long. Very friendly service, clean rooms, great food and a huge variety, super value for money, especially with the Gondwana card and definately worth going back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janine_Colyn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad to hear that you an excellent time at Namib Desert Lodge. Your feedback has been passed on to the lodge management and staff. who will be delighted to welcome you back on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a lovely stay, all the staff members were extremely friendly and helpfull, from the guy at the gate to the reception staff, waiters, etc.. The food was unfortunately not always of the best quality, though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hannelie_schutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you very much for making time to give us feedback on your stay at Namib Desert Lodge. Your compliments regarding the staff have been passed onto to various department of the lodge who will be delighted. We are taking positive as well as negative feedback seriously and would like to assure you that we will look into the issue regarding the food. We would like to invite you to stay with us again on a the future visit to Namibia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
32.8 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
4.6 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Agama River Camp
Agama River Camp
#2 of 4 in Solitaire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
16.8 mi away
Solitaire Desert Farm
Solitaire Desert Farm
#1 of 4 in Solitaire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
39.5 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namib Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namib Desert Lodge

Property: Namib Desert Lodge
Address: Nelson Mandela Ave 42 | PO Box 80205, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Namib Desert Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main building and the chalets of Namib Desert Lodge are spread out along the foot of the fossilised dunes of the ancient Namib. A comfortable sojourn is guaranteed by 65 en suite rooms with air conditioning. A restaurant and bar, an inviting terrace with views of the fossilised dunes and two swimming pools beckon you to linger and relax. Oryx antelope and springbok make frequent appearances at our illuminated watering place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Namib Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namib Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Namib Desert Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing