We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very cold”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Single rooms are very basic and cold. Cold water bottle no heat. Dinner not too bad.The couple got better rooms but all but one had no heat. It snowed the next week. The ribs were good but the rest forgettable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhoundMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    271
    65
    11
    2
See reviews for
181
367
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August 2012. We had a double house together with our friends. De living room was big and very nice including fire place. The first evening we ordered a "braai" package. The meat was very good and also the salade etc. I still can't believe the view that we had from our bed(room). This was amazing! If I ever have the chance I'll go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiel1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Desert Horse Inn – AUS (Part of the Godwana collection) 01.07.2012
From Canon Roadhouse , Easy 270km drive on C37 (gravel) and then B4 (tar road). Popped into the village of AUS before turning into Desert Horse. Aus consisted of a petrol station (with queues) , Café, 2 Bars, a Hotel , catholic church , school , a few houses and a really large interesting looking INFO centre that should have been open (according to hours on sign) but was not.
Desert Horse Inn part of a group of accommodation at Klein Aus Vista, Desert Horse Lodge is below in the valley and Eagles Nest/View on the cliff top set in the rocks.
Desert Horse Accommodation consisted of room, bathroom on suite with shower only , twin beds , little lounge area with fridge (empty to stock with your own goods) and a patio/stoep overlooking the cliffs to the right and the ‘Vista’ of thorn trees and scrub before us in a dry river bed – really beautiful sunset from patio.
The towels and linen were of a good quality – beds and pillows comfortable – shower adequate and hot.
As we had made good time so we had arrived early and we went off to see the Horses at 3pm
There is no cost to see this awesome spectacle – you just drive there park and stay – about 20km on the road to Luderitz (B4) you will see the sign for the Horses – turn off on the left- hand-side , drive a small way and you will see the view box and the horses.
The Horses- there were so many standing around the viewing point and at the waterhole . We spent 3 hours sitting and photographing them – it was one of the most surreal and incredible experiences I have ever experienced. Males horses fighting, biting at each other , kicking, being vocal, and vying for their Mares attention. Dust everywhere with all their actions. Mares with the most beautiful soft nosed foals, about 200 odd horses – broken up into specific herds of dominant males with their mares and foals and of course all the bachelors. They seemed to have a status routine where the stronger herd at the waterhole first (the others all hanging back and waiting their turn). There was a definite ‘pecking order’ and it was humbling to see these beautiful animals so adapted, so healthy, flourishing and beautiful in their stark desert environment. If you love animals don’t miss this experience.

Dinner at Desert Horse Inn – was served at 7 – as we do not eat legumes and as Lentil soup was served we were offered Prawns as an alternative – they were delicious. Dinner main course was a hot buffet with chicken and steak stir-fry, assorted accompany and a desert. The food was simple, good, filling and very tasty. Breakfast the next morning was self-services with usual selection of cereals, fruit (not much fresh fruit) yogurt, bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs on hot plate. We had opted for dinner, bed and breakfast and the accommodation and food were definitely value for money
Check out (as with checking in) was efficient and smooth.
Desert Horse Inn was the perfect stop for viewing the horses and lived up to its name as it resembled a Desert (Wild West) establishment and of course the all those horses.

Room Tip: Rooms at end of property furthest from Reception area are quiet with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in the Eagle Nest in July 2012. The chalet looks great and is situated 15min drive from the reception- only 4 wheels drive accessible!!! The Eagles Nest chalet are wonderfull but the isolation is rather low so the cold wind was blowing us up even in the house! And with 2degrees celcius at night it was just not done! We were frozen! Staff is not sp helpfull and the quality of the food served at the restaurant is quite poor! Drive 5 more minutes to Aus and enjoy friendly staff and much better food at the Bahnhoff restaurant!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed in the Eagles View chalet, simply the best chalet there is! The view is really superbe. The drive from the chalet to the main building added to the sense of adventure. The fields of beautiful green grass waved in the wind while we drove to have a good dinner in the main building. The special visit from the wild horses to our chalet was also something very special. A true sense of nature! If you have the chance to go to klein Aus Vista, then spoil yourself with the Eagles view chalet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee77188616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is probably the nicest place my tour group stayed during our trip. The rooms that others got were beautiful! However, since they were overbooked my room was below where the family lived up the hill. It was uncomfortable, loud, worn out, and full of bugs. I was really upset and couldn't wait to move on! The location of the Inn is beautiful and we took advantage of all the area had to offer.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Where_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We arrived expecting to stay in the main chalets. Reception informed us that one of the Eagle Nest's chalets were available for our stay, and at this notice we could have a discounted rate. We took up the opportunity and so glad we did, and ended up staying in the "Boulder" cabin at Eagle Nest. The cottage has been built round a boulder and had an uninterrupted view across the open plain which was breathtaking.

If you don't like isolation, and do not want to drive back along a narrow track in the dark back to your room then avoid staying here. If you don't mind then this place is beautiful and worth the extra money - for us this was no big deal, but be aware you will have no phone signal or tv, just stunning silence except for the sounds of the wildlife. We still had breakfast in the main hotel everyday, and just made it part of our journey out of the accommodation each morning so was no hassle.

One of my favourite memories is cooking our braai BBQ pack (which had huge amounts of food) on the veranda and enjoying the sun set on a beautiful open plain and the sounds of the local birds. A place to sit enjoy and chill out with a book, very romantic.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25to30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
215.4 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
313 reviews
2.6 mi away
Klein Aus Vista - Eagle's Nest Chalets
176.7 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#5 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bahnhof Hotel Aus
175.4 mi away
Capricorn Rest Camp
Capricorn Rest Camp
#12 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
70 reviews
138.8 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse Inn

Property: Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse Inn
Address: Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Klein-Aus Vista - Desert Horse Inn: Located in the Aus Mountains at 1,400 metres above sea level, Desert Horse Inn affords grand vistas of mountain scenery and sweeping desert plains. It consists of 24 spacious and tastefully decorated en suite rooms. Relax with sundowners on the wooden deck before enjoying a 3-course meal in the restaurant. Exchange travel experiences and recommendations at the evocative Wild Horse Bar or at the cosy fireplace in the lounge. Klein-Aus Vista - Eagle's Nest Lodge: Solitude, silence, space and magnificent sunsets - these are the characteristics of the atmosphere at Eagle's Nest Chalets. A 15 minutes' drive from the reception at the Desert Horse Inn, 8 chalets are nestled against a mountain slope and afford unique views of the boundlessness of the desert. Each of the natural rock chalets sits between massive granite boulders and contains a bathroom, kitchenette, fireplace and private veranda. Meals are served at the Desert Horse Inn restaurant. Take-away breakfast or barbecue packs are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse Inn Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing