We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodge, basic campsite.”
Review of Solitaire Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Solitaire Lodge
Pretoria
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice lodge, basic campsite.”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We camped here one night when visiting the Namib-Naukluft Park.
The campsite is very basic.
The lodge itself looks nice with a swimming pool.

The lady at the shop, who is responsible for the campsite was impressively unhelpful.
There were no tomatoes in the shop, but after discussing for 5 minutes, she went to the back
and returned with 2 tomatoes!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    54
    36
    11
    2
See reviews for
27
46
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silsoe UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Solitaire is an unusual - but worthwhile - place to stop. It ha a hotel, a bakery, a general store, garage and bar. Shades of 'Telegraph Road'
The Country Lodge is excellent - an oasis of calm in the surrounding desert. The staff are courteous and helpful; the rooms simple but clean and spacious. It is an excellent spot to stay in if you wish to visit Sossusvlei for the day.
Our only problem - and this is nothing to do with the hotel - was the oafish behaviour of some other guests who seemed to think that revving their quad bikes/dune buggies would somehow enhance the atmosphere. Not so - and if you read this please think of others in future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijdrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We arrived at saturday and there was a party going in in the bar. There was food there, but that was very bad and the music very loud. The room we had was not clean and in a poor condition. The second night we had food there, the prices was almost three times the day before, but the quality still very poor. The employee's that we met, except one guy, were very unhelpfull and not willing to assist us. So if you go along Solitair consider only taking the famous apple pie there and sleep at the Sossusvlei.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarmenenLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We enjoyed the quirky antiques and laid back atmosphere of this place!!! It was fun for everyone staying over to eat the proper braai buffet together outside. A interesting bakery and general dealer where you can stock up on petrol and supplies... Very friendly and helpful staff especially Petrus at the reception who assisted us with our route details and information about sossusvlei... A memorable stopover we would recommend even though it is still an hour to the naukluft gate and a very early start to sossousvlei is necessary ....

Room Tip: All roo s face the swimming pool no special rooms,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stopped there on our way to Sossusvlei, as the accommodation in Sossusvlei area was a bit too expensive for us. We still had to pay N$600 for this motel-looking lodge.
The service was quite bad. We had to search for the staff, which were taking a break in the village's cafe, just in front of the lodge (so they saw us arrive and let us wait without moving!). After having paid, we didn't see them anymore.
The rooms are quite big, with a kettle to prepare your coffee, good beds. Nothing super fancy, but all in working order, clean.
Swimming pool outside (too cold in winter too really appreciate).
And the best surprise: the restaurant. As there is no kitchen, and no other alternative in Solitaire, we were almost forced to take our dinner at the lodge's restaurant, which offered a buffet. Quite expensive N$170 per person, we were afraid of what we would find in the middle of nowhere. Well... we have been impressed with a nice variety of salads, very very good meat (try the kudu steak, prepared in front of you!), and a good dessert.
We left very early the following morning to arrive to Sossuvlei with the sun, and we took along our breakfast to take-away prepared by the lodge, which was nicely prepared, with enough food to eat until the evening!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2009

This is the only choice in town, so I was surprised to find the price was not outrageous, although not ideal. We were told we could get a 3 bedroom room, but the third bed was just a flip open couch that laid out on the floor. There is a restaurant and breakfast is included. A good option considering there is nothing else around for miles.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry1town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savona, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

I stayed at the solitaire lodge for one night, after a long drive from Swakopmund to Sossusvlei and back to Solitaire is a lovely little oasis in the desert, the general store is a lovely place that looks like a trip in the past, at time of the Voortrekkers and the Country lodg the obvious accomodation if you fancy confort instead of camping.
The swimming pool was a blessing after a hot day in the desert, the room was clean and confortable , the toilet was basic but very clean(you are in the middle of middle of nowhere!!). we had dinnere at their restaurant ad it was ok, nothing to rave about but not too bad. And you can always go to the store and get a slice of the famous apple pie.
My saty was great , i was extremely tired and felt way better after a night's rest ; good location aslo to visit the area, if i had time i would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chebruttefacce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
25.4 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
320 reviews
16.6 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#4 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
539 reviews
3.9 mi away
Solitaire Desert Farm
Solitaire Desert Farm
#1 of 4 in Solitaire
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sossusvlei
264 reviews
9.2 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#8 of 12 in Sossusvlei
173 reviews
17.6 mi away
Agama River Camp
Agama River Camp
#2 of 4 in Solitaire
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solitaire Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solitaire Lodge

Property: Solitaire Lodge
Address: Solitaire C19 & C14 Junction, Namib-Naukluft Park 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solitaire Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solitaire, Namibia is a historic settlement near the Namib-Naukluft National Park. Midway between Sossusvlei and Swakopmund, it is a popular stop for travellers to shop at the original Tsondab General Dealer, eat lunch at Cafe van der Lee, visit McGregor's Bakery for fresh apple pie and espresso, and refuel at the petrol station. Solitaire has a well-maintained private airstrip: FYSO. Please visit our web site for more details. Solitaire Lodge features 25 spacious, modern, air-conditioned rooms wrapped around a courtyard pool and desert garden. Free WIFI is available for guests. The Solitaire Activity Centre offers Scenic Sundowner Drives, Night Drives, Fat Tire Bike Rentals, guided and self-guided hiking, all on the 45,000 acre Solitaire Land Trust (SLT). The SLT protects native habitat for numerous wildlife species, and is restoring former farmland degraded by drought and over-grazing. The SLT reaches from the base of the Great African Escarpment to the Namib, widely considered to be the oldest desert on the planet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Solitaire Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solitaire Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing