We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm staff, great views, comfortable chalets”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damaraland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

It was by coincidence that we ended up staying at Doro Nawas for one evening, but we are so happy that we did. As others have pointed out, the main lodge building is frighteningly ugly upon first sight, but the feeling changes immediately once you walk inside. The individual chalets were well-appointed and comfortable, and the view from the chalet was wonderful. Staff, from the manager to the restaurant staff and our guide, was extremely warm and welcoming.

Food was fine, if not particularly memorable. While certain aspects may not have been as efficient or polished as some other lodges, the kindness of the staff more than made up for it. While Internet was available in the lobby via an on-site computer, given the price point of the lodge, it wouldn't hurt to acquire a newer model. We found this Wilderness Explorer-level camp much better on many fronts than a Premium-level camp we stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiaotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear jiaotze,

Thank you for your feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your unplanned stay at Doro Nawas Camp.
We have also taken on board the not so positive comments and sent these through to the necessary people who will address accordingly with the relevant parties.

We hope to see you back again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Doro Nawas Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 280 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

On first sight we were shocked. Rather an ugly main building; rooms without a/c, minibars; and a pool under renovation which Wilderness hadn't bothered to tell us about. However we were bowled over by the wonderful and helpful staff; the food was excellent compared to Little Ongava Premier Camp and the excellently maintained rooms were simple but comfortable with outstanding views. Finally our guide was very good indeed and really cared about his job. We arrived with a puncture and Johan went beyond the call of duty and handled the complicated delivery of the new tyre and drove 70 kilometres to get it fixed. This is amazing service. The lesson for us was despite paying far less than a Wilderness Premier Camp with great staff and a talented chef you can have a far better experience. Sorry for perhaps stating the blindingly obvious!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank tim503s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear tim6789,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We do apologise that nobody had communicated that the pool was out of action, this was a definitely a case of the ball sadly being dropped.

We are happy to see that the rest of your experience with us went above expectations in terms of your accommodations, your guide and finally Johan who assisted with the delivery of the new tyre for you.

Kind regards,
The Doro Nawas Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Doro Nawas Camp. The camp and location are superb. The rooms are well designed. The food is good. Unfortunately the service is poor. The pool was dirty and unusable. This place could be great if better managed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear new_world_travellers,

We welcome all feedback as it allows us to share the praise with the relevant parties as well as take corrective action where and if needed.

We would like to assure you that your comments regarding the poor service have been sent onto our Guest Experience Manager to take up with the camp staff at there next training session. Along with this the Maintenance Team were addressed about the maintenance of the pool going forward and hopefully this will ensure that we do not have further issues in this regard.

Once again thank you.
Kind regards,
The Doro Nawas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Very impressed with the service received and the accomodations, especially in a fairly barren area in Namibia. We were welcomed by the staff each afternoon after a day out exploring with a song and a dance, and a cold drink. Food and bar were good. Enjoyed my time there and had always wanted to visit Damaraland.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the main building. Try the pool, I did not have time; those that did said they e...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dionges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Diogenese1,

We were so pleased to read your feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time in this unique habitat and that your time at the lodge was just as enjoyable. We hope you may return some day and get to try out the pool.

Kind regards,
The Doro Nawas Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

First impressions are horrendous, Doro Nawas sticks out like a sore thumb and looks like Alcatraz prison. Needs to be painted a sympathetic colour. That said, we were warmly welcomed and had two nights here. Room was spacious and airy but those dark colours... yuck! All a bit depressing inside. Could be so much lighter and brighter. Nice staff and good food. We enjoyed seeing the desert elephants with our lovely guide David who was excellent. The building just really jars I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kategc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Kategc,

Your comments regarding the main building are much appreciated. We have passed these onto the Operations Team to see how these can perhaps be improved upon. We are so happy that you had a good experience in terms of the staff and food in camp, and that you got to see the majestic Desert Adapted Elephants with David.

Kind regards,
The Doro Nawas Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent two nights at Doro Nawas. As became typical on our Namibian trip, we were greeted by friendly staff with refreshments upon exiting our jeeps and arriving at the hotel. The location of the camp is amazing with lovely desert views. The rooms were the most spacious that we encountered in Namibia. It was great to spread out! The only critique that I had is that the hot water did not work for some reason in our room. I ended up having to take a cold shower and didn't report it, since we were only staying for two nights and it was hot. We were able to explore the Aba Huab River Valley the day after our arrival, and view desert-adapted elephants, including an infant and a baby. That was a real treat! The food was fine. We were again serenaded by staff after dinner, with amazing voices! They had apparently won a contest for the best lodge choir in Namibia and had performed in Switzerland. We were not surprised as they sung beautifully.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartaH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear MartaH69,

We were so glad to read your feedback and to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us. We must apologise for the cold shower, a most unfortunate occurrence. Seeing Desert adapted elephants is always a special sighting especially when it includes seeing the young ones. We are very proud of our Doro Nawas choir and we thank you for your kind words.

Kind regards,
The Doro Nawas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent a night, and what an experience, everything was superb. Initially when approaching I thought we approaching some kind of prison purched on the hill, however when entering tasteful decor and very comfortable accommodation. Special thanks to Johan who went the extra mile in assisting with our flat tyres!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Janet_C_11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Janet C,

After reading your review the old adage of "Don't judge a book by its cover" comes to mind and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that we could be of assistance with your flat tyres.

Kind regards,
The Doro Nawas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damaraland
73.2 mi away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#5 of 15 in Damaraland
448 reviews
44.4 mi away
Huab Lodge
Huab Lodge
#8 of 15 in Damaraland
239 reviews
52.5 mi away
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
#7 of 15 in Damaraland
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Madisa Camp
Madisa Camp
#4 of 38 in Swakopmund
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okahirongo River Camp
Okahirongo River Camp
#9 of 11 in Kaokoland
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp

Address: Doro Nawas Conservancy, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Damaraland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Damaraland
Price Range: $634 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vast dramatic valley of the aba-Huab River, the cool interiors of Doro Nawas take in the spectacular views from its position atop a small hillock. The World Heritage Site of Twyfelfontein (locally known as /Ui-//aes) is the highlight of a visit here, where thousands of 2 000-year-old engravings cover the rocks, inviting reflection on the lives of our ancestors. Other fascinating geological features and game drives in search of desert-adapted wildlife and into local communities complete the exploration of this rugged landscape. • 16 tents (1 family) • nature drives and walks • rock art at Twyfelfontein • Petrified Forest • Burnt Mountain and Organ Pipes • sleep out deck ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doro Nawas Camp Hotel Damaraland
Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp Namibia/Damaraland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing