We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campers tolerated”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Namib-Naukluft Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Namtib Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Campers tolerated”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The lodge and campsite (we camped) are located about 12km down a single-track farm road off the main road. It's a very hard place to review, as while the campsite location is excellent, with stunning views over the veld towards the dunefield, there are several problems with this facility.

The first is that if you are heading to or from Sesriem, staying at this location forces you to take one of the worse roads in the area, which is in parts very tyre un-friendly and poorly maintained.

Secondly, campers appear to be seen as little more than a diversified revenue stream for Namtib Lodge. As a camper, you may not use the bar or restaurant, may not go on organised game drives or use any of the lodge facilities. When we arrived they took the travel agent voucher and said goodbye without even explaining where we were to go to find the campsite.

They use the term "biosphere reserve", but while this implies some sort of active scientific programme in reality it is little more than an active goat/sheep/cattle farm with some additional game. At least twice a day your campsite will be overrun with hundreds of goats or sheep as they are led to day pastures and then back in the afternoon. Since the campsite is not fenced, and they are driven right through it, this means masses of goat droppings all over, leading to an increase in biting flies and other insects.

Each campsite has its own braai area and a shady tree under which to camp. They are spacious and well-spaced and share a common toilet/shower block equipped with donkey boilers which you will need to light for warm water. Not enough wood is supplied for evening and morning, so if some campers want an evening shower, you might have trouble getting warm water in the morning unless you do as we did and used our own wood.

When we asked to see the inside of one of the lodge chalets and with great reluctance we were permitted in on the condition "that you don't touch anything". It appears that campers are an afterthought and are not made to feel particularly welcome. This was not just our own experience, but also that of some German campers who commented as much to us. Some SA campers who had booked for two nights left after the first.

If you ask the owner's permission they allow you to do your own game drives.

We cannot speak for the chalet accommodation but as far as the campsite is concerned - fine for a one-night stopover, but no more.

I would rate the campsite 4/5 and the hospitality 2/5.

Room Tip: All the campsites have fairly decent shade, but the one nearest the toilet block has many trees and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepeckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorsten T, Owner at Namtib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Peckster, thank you for your review.
Namtib is located on the D707, one of the most scenic routes in Namibia, which can be in a bad condition at times, but this can not be taken as a general rule.
We have located our campsite 3km away from the lodge on purpose, to ensure that our campers can enjoy a stay in nature undisturbed by the operations of the lodge and farmstead. On the other hand we wish that our lodge guests, having paid for the lodge facilities, which are limited to the small capacity of our lodge, can enjoy these without being overrun by campers.
It is not true that campers may not make use of these facilities, but it is always subject to space permitting, i.e. dinners, "bar", nature drive.
There's a bit ore behind the "biosphere reserve" than you imply. All our activities are adapted to be ecologically viable and this is an ongoing process, e.g. livestock numbers are adjusted to the availability of grazing and if need be completely removed to ensure that there's enough food available for our game. The current research project supported on Namtib deals with the human-wildlife conflict mainly concentrating on predators.
Thank you for pointing out the wood and sheep/goat invasion issue. We will rectify. It is just a pity you didn't mention it during your stay, since we could have rectified it right then.
Once our rooms are cleaned for the next guests, it does create additional work for our small staff contingent if we have guests walking through the rooms just having a look, since this always causes unavoidable dust tracks through the rooms, resulting in our cleaners having to re-clean the floors.
Lastly, we are just as human as our guests. This means that sometimes we have a bad day or the chemistry just isn't right. That is part of human nature and unavoidable if you personally interact. We're sorry if you only felt tolerated, that was not the intention - since campers are definitely welcome on Namtib.
Kind regards,
Thorsten Theile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    37
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
74
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We wondered if we'd ever get there (the front drive is 12km long) but it is worth the effort. The campsite has amazing views and each of the 5 pitches is very spacious - biggest b'bq area ever - you could feed an army. As with all the campsites we stayed at in Namibia the toilet block (shared) was very clean. Do watch out for scorpions around camp and I'd suggest you wear socks and shoes at night. The campsite is 2.5km from the main reception and restaurant (which you need to reserve in advance), it may seem lazy but we drove from the campsite to reception at night and we were glad we did, on a moonless night it could be easy to get lost, altho' if you intend to use your car, I'd suggest you ask first just to be polite. The main site has a lovely deck area and they have cold beer - one of our group went on the botanical walk which he enjoyed - we enjoyed the beer! Please note that Namtib did not run dune hikes/game drives when we were there, dune hikes are available via their next-door neighbour ( 25km up the road!) and you need to use your vehicle to get there. The D707 is one of the most stunningly picturesque roads I have been on and the journey took us a while as we kept stopping for photo shots!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyonTourStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Namibia is an amazing place. Namtib Desert Lodge was a truly amazing place among many wonderful places I stayed in during my three week long trip. It is a beautiful, simple, ecologically friendly place. The vast nature around it is perfect, so perfect that it seems somebody sweeps and cleans all stones, rocks and plants every day; I have never seen anything like that. There are nice hikes around, long and short. The hosts are great: very intelligent, engaging and attentive. One does not need a pool or fitness center at a place like this: just climb a few mountains, sit on top of one and enjoy the wine while looking at the stars or sunset.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szczesny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the campsite. There are only 5 pitches and so you really get the feeling of staying in the middle of nature. To complete this feeling, the campsite is located as far as 2 kilometers from the lodge/farm. The location is very beautiful and we took the opportunity to go for a few hikes.
The young hosts were very friendly, providing us with enough wood and meat for our bbq. We were interested in doing a tour, but this wasn't possible as there wasn't enough personel to arrange it. It wasn't too disappointing as we saw a lot on our walks (Klipspringers, Black Spitting Cobra, ...).
The facilities at the campsite are great. The bbq's are very handy and the ablutionblock is sufficient. If you want warm water you have to light the fire under the watertanks.
A memorable stay in Namibia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

A wonderful place to stay for one or two days while traveling through Namibia. Thorsten and his wife invite visitors at there breakfast and dinner table every day to share experiences discuss whatever comes to mind. All rooms are stand alone little cottages. Beautiful hiking around the farm. Great place to de-stress.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay in this family run lodge. Once you turn from D707 into the ranch, you feel the space....... The lodge itself is simply but comfortable, clean and everything works. The welcome is warm. We did the 3 hour +- sunset nature drive, Walter did such a great job. He drove us around, talked about the history of the farm, showed us all the special places -best place for sunset pictures...... Dinner were delicious. The family joined us for both dinner and breakfast, we talked, laughed..... We had a great time there.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We loved this place for its quiet beauty and friendly welcome. When you leave the D707 you head (for 12 k) towards the red rocks of the Tiras Mountains across a peaceful grassy plain on which springbok and oryx graze. The farm is surrounded by lovely acacia trees. Within minutes we saw a black eagle circling above. The view of the stars, with zero light pollution, was unsurpassed. You soon realise that you are in a unique ecosystem where the farm and the desert interact. We walked the well signed botanical trail (about an hour and a half) which was informative as well as staggeringly beautiful as the sun tinted the rocks and the hills a deep red. Then we had sundowners from the vantage point of the terrace built on the hill-side high enough to see right across the plain. A great place for watching the sunset.
The rooms are simple but clean and very nicely decorated. Each room is in a separate building with the bathroom out the back (solar heated water). The food is homely and very tasty. The couple who run the farm and the guest house made us feel very welcome. We were amused by the friendship between Bingo the dog and his chum Bristo (bristles) a small brown pig!
The guest house is well-situated as a stop-over between Fish River Canyon and Sossusvlei, but we would have liked to have stayed another day to enjoy this stunning place.
Note: there is no air-conditioning but we found (in October) that the night was cool enough for this not to be a problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S0crates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
173.4 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
313 reviews
15.1 mi away
Kanaan N/a’an ku se Desert Retreat
42.5 mi away
Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse Inn
Klein-Aus Vista: Desert Horse In...
#1 of 2 in Namib-Naukluft Park
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
134.7 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#5 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
523 reviews
133.1 mi away
Capricorn Rest Camp
Capricorn Rest Camp
#12 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 8 in Sesriem
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namtib Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namtib Desert Lodge

Property: Namtib Desert Lodge
Address: Namtib Biosphere Reserve | Tiras Mountains, Farm Namtib D707, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Namib-Naukluft Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Namtib Desert Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Namtib Desert Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing