We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome sand dunes!”
Review of Sossusvlei

Sossusvlei
Book In Advance
More Info
$181.17*
and up
Kayaking and Sandwich Habour Guided Day Tour from Walvis Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This area is best known for its sand dunes, which are often considered the highest in the world.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
476 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Awesome sand dunes!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited Sossusvlei on a a day trip as part of a larger tour or southern Africa with the Drifters adventure touring company. The main attraction in the park are the huge dunes of windblown red sand. We were driven into the sand dunes in an open safari truck and climbed Dune 45 for a panoramic view over the dune filed. The climb to the top is well worth the incredible view. I got some amazing photos. We also visited the Deadvlei which is a dried up saline lake in the middle of the dunes. It is also optional to climb the dunes here. The dunes were one of the highlights of our 24 day trip!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    786
    90
    20
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon Bay; East London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A truly remarkable experience”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We set up camp in one of those rounded camps, under a large tree with a low stone border. What an awesome experience.

The dunes of the sossusvlei are quite remarkable - gigantic for starters. It's almost difficult to describe the experience in mere words. Make a point of heading for a place called dead tree, in what was an old lake, surrounded by massive dunes, one can view a forest of dead trees which are a wonderful subject for the photographers. Make sure you climb at least one dune and make the most of the early morning light.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank omegacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were assisted from the word go, since we had a flat tyre one km before the camp! Service was amazing and scenery mind blowing!
On top of this I forgot a present bought in swakkopmund and the staff of sossusvlei kept it and then POSTED it back to me! How amazing is that? Thank you all!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“the best dunes in the world.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

teenagers use the word 'awesome' to mean something a bit more exciting than ordinary...but this place really is in the true sense..in that your jaw will drop, and you will feel tiny, feel as important at a speck of dust in all this, and you will never forget the experience. if you ever feel that you are taking life by the horns, full of your own importance and that you are shaping the destiny of the world....i suggest you go to to sossusvlei to understand how little impact you, or any of us humans have on the world. this is one of the worlds oldest deserts, one of the most inhospitable places on earth, the highest, sharpest dunes, and they dont shift, unlike the sahara, which is ever drifting and changing, these have been the same for thousands of years. we all know that mountains have been here for ages, but who would think that a sand dune was ancient, and that over the centuries thousands of people have climbed and felt the same as you. but they have. and they are. it is a sobering exercise in our own unimportance. balzac said that the desert was god without man.....when you go here, you might undersand what he meant.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lushchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highlight of any trip to Namibia or Southern Africa”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited here while on a two week trip to Namibia and it was extraordinary!
We had 'photographers' in our small group and the drive from the gate was filled with
one exclamation after another. We climbed Dune 45 and got 'close' to the top.
Really loved walking the Dead Vlei ...colors are amazing.
We had a picnic lunch near the Dunes and watching the changing landscape is breathtaking.
Be sure to go early so you can see the Dunes as the sun moves and the shadows change.
For sure, bring water, a hat, lots of sunscreen and enjoy!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank iristravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sossusvlei also viewed

Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park
Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park
 
Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park
 

Been to Sossusvlei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing