We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real Namibian treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capricorn Rest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
La Q, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A real Namibian treat!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stopped here on our way from Windhoek to Sossusvlei and we are sure glad we did. The room is basic and the extra blankets were appreciated on a cold fall night since there is no heat in the room. The treat part is the owner. He came from Berlin met his wife in Windhoek and started this rest camp. He is doing a great job. There are 4 self contained units on one side of his house and 4 campsites on the other side. His goal was to establish a reasonable place to stay in an area with mostly very expensive lodges. He has succeeded in achieving that goal. We called in advance and asked him to prepare dinner for us and he agreed. The self standing units are widely separated from each other with room for parking and an outside grill at each unit. Outside was a covered porch with a bench for 2. Inside were two single beds, a table with 2 chairs, a nightstand with lamp and a closet. The bathroom had a sink, a toilet and a shower. A solar unit on the roof made for very hot water and plenty of electricity for light and battery charging. Everything was spotless and the care that was put into making this place was quite evident. At dinner we learned a little about him, his mother (who was visiting from Berlin) and his son (who was visiting from Windhoek), and it made our stay here one of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karsten S, Inhaber at Capricorn Rest Camp, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
All what I can say is "great" and thanks for the compliment. We are glad you was enjoing the stay. See you till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Middle of no where but that's the awesomeness of this place. Smack in middle of nature and the owner Karsten makes it different from other places. Home made dinner and breakfast, to top it off his knowledge of surroundings and other matter makes the stay great.
And the number of stars in the sky, unbelievable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Masahiro K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ichikawa, Japan
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had stopped for a night on our way to Sossusvlei. Bungalow is very basic but covers all of your needs. Owner, Karsten is a amazing host and we enjoyed his tasty home cooked meal with his mom and his son.
You have to see to believe the number of star you can see.

I would recommend Capricorn Rest Camp to any places in area close to Sossusvlei. Here you can see who is the owner and who cares about his guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NineDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This little stop in the middle of the dessert lands of Namibia was a perfect get away for my group. We stayed in one of the guest bungalows and enjoyed a delicious home cooked meal and swapped great stories under the stars. It was Namibian hospitality at its finest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

After traveling for hours down the dirt road, all you need is a little R&R and some refreshment. With an amazing view of the stars and wonderful conversation, you can enjoy the Namibian desert in style. The owner had many wonderful tales and facts to share with us at a rustic camp that is close to the sand dunes but without the price tag. I am not a huge fan of the many insects and spiders that live in the desert but our bungalow was clean and came with a can of Raid for peace of mind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karsten S, Owner at Capricorn Rest Camp, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Lauren, Thanks a lot for the words and greetings. I hope we will have a possibility to chat again. CU Karsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This little stop is nestled in a quiet pocket of nature! We stayed in one of the small guest bungalows which was cute, very clean, and made for a great view of sunrise and sunset. Extremely comfortable, tastefully decorated, safe, and very reasonably priced. We loved sharing two meals with the owner who had countless stories to accompany his kind hospitality. Great memories were made at Capricorn Rest Camp! Couldn't be more highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karsten S, Owner at Capricorn Rest Camp, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Kate, Thanks for the nice review and please stay the next time a bit longer. It was a interesting evening with you all. Greetings Karsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Peaceful, wonderful feeling of being away from it all and all your basic needs catered for, will definitely stay there again! A kettle/refrigerator in the rooms would have been nice although our host was more than willing to supply us with extra coffee for the trip ahead. Definitely a number one rest camp in all our books!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
61.1 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
42.4 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#5 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
39.7 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#15 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.6 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 8 in Sesriem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soft Adventure Camp
Soft Adventure Camp
#11 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capricorn Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricorn Rest Camp

Property: Capricorn Rest Camp
Address: MR 47 | 21 km from Rietoog, 12 km C14, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capricorn Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capricorn Restcamp is situated next to the Naukluft Mountains making it an ideal stop-over en route from Windhoek to Sossusvlei or from the South to the coast. Just 40 km from the entrance to the Naukluft Mountain Park (D 854) the camp is a good start position or a comfortable basis for any excursion (hiking & 4x4) into this fascinating park. The four bungalows are all equipped with twin beds, own shower & toilet, warm water, terrace, fireplace (braai) and electric lights. Parking places are close to the bungalows. Free WIFI at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Capricorn Rest Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capricorn Rest Camp Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing