We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Desert Views and Very Spacious Rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damaraland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely Desert Views and Very Spacious Rooms”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent two nights at Doro Nawas. As became typical on our Namibian trip, we were greeted by friendly staff with refreshments upon exiting our jeeps and arriving at the hotel. The location of the camp is amazing with lovely desert views. The rooms were the most spacious that we encountered in Namibia. It was great to spread out! The only critique that I had is that the hot water did not work for some reason in our room. I ended up having to take a cold shower and didn't report it, since we were only staying for two nights and it was hot. We were able to explore the Aba Huab River Valley the day after our arrival, and view desert-adapted elephants, including an infant and a baby. That was a real treat! The food was fine. We were again serenaded by staff after dinner, with amazing voices! They had apparently won a contest for the best lodge choir in Namibia and had performed in Switzerland. We were not surprised as they sung beautifully.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartaH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear MartaH69,

We were so glad to read your feedback and to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us. We must apologise for the cold shower, a most unfortunate occurrence. Seeing Desert adapted elephants is always a special sighting especially when it includes seeing the young ones. We are very proud of our Doro Nawas choir and we thank you for your kind words.

Kind regards,
The Doro Nawas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    64
    29
    9
    0
See reviews for
51
145
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent a night, and what an experience, everything was superb. Initially when approaching I thought we approaching some kind of prison purched on the hill, however when entering tasteful decor and very comfortable accommodation. Special thanks to Johan who went the extra mile in assisting with our flat tyres!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet_C_11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Janet C,

After reading your review the old adage of "Don't judge a book by its cover" comes to mind and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that we could be of assistance with your flat tyres.

Kind regards,
The Doro Nawas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Initial impression are of a dark foreboding building perched on a granite mound, but we were completely wrong. The main hotel is tastefully decorated with amazing views across a wide plain to the distant mountains. The service was excellent - we had a flat tyre and Johan could not have been more helpful getting it repaired for us. The food was very good and the children enjoyed roasting marshmellows in the out-door fire. The rooms are lovely and spacious - also with incredible views. We can recommend Dora Nawas most highly - definitely a highlight of out trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Simon A,

Thank you for your glowing review. The positioning of Doro Nawas is really special, affording one the special views which you talk about. We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,
The Doro Nawas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

It was far from perfect. I like Gootberg lodge much better. The first day/night at Doro Nawas was wonderful. We had amazing service, very friendly staff, and great food. We couldn't be happier. The second night not sure what happened to the staff. We couldn't get service if we wanted it. Maybe it was most of the staff day off. Our cabin was just below the lodge and the noise from the staff and guest would echo down into our room so it wasn't the best sleep.

We didn't take any of the tours the hotel offered. We had our own car and everything was nearby.

Room Tip: cabins far from main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmc112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you dmc112 for your review. We are delighted that, overall, you had an excellent stay at Doro Nawas.

We are, of course, very disappointed that our service delivery was not on par during the second day of your stay and this will be brought to the attention of the Camp and Area Managers. Wilderness Safaris aspires to very high standards and we do believe this is apparent in the rave reviews received, in particular for our service delivery.

Thank you very much for highlighting this to us, please be assured we shall be paying particular attention to this area of our offering going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

... I'd go there again anytime.
Accomodation is great, only sleeping under the stars can beat this. And it did, we just rolled the beds out on the terasse.
Staff were very friendly and efficient.
The guides/rangers skillfull, knowledgeable & entertaining.
Just the kitchen, they tried too hard to put things fancy on the table and failed. Had they kept it simple, they would most likely have succeeded.

Room Tip: Tents facing West, definitely have the better view (and sunset), those facing east can enjoy the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teja v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This lodge is set in a beautiful location within Damaraland, west of Khorixas. There are many things to see in the area, so our 1 night was not long enough.However, having decided to go for the desert elephants we were not disappointed. As for the lodge it appears on the horizon, a dark looking presence. The main building is at the top of the hill, and rooms are on the lower terraces. Our room, no1, was within easy reach of the main building, and although there was a incline, they had taken the trouble to put in walkable paths, my problem was that I only had open shoes, so it could be a bit sandy, as was all of Namibia, my mistake! The room was fantastic, spacious, clean, lovely bathroom and toiletries. The night we stayed, we did not feel the need to wheel the bed out onto the verandah. But the stars and night sky were lovely to look at. The food was good, and the service very good. Because of it's isolation, there are sometimes glitches with technology and services. But it is well worth a stay, and for more than 1 night.

Room Tip: We had room 1 and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moscovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great location, extreme friendly people .

After busting our tyre near the petrified forest, we arrived with a spare tyre of max60KM/h a bit late at Doro Nawas. We were greeted by MARI-NELLA, a wonderful lady who gave us a nice welcoming cocktail and showed us around. We saw extraordinary views and extreme friendly staff ! After informing about the tyre JOHAN came to the rescue to help fix our problem. We stayed in one of the cabins up front viewing the sunset.
A MUST DO is roll the bed outside onto the terrace and sleep under the stars! A wonderful experience.
Day 2 we went on Elephant safari with MWEZI (unfortunately no solution from BUDGET/SUNNY cars for our tyre yet) and saw a group of desert elephants (about 16 pieces) with 4 baby elephants. Mwezi really respects the elephants and gets you real close where possible ! I would highly recommend him as a guide !
After arriving in Doro Nawas again, we got some bad news. No tyres available.
My deepest respect and gratitude for the managers at DORO NAWAS who helped us get a new tyre to drive to Swakopmund !
Lara from WILDERNESS AIR got Magda to prep the plane (yes they have a 3 week old airstrip : DORO NAWAS INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT) and we took off on a wonderful journey to Swakopmund.

TO ALL THE STAFF OF DORO NAWAS : It's been a great pleasure to meet you guys, THANK YOU for all the help : Johan, Mari-nella, Lara, etc... I will never forget this !

Room Tip: Any room with a view on the sunset will do nicely : we had room 10 & 11 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damaraland
44.5 mi away
Huab Lodge
Huab Lodge
#8 of 14 in Damaraland
232 reviews
73.2 mi away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#4 of 14 in Damaraland
420 reviews
52.5 mi away
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
#7 of 14 in Damaraland
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Madisa Camp
Madisa Camp
#5 of 35 in Swakopmund
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okahirongo River Camp
Okahirongo River Camp
#9 of 11 in Kaokoland
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp
Address: Doro Nawas Conservancy, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Damaraland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Damaraland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vast dramatic valley of the aba-Huab River, the cool interiors of Doro Nawas take in the spectacular views from its position atop a small hillock. The World Heritage Site of Twyfelfontein (locally known as /Ui-//aes) is the highlight of a visit here, where thousands of 2 000-year-old engravings cover the rocks, inviting reflection on the lives of our ancestors. Other fascinating geological features and game drives in search of desert-adapted wildlife and into local communities complete the exploration of this rugged landscape. • 16 tents (1 family) • nature drives and walks • rock art at Twyfelfontein • Petrified Forest • Burnt Mountain and Organ Pipes • sleep out deck ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doro Nawas Camp Hotel Damaraland
Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp Namibia/Damaraland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing