We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good lodge”
Review of Namib Desert Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Namib Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very quite place with a beautiful view. Food is good, people working there is very friendly and fast. They are very well organized. You have the possibility to do two different nice walks around the lodge by yourself. Rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massimo8_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for visiting Namib Desert Lodge, we are also thankful for your review. We hope to get the chance again in the future to accommodate you at one of our establishments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 609 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Unfortunately we could not stay very long. Very friendly service, clean rooms, great food and a huge variety, super value for money, especially with the Gondwana card and definately worth going back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janine_Colyn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad to hear that you an excellent time at Namib Desert Lodge. Your feedback has been passed on to the lodge management and staff. who will be delighted to welcome you back on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a lovely stay, all the staff members were extremely friendly and helpfull, from the guy at the gate to the reception staff, waiters, etc.. The food was unfortunately not always of the best quality, though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hannelie_schutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you very much for making time to give us feedback on your stay at Namib Desert Lodge. Your compliments regarding the staff have been passed onto to various department of the lodge who will be delighted. We are taking positive as well as negative feedback seriously and would like to assure you that we will look into the issue regarding the food. We would like to invite you to stay with us again on a the future visit to Namibia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at three Gondwana Collection properties during our trip around Namibia and this was the first one we tried. They were altogether the best value for money accommodation option that we found during six weeks in Namibia. However, our reason for being at the Namib Desert was to visit Sossusvlei yet, it was 1 hour away on dirt roads. Realising our mistake, we made the best of a very good quality, good value lodge.
Our chalet was very spacious with a modern ensuite. Our outside verandah was well lit and, being at one perimeter of the camp we had plenty of nocturnal visitors, Nightjars, Oryx, a variety of lizards and the ubiquitous insects.
The resort had two very good quality swimming pools, an excellent bar with keenly priced drinks and a restaurant with both indoor and outdoor dining options.
The food was more imaginative than NWR and of a much better quality. It did not however match the fine dining restaurants we had experienced in other parts of Namibia - The Tug at Swakopmund, NICE and Sardinia in Windhoek (see my reviews on Tripadvisor). The staff were very friendly and efficient and, clearly better trained that NWB Etosha staff. I commend the Gondwana Collection for developing a service formula that provides an alternative to NWB. Its just a pity that NWB has location monopoly inside the national parks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FulmerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

It was pleasure reading your very positive review on your experience Namib Desert Lodge. We hereby would like to thank you for the time you dedicated to write this review. Your feedback has also been passed onto the management and staff of the lodge who will be delighted to read such affirmative feedback. We are looking forward in welcoming you again on a future visit to Namibia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel was very good, - we loved the location and walks around. Since the hotel is very big, and lots of busses drop their load, it is fairly busy. Still, very good food, service and amazing location***.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you very much or the great review on your stay at Namib Desert Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the lodge and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was a wonderful oasis in the middle of no where. It was about 1.5 hours from Sossusvlei so in that aspect would have liked staying somewhere a bit closer. We stayed in the tents but they were really nice. I would definitely recommend this place if the drive is not a consideration for someone. The food they serve was really fantastic. The only reason for not giving it all 5 stars is because the activities they offer can be somewhat lacking. We did the Sunset drive and it was really disappointing. It was only 17 USD per person but with a family of four at 68 USD it was a really expensive drive to a lookout point for 30 minutes before we had to turn back (even though we did get to see some oryx) not worth it. Everything else...great!

Room Tip: The soft camp lodging is a semi hardened tent. For a family of four it was a tight fit. Keep that in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were part of an organized tour group that stayed at the Namib Desert Lodge. Our group was greeted upon our arrival and provided some brief information about checking in and getting to our assigned rooms. No sooner we got to our room, our luggage was delivered, despite the large size of our group. Our bungalow had a patio view of the petrified sand dunes, and it was a nice experience to sit out and watch how the sunset changed the dunes from red to gold to dark brown. The room was quite comfortable. The shower had vigorous water pressure, and theAC worked very well, unlike our experiences at other pricier desert and game park lodges. The meals were well presented and offered a lot of variety, but the best part of the dining experience was the view of the nearby waterhole which the hotel lit up at night so diners could enjoy seeing the oryx come to drink and socialize. The hotel has two pools - one salt water and the other chlorinated - but the water temperature was too cool for most of us to consider swimming, which was a pity, since the days were pretty warm. The restaurant staff was pleasant and the bar staff kept us appropriately plied with pretty good cappuccinos and sparkling water. The phones didn't work, but I was on vacation, so not concerned with calling anyone. I did do a little shopping in their lobby gift shop that carried logo-ed clothing and cute tchotchkes. From this location we were able to arrange for a light airplane flight over the sand dunes (so worth it!!!) and a trip to Sossusvlei and Deadvlei. We capped off our visit to the Namib Desert Lodge with a sundown game drive to the petrified sand dunes, complete with a picnic of hors d'oeuvres and cocktails. The guide from the hotel was charming and informative, and was on hand to wave us off the next morning as we departed. It was a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Get a room number in the high 50's or low 60's to get a patio view of the petrified dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kafayolay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you very much for the amazing feedback. We are delighted that you had such a memorable stay at the Namib Desert Lodge and that you were satisfied with the service and the food offered. Your compliments will gladly be passed on to the management, the staff and the kitchen who will be very pleased. Thank you again for this great review and we hope to welcome you back at the lodge on your next visit to Namibia.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Namib-Naukluft Park hotels
38.7 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
361 reviews
4.6 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#6 of 12 in Sossusvlei
299 reviews
176.7 mi away
Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse Inn
Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse In...
#1 of 2 in Namib-Naukluft Park
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
552 reviews
7.4 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#8 of 12 in Sossusvlei
199 reviews
16.6 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#16 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namib Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namib Desert Lodge

Address: Nelson Mandela Ave 42 | PO Box 80205, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range: $213 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Namib Desert Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main building and the chalets of Namib Desert Lodge are spread out along the foot of the fossilised dunes of the ancient Namib. A comfortable sojourn is guaranteed by 65 en suite rooms with air conditioning. A restaurant and bar, an inviting terrace with views of the fossilised dunes and two swimming pools beckon you to linger and relax. Oryx antelope and springbok make frequent appearances at our illuminated watering place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Namib Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namib Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Namib Desert Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing