We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveler rating
438
317
74
14
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
317
74
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild horseseagles nestbraai packghost townself cateringfish river canyonhiking trailsablution facilitiesgreat campsiteclean ablutionsno electricitysouthern namibiathe main lodgestayed one nightcamping siteday triphot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 845 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Beautiful setting; wonderful,people that run this establishment. But, Barbara 235, you must have had too much of something to think you saw Impala; any pink elephants......?
Take some warm clothes, visit the oyster farm in Luderitz. Do not speed on the road that runs as straight as an arrow to Luderitz..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendrik01_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your stay, and for complimenting our establishment. We understand your point that the Impala species are not native to the area. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very rustic. Was a great experience, especially for my 2 young boys. I will definitely recommend the braai packs which comes with all the trimmings and even chocolate cake!!
Lovely stay, lovely people and a great property.

Room Tip: If you like rustic, then this hunters cabin is for you.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

How delightful to know you enjoyed your stay to such an extent to write us such a positive review. We will forward your compliments to the staff and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Thank you for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The location of both the lodge and the campsite is unique and worth a visit.
You can enjoy some trails, riding a bike or horses surrounded by stunning views and if you're lucky you can also have a walk alongside with a group of impalas, as we had!
The main lodge is extremely cozy, warm and relaxing and you can also have a tasty dinner on the upside wooden deck.
The dinner buffet offers a large variety of fresh and steamed veggies and two kind of meat.
The desert horse inn accommodations are spacious and cozy. From the outside the bungalows look like a US western village, that is quite weird! The solar panel provide each bungalow with hot tap water, but can cause some problems in the morning, when the water is colder!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We appreciate the time you took in writing to us about your stay and that you found it to be cosy and relaxing. We also appreciate your feedback about the food and have forwarded it to the staff. We are sorry to hear you experienced a cold shower in the morning; the best time in Namibia, where solar power for the geysers are used, is to use the bath/shower facilities at night, when the water is still hot from the days' sunshine. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed one night at Desert Horse inn campsite and we enjoyed it a lot. First of all the location is gorgeous! The campsite is clean and you have everything you need: good showers, clean bathrooms and toilets, good place to wash the dishes.
We walked to a fantastic point of view where we watched the sun go down, it was a very big 'waow' for all of us!! One of these beautiful sceneries of Namibia.
This little hike is not difficult and takes about 30-40 min with children to reach the point of view, it starts directly next to the bathrooms of the camp. Very easy to find!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pitchounette20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

What a delight to see that our efforts pleased our guests and that you were blown away by the beauty nature has to offer. Thank you for writing about your great camping stay, and please do visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

There are about 7 - 8 bungalows in Eagle's Nest. Ours - The Wall - was kind of a semidetached bungalow with 2 others close by. The other bungalows are some 200 m and more away.
This really gives you the feeling that you are alone in the world. Fantastic - especially with unbelievable sun-rises and sun-sets. The sun really disappears in front of you, next to some mountains.
The bungalow is built of stones and also has part of a rock as one wall. These stones keep the heat very well - is was a cosy night with some 15 degrees centigrade. Solar energy is used as power source.
When you come in the table is already set - plates, cutlery, glasses and napkins. There are some bottles of wine available.
There is one big room (bedroom, dining table, fireplace, kitchen) with a separated bathroom and shower.
At the check-in at the main house (Desert Horse Inn) you can get a braii-package and a breakfast-basket. There is plenty of food - including nice steaks (beef, oryx) and having a barbecue there in the wilderness is a special experience.
During our stay we were adopted as step-parents by a charming cat - he appeared as soon as we got out of the car and kept us company until we left. Of course we could not let him starve.
So - traveller, if you go to Namibia, don't miss this experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for writing about your very relaxing and amazing experience you had while staying with us and we are thrilled to know the beauty of nature touched your heart. We have forwarded your very warm review to the lodge manager and we are sure he will give your love to the charming cat as well. Thank you for such a great recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews