We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sand dune central”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Namib Desert Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Namib Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Carroll, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sand dune central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked this location to be close to Sesrium and he famed Dune 45. The lodge offered a nice pool and bar for relaxing. The buffet dinner was ok but not outstanding. Because it is still a two hour drive to dune 45 we departed at 6:15 AM. The lodge offered only a cold breakfast at tis time. The t breakfast started at 7 AM. With a lot of people departing early they are not able to take advantage of the t breakfast. Staff was helpful and gave a great introduction to the resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We do not know what went wrong in your case - knowing that most guests want to leave early for Sossusvlei, the Namib Desert Lodge does offer cold breakfast as from 5 am, and warm breakfast as from 6 am. Many guests prefer to have a breakfast picnic on the dunes and therefore make us of the breakfast and/or lunch packs (to be ordered the evening before), and our receptionists, guest relation officers and waiters usually inform our guests about these options. The lodge management will remind the staff of the importance of this. Namib Desert Lodge is situated 60 km north of Sesriem, the gate to Sossusvlei, which is about 45 min drive at the recommended speed of 80 km/h.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    231
    71
    14
    3
See reviews for
139
213
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level Contributor
149 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is quite a big lodge with more than 70 rooms beautifully located close to petrified tunes- so due to it´s size .there a lots of groups.
Most rooms have great views either of petrified tunes or plain marshland. There is a nice selfguided walk towards the dunes well worth walking- but not very frequented........
Of course it doesn´t provide the familiar atmosphere of a luxury game lodge, but staff is really doing an awesome job: friendly and very obliging (just to point out the very young trainee- barman).
And well- it´s 60 km from entrance of Sossusvlei. But as gravelroad down to Sossusvlei is quite good, it takes only 40min or so for driving down.
All in all a recommendable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This lodge is located at 60 km from Sesriem. It is not the closest lodge, but has beautiful location. Indeed, it is close to the petrified dunes.
From our room we could see the petrified dunes. Beautiful.
Rooms are not luxury, but they are nice.
We booked the sossuvlei drive at the lodge as we did not want to drive and once you are at Sesriem there are still 60 km to go to Sossuvlei site. So we had a nice guide who explained us a lot of things about plants and animals living in the desert. Very interesting.
We really much appreciated our 2 nights.
Buffet is good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2coucou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed tww nights at the lodge. This is a typical Gondwana place - nothing special. We were welcomed by a lady who recited the same story as all the other Gondwana lodges, and it all revolved around money. The rooms were ok, no luxuries. There was no coffee making facility. Every had to be bought at the restaurant, and unlike Etsoha Village, no coffee was available at the restaurant for consumption during the day. DInner was ok, but still I find these prices excessive for South Africans. They can have at least a cheaper alternative. - R 185 x 3 for two nights plus drinks and you are close to N$ 2000 - the wine prices are also not shy! breakfast was better than Damaraland. The one morning we requested a packaged breakfast because we left early for Sousos Vlei. Boiled egg, sandwich, apple, fruit juice and a small yoghurt. We had lunch in Sesriem, and bought some snacks and brotchens and drinks for consumption as dinner at the lodge. That was an extremely enjoyable evening costing less than N$ 200! Will not return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeinOos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We are aware of the fact that citizens from countries in Southern Africa regard lodges in Namibia as expensive. Kindly note that in general lodges in the rural areas in Namibia face higher costs of transport than lodges or B&B's in South Africa. In addition Gondwana invested in numerous measures to keep the impact to the environment as low as possible (e.g. water recycling plants for watering the gardens); by staying with us guests support our environmental-friendly approach. We also know that some South(ern) Africans prefer more affordable accommodation and accept simpler facilities and services. At all of Gondwana's locations we offer campsites (only exception is Damara Mopane Lodge), and at two locations we offer self-catering accommodation (Fish River Canyon, Klein-Aus Vista). However, we will add more low-budget accommodation in the near future. Our receptionists are trained to inform the guests about what they can experience during their stay. Obviously this includes activities which have to be paid for extra and might be perceived as 'money-revolving' by cost-sensitive guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

The place is just a little more than average. Their Dinner Buffet was good. But their main problem is, you dont have anything to eat other than meals. No restaurants,food corner,nothing. And the place is just in the middle of nowhere.No shops around.

Basic facilities. Nice view around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TasiraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I live in Cape Town, South Africa and this was my first trip to Namibia. It was such a wonderful experience hoping from one lodge to another each day with 4 or 5 hour drives each day. The drives however did not feel long because i was so intrigued by my surrounding and the difference in each day that the hours flew by,

The Namib Desert Lodge was one of the best stays with well-lookd after lodges and lovely, accomodating staff.

I was wondering if anyone could help me and send me the contact details of the manager PLEASE??

Many thanks!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

This was our first experience in the desert in Namibia after a long journey from Windhoek. Marvellous experience with nice games drives and not so far from Sossusvlei where you can see the huge dunes of sand.
The swimming pools are excellent (2) the diner is outstanding, you can also sit outside what makes the difference in the evening with spots on the sand rocks and the “wilde beesten”.
The rooms are good, clean and if necessary, the nights are cold, a good working air conditioning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lexwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
38.7 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
4.6 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
19.9 mi away
Solitaire Desert Farm
Solitaire Desert Farm
#1 of 4 in Solitaire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Agama River Camp
Agama River Camp
#2 of 4 in Solitaire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
39.6 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
7.4 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namib Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namib Desert Lodge

Property: Namib Desert Lodge
Address: Nelson Mandela Ave 42 | PO Box 80205, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Namib Desert Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main building and the chalets of Namib Desert Lodge are spread out along the foot of the fossilised dunes of the ancient Namib. A comfortable sojourn is guaranteed by 65 en suite rooms with air conditioning. A restaurant and bar, an inviting terrace with views of the fossilised dunes and two swimming pools beckon you to linger and relax. Oryx antelope and springbok make frequent appearances at our illuminated watering place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Namib Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namib Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Namib Desert Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing