We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This place was fntastic, interesting, beautiful and we were treatedextremely well by a professional and competent staff. We're from Vancouver Canada, where tourism abounds and this lodge was great value, service and proved to be an oasis in the desert. What a nce surprise.

Sometimes I think those who write such negative reviews should just stay home. You have to remember that this lodge is remote and yet immaculately clean, and with professionally prepared buffet meals in a beautiful setting.

Just go and you'll be well rewarded.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimbagirlVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 637 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

After a long drive we arrived at this nice architectural lodge but unfortunately the total uninterressed and demotivated staff was a big disapointment. The rooms are quite poor no special decoration. Food has been seved in a buffet form by lazy staff. We experienced unfortunately the same attitude at all NRW governemental managed hotels. Avoid them and enjoy this wonderfull country!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We chose this lodge because it is the closest to the Twyfelfontain Rock-art World Heritage Site. It is also very close to the Organpipes formation.

Meals are buffet style. Dinner included a plethora of roasted meats, plus a variety of side dishes. All were very salty -- but that is the norm in Namibia. During dinner the entire staff sometimes sings and dances. It was quite entertaining, but they don't always do this. The open-air restaurant is rather chilly in winter.

Some of the stairs within the restaurant/bar building are built to incorporate the natural rock, so footing is tricky.

There are some good rock carvings near the main building.

Rooms are like basic motel rooms, grouped with 4 rooms backing 4 other rooms. The "front" rooms have a wonderful view. I would guess that the back ones do not. We were there in winter. It got quite cold at night, but the room stayed comfortably warm.

We took a morning game drive to see the desert-adapted elephants, and got an excellent view of them. However, the driver/guide was so focused on finding the elephants, that he drove right past and ignored other wildlife. When we spotted some wildlife and asked him to stop, he did.

Room Tip: Room #1 is the closest to the restaurant/bar, but not so close that you can hear noise. It is one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

You are greeted with a wonderful refreshing drink in this harsh but beautiful landscape. The hotel is set into the side of the mountain which offers much needed shelter from the hot summer sun! Fabulous views, a welcome pool and open air bar, lounge and dinning room. Rooms do not have air conditioning but you are provided with fans. In the summer months the temperature at night does not drop below 30°C so can be difficult to sleep. Food is limited due to location but adequate. Usual game drives are offered, One fantastic feature is the rock face the surrounds the hotel, it has many rock carvings which are still in extremely good condition.

Room Tip: All rooms are of similar quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loopylouhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie W, General Manager at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. They are an encouragement to all of us here to improve our standards as much as possible. Airconditioning for the rooms is on the cards and we will hopefully have this completed by season next year. From my team and me, we hope to greet you here again soon.
Regards
Eddie Weber
General Manager
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was a welcome sight and a beautiful setting especially after a long trip on some of the worst roads we experienced in Namibia. The room was comfortable and the shower hot water proved difficult to keep under temperature control. The room was extremely hot at night, over 30, even with both fans going in mid May. The food offering was limited to buffet style only. This was suitable for mass catering of people but expensive especially if you wanted something light. Pity about the lack of evening game drive vehicles that were only able to take a touring party and no one else. The staff at the bar were very friendly and efficient but could not say the same for certain members of the restaurant staff.

Room Tip: If walking is a problem then ask for a room close to the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Great setting built against the rock face with ancient rock carvings on rocks close to hotel. Lovely pool and pleasant rooms but may be hot in summer, superb in winter. Large open air dining area and lounge. No other restaurants so food choice not great and relatively expensive, very few vegetarian options.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bohmer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

After a long drive on gravel roads we arrived at this Lodge. The welcome was warm and the location was well presented and explained. The staff was friendly and extremly helpful with a repair on our cars tail gate. We had good food and drinks in a relaxed atmosphere with reasonable prices.
Our stay was great.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the front side of the area. Then you have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferien67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damaraland
0 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
90 reviews
69.9 mi away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#6 of 15 in Damaraland
471 reviews
54.2 mi away
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
#7 of 15 in Damaraland
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Madisa Camp
Madisa Camp
#4 of 39 in Swakopmund
129 reviews
0 mi away
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
#8 of 16 in Otjiwarongo
170 reviews
55.1 mi away
Palmwag Lodge
Palmwag Lodge
#2 of 2 in Palmwag
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twyfelfontein Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Address: PO Box 6597 | Ausspannplatz, 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Damaraland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Damaraland
Price Range: $248 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Twyfelfontein Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is an activity based lodge lying in the core area of Namibia's only World Heritage Site. Only 3km's away from the largest collection of Bushman engravings in Southern Africa, we offer a unique experience in the picturesque, versatile nature of Damaraland. From tracking desert adapted elephants to exploring the geological formations of millions of years, trying to decipher the meaning of bushman folklore from their engravings and paintings, you can experience it all in this beautiful part of Namibia.With 56 rooms and one of the greatest buffets in the country, there is ample space and place to relax, let your hair down and experience this great part of the world with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Twyfelfontein Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twyfelfontein Country Hotel Damaraland
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge Namibia/Damaraland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing