We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel is quite spread out and we were a 5 minute walk to the main hotel area. The rooms were quite small but very clean and quiet. The main building had a lovely bar area with great views. The restaurant is large and a buffet Skye dinner had plenty of choice. A good place to stay in an area of few choices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfried D, General Manager at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

I am thankful for your review and feedback.Upgrade to the rooms will come soon. Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 638 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and found it to be a lovely place. The staff were friendly and attentive and the food (buffet) excellent. The breakfast choice is good, and omelettes are cooked to order. We went on the desert elephant trek which was really good and well worth doing. Whilst there is no guarantee you will find the elusive elephants, if you do (as we did) then it's an incredible experience. Our guide was Jaffat and he was excellent, very committed to tracking and finding the elephants. You might get a bit sand blasted but it's worth every minute and you are back in time to get a shower before dinner. The rooms are clean, and there is a ceiling fan as well as a free-standing one which work well. The swimming pool is had the fountain pouring into it and was a really welcome cooling dip! Reading some of the previous reviews, it seems clear to me that there has been some significant improvements made that are now working well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LN001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfried D, General Manager at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you so much for your amazing review. Our goal is to make your stay at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge an unforgettable experience, and we are pleased to receive such a positive feedback. The whole team appreciates your uplifting comments. Glad to hear that you experienced the magic of the Twyfelfontein through every aspect of your stay. Visit us again for another enchanting Namibian experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a no fuss or frills lodge with a fantastic view in a great area. The surrounding area is amazing. The pool is very welcoming after a very long hot day traveling. I love the bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonSwakopmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

After a dry, dusty ride through the desert, the lodge appears against the rock back wall, almost as a mirage. From a distance it did not look like much, but the lodge has its charm. The rooms were clean and pleasant and the view from our rooms was beautiful. I liked the privacy of the rooms as we had 3 rooms out of the 4 room clusters and enjoyed sitting outside in the evenings. It was a pleasant walk to the restaurant and pool and the more we were there, the more I enjoyed the place. The dining room and bar have nice views and pleasant to sit in. The food was very good- a good selction of game meats every night which were delicious, good breakfast as well. The managers were very friendly and were interested in keeping their guests happy. We took the afternoon safari through the desert and saw varied landscapes as well as 15 elephants! However if you have your own vehicle it is just as well to dive to any of the surrounding attractions as the rock carvings and living village have their own guides. The gift shop was very nice- we all bought something. The pool looked very inviting and was refreshing, HOWEVER, it must be cleaned. The bottom was full of algae and very, very slippery- so we only swam once. It was a pleasant 2 night stay. Overall, the staff was very friendly and helpful, but a couple of waitresses seemed not too interested in working and this brings down the service rating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfried D, General Manager at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you very much for your review!
We are aware that a lot of effort and work has to be put into the service sector and we are constantly trying to improve our service by organizing training sessions for our staff. We want to thank you for your valuable feedback concerning the bad service as this gives us the chance to improve. We invite you visit our lodge in the Future and leave with a positive service experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had rooms 1 and 2 , close to the restaurant and pool. The pool is not big and a bit slippery, but we enjoyed it very much. The restaurant is very good and they have a super breakfast. The fruits and fresh made omelets are great but ask for the pancakes ....
Staff very friendly. Small but wonderful souvenirshop (very reasonable prices) and the owner also does the stargazing. We watched Jupiter and his 4 moons.
The afternoon trip to the elephants was great ! We booked no other trips but they also go to the krater, the rhino's ...
I would go back.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, not luxury. But if you wake early, like me, you just take your morning coffee from the restaurant to your room.
The setting in and between the rocks, loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for view on the plain, not the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katleen_lybaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfried D, General Manager at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

I am pleased to know your stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed the stargazing and the Nature drive. Please visit us again for another enchanting Namibian experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We chose to stay at the Twyfelfontein Country Lodge because of the good reviews and can only confirm that they are all true. The lodge is only 3 km from the Engravings, but after these three km of gravel road you are going to enter in another world: immediately after the arrival you have an absolutely feeling of peace and tranquillity. The bungalows are clean and functional, with a beautiful view over the desert. The lounge and restaurant are wonderful as well and beside this what really makes a difference is the staff: helpful and paying attention to any single details to make the clients feel absolutely comfortable. We made the scenic drive, we saw Elephants and many antelope, but anyway the guide was excellent, explaining every single animal we saw and the sundowner was amazing with a beautiful sunset and a full moon coming up. Dinner was excellent and the extra drinks weren't expansive at all comparing with the very high level of the place. The morning we had to leave we discovered to have a flat tyre, but once again the staff were helpfully and changed for us the tyre. Just a wonderful place with and amazing staff, absolute the best you can get and wish!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dylan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfried D, General Manager at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

It sounds like you had a great time at the Twyfelfontein Country Lodge and we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and for sharing your positive experience with us. We are delighted that our staff could provide such a memorable experience for you and that you were satisfied with the service provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I enjoyed everything about this lodge, room was a bit plain but it was clean and comfortable. I really enjoyed the staff, everyone was friendly and helpfull. The restaurant and food was excellent. Overall it was n great experience and ill definately be going back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otto185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfried D, General Manager at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your preferential review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your recommendation is truly appreciated! Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damaraland
0 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
90 reviews
69.9 mi away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#6 of 15 in Damaraland
471 reviews
54.2 mi away
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
#7 of 15 in Damaraland
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Madisa Camp
Madisa Camp
#4 of 39 in Swakopmund
129 reviews
0 mi away
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
#8 of 16 in Otjiwarongo
170 reviews
55.1 mi away
Palmwag Lodge
Palmwag Lodge
#2 of 2 in Palmwag
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twyfelfontein Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Address: PO Box 6597 | Ausspannplatz, 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Damaraland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Damaraland
Price Range: $248 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Twyfelfontein Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is an activity based lodge lying in the core area of Namibia's only World Heritage Site. Only 3km's away from the largest collection of Bushman engravings in Southern Africa, we offer a unique experience in the picturesque, versatile nature of Damaraland. From tracking desert adapted elephants to exploring the geological formations of millions of years, trying to decipher the meaning of bushman folklore from their engravings and paintings, you can experience it all in this beautiful part of Namibia.With 56 rooms and one of the greatest buffets in the country, there is ample space and place to relax, let your hair down and experience this great part of the world with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Twyfelfontein Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twyfelfontein Country Hotel Damaraland
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge Namibia/Damaraland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing