We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Desert heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Desert heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

What an amazing place. When we arrived we were bowled over by the magnificent use of all the the natural features that blended perfectely with the tradtitional thatched building.
The room was lovely with a beautiful high beamed/ thatched ceiling. Everything was spotlessly clean and well organised. Shower- great, bed-very comfy.
The restaurant was amazing with super views over the rocks and desert.The food was unbelievable with such choice and quality. All the staff were fantastic and we really enjoyed their singing at dinner. We would recommend this lodge to anyone and hope to return some day.
The elephant trip was great!Saw a herd of about 20. Amazing !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carey326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfried D, General Manager at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
The entire team is grateful for your comments and already looking forward to your next visit! It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and we are thrilled to read that our services exceeded your expectations. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    196
    163
    47
    28
See reviews for
87
260
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The lodge is located at the bottom of an L shaped red rock formation, and it is nestled in the middle of some huge boulders. We had chalet #43 which was located rather far from the lodge.The room was comfortable and we slept well. Although you can unload in front of your chalet you must return your car to the parking area which is a little far from most chalets
The staff was friendly, and the dining area was designed in native style with a view of the wilderness. The buffet was well stocked and there was something to like for everyone. However, the desserts were somewhat of a let down.
The highlight of our stay was the sun downer tour for N400 pp. After much exploration, our guide manged to find a group of 18 elephants, and he followed them at a close but safe distance for at least one hour. He told us thatl one of the babies was three weeks old. I must also say that our visit to the ;local Damara Living Museum was well worth it. Our guide explained the village life, his assistants rubbed two sticks together and produced a fire in seconds, and the tribe performed ritual dances for us. All in all it was a worthwhile experience

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the plain, some rooms are in the back and have a view of the boulders...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taronger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfried D, General Manager at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for giving us positive feedback but most importantly, thank you for visiting Twyfelfontein Country Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The location is simply amazing, as the lodge is totally built on and inside a rock formation! You can touch and walk on the bare rocks where the floor is missing somewhere in the main lodge area, as well as the pool that lies just above the rocks.
The sunset from the main porch is simply stunning, and if you're lucky you'll see some elephants come to have some water in the waterhole nearby.
The only point is the simply decorated bedrooms, which style is quite different from the stylish and relaxed atmosphere you can experience in the main hall area, but never mind, the room are quite good and clean, spacious and easily reachable form the lodge. The dinner served in the upper porch offers a great variety of game, meat, vegetables and a lot more. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: Be sure to pack you own hairdryer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfried D, General Manager at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your review on our establishment. We appreciate feedback as this helps us to improve in every way. We have sent your feedback and suggestions to the lodge owners and can assure you that we will attend to the rooms soon.
We would love to welcome you back soon at our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We only relaxed and had coffee at the Lodge so can't rate it - but the service and staff were nice. The safari run for the desert elephants is fantastic - we saw a baby less than 24 hours old! You also get to see some antelope species, rock hyrax and great flora - knowledgeable and fun guides.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ripplevale_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfried D, General Manager at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for such a very positive review and recommendation. It is always a pleasure to know that a visitor has left with a piece of Twyfelfontein within their hearts. We will forward this feedback to our staff at the lodge. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you compare with other lodges in Namibia and in the Damaraland area (see my review about Camp Kipwe, which stands 12 kilometers away from TCL) you will be very disappointed.

The lodge is well situated but it's too big (around sixty rooms as the others get 10) : the consequences are that the staff is not very helpfull, not friendly in general ; the food (buffet in the evening) is quite ordinary, the eating room noisy.

The rooms are clean, big enough, not much decorated.

The positive point was the game drive : it's worth it to see elephants in the late afternoon and the guide was nice (infortunately the truck is noisy so it's a bit difficult to talk to him).

Last point : it's obviously cheaper than Camp Kipwe and Mowani, so you'll maybe have to make a choice...Beware : as the other lodges are much more little you have too book a long time in advance, otherwise you'll be obliged to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campGrenoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfried D, General Manager at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! One cannot compare Camp Kipwe and Mowani Mountain Camp with TCL. Both Kipwe and Mowani are Luxury Camping accommodation for the Up market traveller. Therefore their rates are more expensive. Twyfelfontein Country Lodge does have a Luxury sweet and is available to travellers on special request. Twyfelfontein Country Lodge offer affordable prices and value for money to all our travellers. We are constantly trying to improve our service by organizing training sessions for our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My parents and I stayed here for one night. We liked the lodge but felt that it was lacking same character that other lodges on our trip had. The food was fine, no complaints, just the rooms were on the more basic side. However, the region is very pretty but unless you are really into seeing the engravings there is no real need to stay here. I would've preferred to stay at our next lodge (Vingerklip) and then drive the 2 hours to see the engravings if I really wanted to....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickykoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent two nights there. Accommodation is alright, its not spacious but it was clean. On our first night the food was very poor but there was a noticeable improvement for our second day. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We visited the world heritage site and was surprised that the bushmans paintings were not protected. We enjoyed the evening game drive and sundowner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damaraland
48.5 mi away
Huab Lodge
Huab Lodge
#9 of 14 in Damaraland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
69.8 mi away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#5 of 14 in Damaraland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
54.1 mi away
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
#6 of 14 in Damaraland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#8 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Guest Farm
Waterberg Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Okakarara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twyfelfontein Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Property: Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Address: PO Box 6597 | Ausspannplatz, 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Damaraland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Damaraland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Twyfelfontein Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is an activity based lodge lying in the core area of Namibia's only World Heritage Site. Only 3km's away from the largest collection of Bushman engravings in Southern Africa, we offer a unique experience in the picturesque, versatile nature of Damaraland. From tracking desert adapted elephants to exploring the geological formations of millions of years, trying to decipher the meaning of bushman folklore from their engravings and paintings, you can experience it all in this beautiful part of Namibia.With 56 rooms and one of the greatest buffets in the country, there is ample space and place to relax, let your hair down and experience this great part of the world with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Twyfelfontein Country Hotel Damaraland
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge Namibia/Damaraland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing