We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Great setting built against the rock face with ancient rock carvings on rocks close to hotel. Lovely pool and pleasant rooms but may be hot in summer, superb in winter. Large open air dining area and lounge. No other restaurants so food choice not great and relatively expensive, very few vegetarian options.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bohmer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
There are newer reviews for Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 602 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

After a long drive on gravel roads we arrived at this Lodge. The welcome was warm and the location was well presented and explained. The staff was friendly and extremly helpful with a repair on our cars tail gate. We had good food and drinks in a relaxed atmosphere with reasonable prices.
Our stay was great.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the front side of the area. Then you have a great view!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferien67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

so so...beautiful looking from outside, not so much from inside. Rooms are basic but the biggest issue is that it is like a sauna inside. Does not cool down in the night, makes it difficult to sleep. All rooms are twin beds, not so nice for a couple. Some of the staff friendly and others act like they hate their jobs. Very dark at night, a flashlight is recommended. Dinner is not included in the price but there is nowhere else to eat so you have no choice but to eat in their restaurant for EUR 22 p.p. Although it is buffet style, the quality you get does not justify this price. Breakfast has good choices and like the dinner, the quality is poor. The food is not fresh, we got bread rolls which could easily been a few days old. So hard that we could not eat it. We stayed here because of the close location to the carvings but would not return.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moon&Roon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

good location to visit the rock art and the organ pipes, also a lovely sundowner drive to see the willdlife. there are also plenty of ground squirrels and dhasis running around the place as well as lizards and birds. the rooms were clean and comfortable and the food was good, as we had to leave early to visit the himbas the manager made special arrangements so that we could get tea or coffee very early in the morning, we had a very enjoyable 2 days

Room Tip: try to get a room near restaurant
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We have had a lovely experience at the Twyfelfontein Country Lodge we stayed two nights 1st to 3rd April the location is fabulous. We had a long self drive from Windhoek to get there. It was well worth it. The staff were very friendly the self service food was great and the staff singing after dinner was a lovely touch. A very restful few day really enjoyed the "Stargazing trip" and the game sundoner drive as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in early March. It was very hot when we arrived and the area looked very dry. The lodge was well camouflaged with the surroundings but the location looked stark because of the lack of greenery. Parking was not close to the lodge but we could drive close for unloading. The reception was welcoming. A briefing was given over a cool welcoming drink in the bar.( Nice after 300 Kms on rough gravel) Then off to the room which was large and well presented. No aircon but fans were provided. And insect sprays to ward off the unwelcome guests as there was no mosquito net. Our room was two minutes from the restaurant and bar.

The (first floor) bar had a great view of the desert and had comfortable seating. The adjacent restaurant had a good selection of food, served buffet style. Sandwiches were available at lunchtime at a reasonable 25$NAB. The best thing was that it was fully screened and so free from insects. The restaurant staff provided entertainment (local songs) after the evening meal.

We enjoyed the swimming pool (towels provided) for cooling off. And were entertained by the dessai rats and lizards on the lawns. Some rock carvings were just outside the reception. As an good value optional activity we spent an hour with the very knowledgeable astronomer taking in great views of Jupiter (saw 4 moons), Saturn and Mars as well as our moon.

The staff was great. A couple of minor maintenance issues were attended to immediately.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the desert have stunning views and are probably cooler in the evenings. Rooms at...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bracknellwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie W, General Manager at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

In the name of all my staff, we thank you for your positive comments on our lodge. We take the opinion of our guests very seriously and receiving praise is a great indicator that we are on the right track to offer a great service and a unique experience. We do hope to see you again soon. Kind regards
Edgar Weber
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We like to thank you Eddie and your great team, to experience an amazing hospitality and service from your lodge.

We had a great time with the 26 pax from Wirz Travel in Switzerland. The guests were all very happy the food, the service and specially the singing in the evening was a highlight.

We will be returning soon to your lodge, thanks also for letting us visit the Damara Cultural Villiage, or living Museum as they call it. It is a must to all visitor of Twyfelfontein.

An absolute highlight and very imformative.

Thank you very much,
Keep you the good work

Ralf Doepke and JP Wirz

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RalfDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damaraland
69.8 mi away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#5 of 15 in Damaraland
448 reviews
48.6 mi away
Huab Lodge
Huab Lodge
#8 of 15 in Damaraland
239 reviews
61.9 mi away
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
#7 of 15 in Damaraland
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Madisa Camp
Madisa Camp
#4 of 38 in Swakopmund
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
#8 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twyfelfontein Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Address: PO Box 6597 | Ausspannplatz, 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Damaraland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Damaraland
Price Range: $244 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Twyfelfontein Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is an activity based lodge lying in the core area of Namibia's only World Heritage Site. Only 3km's away from the largest collection of Bushman engravings in Southern Africa, we offer a unique experience in the picturesque, versatile nature of Damaraland. From tracking desert adapted elephants to exploring the geological formations of millions of years, trying to decipher the meaning of bushman folklore from their engravings and paintings, you can experience it all in this beautiful part of Namibia.With 56 rooms and one of the greatest buffets in the country, there is ample space and place to relax, let your hair down and experience this great part of the world with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Twyfelfontein Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twyfelfontein Country Hotel Damaraland
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge Namibia/Damaraland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing