We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damaraland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mowani Mountain Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel itself was stunning. Great views, great rooms, great pool and great sunset views, My wife loved the outdoor shower.

The service in the restaurant was below par. Seven of us ordered lunch our first day and only 4 of the 7 orders were correct when served. I was offered a salad as a replacement for my original chicken kabab order; I politely refused. During two other meals, service was very slow; food quality was just ok. During breakfast, you had to constantly remind the waiters to get coffee.

There was a tea and coffee service station in the lobby area. On two visits at different times, there was no hot water.

The sunset was spectacular from the observation area in the boulders.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraudsnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    107
    35
    20
    3
See reviews for
107
398
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

During the planning of our Kaokoland/Damaraland Trip I came across Mowani Mountain Camp and although I was a bit switched off by the comments from Management that "the Lodge facilities are ot open to campers", I've decided this Camp is a MUST on our list. And what a lovely place! Now I understand why campers cannot visit Lodge facilities: the Campsite is quite a distance from the main lodge. And the whole area is unique - you don't need the main Lodge to experience paradise! We had campsite number one (there are 7 sites). 150 Namibian dollars (about 12 Euros) per person for camping (no electricity at the camp sites). Very spacious campsites and one can walk long distances in the red sandy roads or climbing on the granite red rock hills to enjoy perfect sunsets.Thee red hills all over the area, get lid up piece by piece with the rising sun......wow so lovely. It is so quiet and relaxing. I've red about the friendely gateman at Mowani and as we arrived, I saw him! What a joy to be welcomed by him! The swimming pool of the Lodge is incredible lovely and a stay in the main lodge must be fantastic! I can recommend a stop at Mowani to everybody who passes the area. It is about 90 km from Khorixas and a short drive from Palmwag Lodge.

Room Tip: Campsite number 1 has 2 seperate bathrooms and very private with a canopy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalyEleonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location, great service, great food, great everything !!! From the moment Frederick greeted us after our long journey with his big beaming smile, sat us down with a cool drink & introduced us to Mowani, we knew we would have a great stay - and we did. Our only regret ? We only stayed one night - we would thoroughly recommend 2 nights. Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Other reviewers have commented on the stunning location and the extremely tasteful way in which the accommodation has been blended into the hillside to give maximum privacy and views wherever practicable, all with the minimum of disturbance to the natural environment.

We stayed two nights in the mini-suite, which was very nice albeit at a significant premium over the standard rooms. Not sure why the price difference should be so great - it has a lounge area, complimentary mini-bar, outside shower and two outside seating areas, so is undoubtedly more spacious, but [as far as we could tell] the other accommodation looked almost as good, so I'd be happy settling for that, especially as some of the rooms come with a view.

The guiding was good and the 'hunt' for the desert elephants great fun, rewarded at the time of our visit by plenty of time to look at the behaviour of the [exceedingly cute] baby elephants.

The only slight disappointment was the inconsistency of the food which, like rtwtripper below, we felt fell short of the quality and variety that one would expect at this sort of establishment. The breakfast selection was limited; lunches were in the 'fast food' style, being either game or chicken burgers or game or chicken strips with salad (okay as an option but not every day); and the evening meal was a lottery which didn't always even match the menu. Starters in particular were well below par, especially as we had just come from the group's sister lodge at Onguma (The Fort) where they - and the lunches generally - were first rate.

Like many British people we kept our views to ourselves initially but, when asked by the duty ranger if we had enjoyed our evening meal, voiced our opinion in the nicest possible way. We were pleased that these thoughts were communicated back to the manager, Delano, who spoke to us next morning and was interested in what we had to say. We understand that he and his wife have only been in post for a couple of months and there are changes that they themselves wish to introduce, but that this is difficult mid-season. We therefore have high hopes that they will be allowed to make improvements to the menu ere long, because even with the constraints of weekly deliveries there is no reason why things can't improve. With better catering this lodge would easily be worth a five star rating.

PS. If you have your own transport then a visit to the Damara Peoples' Living Museum close to the nearby crossroads is recommended (but personally I'd give the Organ Pipes a miss!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_and_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantù, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Mowani means 'the place of God' and it really is! What an amazing and unbelievable experience: one of the best places with the best staff we have ever been during our trips around the world! We were easly checked in by Frederick, very professional but at the same time a really nice person to stay with. He was also our guide the day after during the thrilling game-drive to look after the Desert Elephants and in the afternoon to Twyelfontein. It is not easy to describe the Mowani Mountain Camp: until you arrive at the place you hardly can see it and even when you are there you ask yourself where the rooms are! They are amazing, hidden between the granite rocks: we had the minisuite, wonderful bed, living room with a big flat tv screen (though you hardly will have time to watch it because the scenery around the Mowani is much more better than any TV show), two small seating rooms outside and a beautiful outside bathroom (guess that in July it can become a little bit unconfortable to get a shower). The superior rooms have all a very special view on the valley below,which the standard rooms don't have. There are coffee and tea facilities in the room, the doors are not looked but there is a safe in the room. Restaurant and lounge are just amazing, there is a small pool with a view and a very special place to have unforgattable sundowner to enjoy the sunset. When we first arrived to the 'terrace' to see our first sunset at the Mowani it just took my breath away! The food is of course at a very high level and extras such as drinks or game drives aren't expensive at all comparing to the place where you are. What makes everthing even more better is the outstandig staff and service! Even if you are not used to do it, book the wake up call, it will be a really surprise! A unique place which will be never forgotten to who have the pleasure to stay there. I would reccomend to stay at least two nights to enjoy the excursion they offer and the place itself. This is the place to stay and not to be missed in Damaraland!

Room Tip: superior room are excellent and have an inside bathroom which is not bad during winter time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I loved this place. Fantastic friendly service, absolutely gorgeous rooms, and amazing location. The rooms seem to be built into and around the boulders, no clearing done for construction. Amazing scenery and landscape. Very knowledgeable guides. Great food. Rooms? Absolutely huge and stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Mowani was an anchor lodge for us for three nights during a two-week Namibia trip, with two in nights in a luxury suite and the final night in the honeymoon suite. Other reviews have recognized the stunning backdrop for the lodge, Bernice went out of her way to accomodate our young kids (aged 4 and 5), even letting them babysit for her puppy one lazy afternoon. Delano was a wonderful guide during our morning game drive, tracking the desert elephant and showing us dunes for one final slide down for the kids. This is a stunning property that deserves critical acclaim, and requires more than one or two nights to truly appreciate. .

One minor criticism would be the food - the quality and diversity of the meat dishes didn't seem to be quite as good as other places we stayed, and twice we had to send back chicken or beef as it was well cooked on the outside but completely raw on the inside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtwtripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damaraland
42.9 mi away
Huab Lodge
Huab Lodge
#9 of 14 in Damaraland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
65.4 mi away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#5 of 14 in Damaraland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
60.0 mi away
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
#7 of 14 in Damaraland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
81.5 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#8 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madisa Camp
Madisa Camp
#4 of 35 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 8 in Sesriem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowani Mountain Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowani Mountain Camp

Property: Mowani Mountain Camp
Address: D2612 | adjacent to Mowani Mountain Camp, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Damaraland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Damaraland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mowani Mountain Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 7 individual campsites nestled amongst the granite boulders at the base of the mountain. All sites have their own ablutions with showers, flush toilets and basins. An outside washing up area is also provided. Wood and ice are available for purchase from Mowani Mountain Camp subject to availability. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mowani Mountain Camp Hotel Damaraland
Mowani Mountain Camp Namibia/Damaraland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing