We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great lodge stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damaraland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed here as part of a tour group of 11. Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days. Great staff, good food. Especially enjoyed the staff's impromptu concert after dinner and rolling our beds out on the deck to sleep under the amazing starry sky. The complimentary laundry service even managed to get a large grease stain out of my husband's pants and returned them promptly in perfect condition. Two sinks in our cabin was a nice bonus. One staff member is a serious bird bander and gave us an interesting talk on his activities as well as inviting us to join him when he banded some fledglings.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nice2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 285 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

We just came back from Namibia and we liked this camp a lot. After a very long drive from Windhoek (9 hours with only 1.5 hours break) we arrived quite late and the staff was very welcoming and helpful. They just focused on letting us and helping us settled without any rush. They even parked our car and made sure we had our luggage ASAP in our room so we could refresh, relax and eat (thanks Theodore! and the rest).

A major highlight of our stay was our guide Michael. He made the stay better by far. He is extremely professional, enthusiastic but yet calm, and above all really knows the area and the habitat. We felt at ease with him and found every single bit interesting. The landscape is beautiful but you need a good guide to help you enjoy it fully. This is not a place with loads of wildlife but yet Michael showed us all there was possible to see (desert adapted elephants, Little Oscar group, antelopes and ostrich) and also explained about the environment and the other "attractions" twyfelfontein and the organ pipes. We appreciated that Michael took the time to come and meet us the night we arrived along with Theodore and explained everything about the lodge and what to expect in the drives. We just felt very relaxed and welcomed here.

The only downside of the lodge is the food. It can definitely be improved (big marks for the oryx steak though) and although the waiting staff is friendly they can be more attentive. The quality of the food was in general poor.

All in all we recommend it and big thanks to Michael and Theodore!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmoraleslourido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Damaraland is one of my favourite places in namibia, It is stunning, and the setting and location of Doro !Nawas is fantastic. Great views.

The outside of the lodge is also very attractive, until you get to the dining area, which has tacky furniture and a soup kitchen-esque atmosphere.

The dinner was ok, the starter and dessert which were served were fine, but the buffet was a bit sparse. Only beef was served, no game, as well as sausage and fish. The only vegetables were squash and potatoes.

The staff were great and very friendly, but hard to communicate with, and we had trouble checking in.

Overall it was a lovely place, and I only had two real problems. One was that we were warned to keep our rooms locked, but when we returned from dinner they had been into our room. They placed hot water bottles which is nice, but I did not like the invasion. We had no warning they were coming, and we had expensive equipment in our room and I was not comfortable with them just entering.

The other problem also stems from privacy. In the morning when I woke up there were men walking through the bush in front of the room, and since I sleep nude I did not like having to close the curtains on the stunning view because of privacy.

A lovely place, but I would suggest leaving your belongings in the safe or car.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibertyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

The location is of course stunning. Our initial impressions were that of very pleasant managment staff.
We were only booked in for one night. However, we arrived in time to be taken out for sundowner and trip to Twyfelfontaine. The guide was lovely but the cost of the trip was exorbitant. The rooms were superfically very beautiful. I dont think all that stone is particulary eco friendly.
My main dissappointment was the dining experience. There was very little atmosphere created in the communal areas. The half buffet half served meal was bland and the portions were small. The insects in the dining rooom were very off putting, I know that this is namibia and creepy crawlies were part of the course but the communal eating area was literally infested. The waiting staff were at best obsequious and at worst really inattentive.
Things were a little better at breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank two_boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Damaraland are worth visiting if you are staying in Namibia for at least 2 weeks. If you do and you like desert landscapes, stay at Doro Nawas'.

The rooms are very nice and really blending with the atmosphere and scenery.

At Doro Nawas you get all the services, whilst feeling in contact with the desert.

Our guide was superb: being in the rainy season, the desert elephants migrated North, he drove for 6.5 hours for finding them. The drive was outstanding and fun!

The food was good too.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makjla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Wonderful rooms, with huge bedroom and bathroom under a thatched roof and canvas walls. You could lie in bed and look at the wonderful view or go the whole hog and roll the beds out under the stars - bliss. The main building looks as if has come from the Star Wars set, but the interior is very African. We reveived a warm welcome and really liked this palce. The staff - all local- were very jolly and tried hard to please. Food was quite good and the enthusiasm of the after dinner dancing was wonderful. Our only complaint would have been the cost of safaris to see the desert adapted elephants which at well over £100 each was exorbitant. We had decided that we would not do this safari as we don't like being "ripped off". However the MD of the Namibian branch of the owning company was there during our stay and asked for our comments. He was already aware of adverse comments on the internet, and from Expert Africa, about the cost of safaris and had already arranged for these to be reduced by 25% for 2011. We were given a free safari so were clearly very pleased. So those travelling in 2011 can look forward to a cheaper safari the sundowner drinks and nibbles were very good!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muscadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Arrived after a long and tiring journey from Swakopmund. Initially its a bit disconcerting as the main building on the top of the hill looks like something from a paintball camp !

However once inside we were warmly greeted by the manager and shown around a quite amazing place. The verandah enveloped one side of the hillside and the views were incredible (as was the strong wind !!!). Down some steep wooden steps was a lap pool again with amazing views. Only 4 loungers so get there quick. Pool is unheated so yes it was COLD. I like to think refreshing.

The room was enourmous a tent on top of a large concrete block effectively but decorated fabulously. Again no air con only a cieling fan but strangely it seemed really cool. To the back of the tent was a his n hers sink, toilet and shower and an outside shower (there are no predators so if you don't mind the blustery conditions its quite good). Then to the front there was a set of doors which opened out fully on to a verandha. This is where the fun starts as the bed(s) are on wheels and so you can wheel yourself out and sleep OUTSIDE !!!! Sadly it was a bit cool on our trip but an hour under the stars was magical. We sat and watched an African sunset with a few sundowners - magical.

Food was good although I think the game pate was a bit much for some of the guests ! In the evenings there is an upper floor to the main building where you can watch the stars with a guide. Breakfast was excellent.

Game drives could be arranged but sadly we were too late to sample any so we missed the famous desert elephants. The photo books in reception were interesting to see what was on offer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingercat_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damaraland
73.2 mi away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#5 of 15 in Damaraland
454 reviews
44.4 mi away
Huab Lodge
Huab Lodge
#8 of 15 in Damaraland
241 reviews
52.5 mi away
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
#7 of 15 in Damaraland
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Madisa Camp
Madisa Camp
#4 of 38 in Swakopmund
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okahirongo River Camp
Okahirongo River Camp
#9 of 11 in Kaokoland
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
#8 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp

Address: Doro Nawas Conservancy, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Damaraland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Damaraland
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vast dramatic valley of the aba-Huab River, the cool interiors of Doro Nawas take in the spectacular views from its position atop a small hillock. The World Heritage Site of Twyfelfontein (locally known as /Ui-//aes) is the highlight of a visit here, where thousands of 2 000-year-old engravings cover the rocks, inviting reflection on the lives of our ancestors. Other fascinating geological features and game drives in search of desert-adapted wildlife and into local communities complete the exploration of this rugged landscape. • 16 tents (1 family) • nature drives and walks • rock art at Twyfelfontein • Petrified Forest • Burnt Mountain and Organ Pipes • sleep out deck ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doro Nawas Camp Hotel Damaraland
Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp Namibia/Damaraland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing