We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A truen oasis at the desert, staff was friendly and worked hard despite the remoteness of this site. Food was very good and the sundowner and quadbike trip was super. The hotel is nice but definitely more actvities would make it a nicer stay for longer than a couple days.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 529 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

There are plenty of good things to say about this place but overall there was something missing. We had a great room - very large, overlooking the waterhole (even from the shower and loo), with a massive bed. The waterhole was a nice touch, which added some interest as various antelopes came and went. The dining room was quite grand and the food and service pretty good. What spoiled it was the bus load of german tourists - nothing against them but it made the place feel like a package holiday/ tour hotel, which i think is probably exactly what it caters for. Also, the pool is set in a courtyard with no view and, by the time we arrived, no sun either. Oh, and rather strangely, the curtains had been tied across some of the windows in our room so that we couldn't pull them back properly. Location-wise, it is very near to the road but this didn't disturb us; it took about 20 minutes to reach the entrance to the dunes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The lodge is not too far away from the Sossusvlei dunes.Rooms ok but nothing special.
No management present and this is what you feel.The first night there were only a few guests...the staff at the restaurant was very lazy and lacking enthusiasm.The second night a big bus arrived with many tourists and out of the blue the service was much much better.Too pricey...better places to stay near the Sossusvlei dunes.A pitty because this is a place with a lot of opportunities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterenDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We thought we would never find it.
Driving and driving.
Get there in the light it's much easier. We travelled early evening, not by plan, day light is easier.
Middle of nowhere!!!!!
Great food drink
Castle effect hotel and Desert environment.
Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dkkeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

the achitecture might not be everybody's favorite but the rooms are very generous with comfortable huge bed and in room bath. Safe, coffee maker and fridge (but no mini bar, so BYO).
there could be more light especially in the bathroom - we left early morning to go to Sossusvlei, it is only half an hour to the entrance of the national park.
the restaurant isn't exactly charming but the food was rather good. We had a package with a spa treatment which was not exactly great comparing with other spas we have been too.
they offer a 4 x 4 quad tour into the sand dunes for the sunset which is spectacular and highly recommended! Didn't have a chance to use the nice looking pool because of late arrival and early departure..the girl at reception was not real firm in her job but friendly.

Room Tip: ask for a room towards the sand dunes some of them are directed towards the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaraebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beotien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarten Z, Guest Relations Manager at Le Mirage Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny_ute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarten Z, Guest Relations Manager at Le Mirage Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
77.7 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
90 reviews
8.2 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 9 in Sesriem
837 reviews
39.6 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#5 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
576 reviews
13.6 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mirage Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mirage Resort & Spa

Address: C27, Sesriem | Namib Desert, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range: $232 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mirage Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mirage Resort & Spa is one of the most unique establishments in the Sossusvlei area. It is situated at 21 km from the Sesriem gate to Sossusvlei. This makes it one of the lodges closest to the Sossusvlei and the ideal place to stay when you want to visit the highest dunes in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Mirage Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mirage Desert Lodge And Spa
Le Mirage Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Le Mirage Desert Resort
Le Mirage Resort & Spa Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing