We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff are outstanding, the location’s breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

During the 18km drive from the main road to the camp we saw a greater variety of wildlife than in the rest of our two weeks in Namibia… mountain zebra, giraffe, black-faced ibex, springbok, kudu, oryx, ground squirrel and much more.

The morning walk is like a stroll through the bush with David Attenborough. One morning we saw a pair of leopards. Dennis Liebenberg founded and developed the Camp. He has a deep love of the area, and encyclopaedic knowledge of the 50,000 hectares under his care. He has lived here for 22 years and has trained all the staff. You could not be in better hands.

This is a desert camp in a pristine wilderness. It has solar-heated water in a bucket for a shower and beds in (comfortable) tents. The focus is on the glorious natural environment all around - the geology, flora and fauna. It’s not a super-luxury destination - no haute cuisine, no hairdryers, no frills. Internet access was not available during our stay. But despite the camp’s remoteness and harshness of the environment the quality of food and comfort they manage to provide is extraordinary.

We loved our stay here. The staff are outstanding, the location’s breathtaking. We saw more zebra, giraffe, kudu and springbok than you could imagine. We had a fascinating time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Formerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 165 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this isolated, magical place and were enchanted from the moment we arrived until the moment we left! The view from the mountain top during our sunset drive was breathtaking and our walk around 'Crystal Mountain' amazing as on top of the spectacular views and animal sightings were the beautiful rocks and crystals which competed for our attention. Dennis and Claire were wonderful hosts and the food and accommodation excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I support the previous glowing reviews of Etendeka wholeheartedly. We stayed three nights in Oct13 and had an amazing time here.

The absolutely highlight: we witnessed a herd of Elephants trying to save a Kudu that had been attacked by 6 lions. Unfortunately, the Elephants were too late to save the Kudu but we watched in stunned amazement as they charged the lions and held them in a stand off for more than 20 minutes. It was an experience we will never forget. We have added some photos but they do not do the experience justice.

Even if we had not had that up close encounter with the Lions and Elephants, we would still want to go back to Etendeka in a heartbeat. The absolute isolation and outstanding natural beauty of Etendeka is beyond compare - you have to pinch yourself to realise you are in the middle of this little piece of heaven. The camp infrastructure and facilities are perfect - you feel very close to nature but have every comfort you could need. We felt we had all the benefits of camping without any of the associated hard work. The food is basic but that said, it is deliciously so and very fitting for the experience. We had great nights sitting around the camp fire chatting with Bonnie and the other guests and we enjoyed the chit-chat enormously. It's wonderful to take the time to chat and have a laugh with fellow travellers while sharing your experiences - we met people from Germany, Australia, UK, Spain and Brazil. Bonnie (guide) is a mind of information on flora, fauna & wildlife in the area and he made our stay at Edendeka a truly memorable one.

Highly recommended - if you want to see the real heart of Namibia, don't miss a visit here.

P.S. There was work on-going on a pool when we were there - perfect end to a morning trek

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jollydays2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed in a range of accommodation during our two week visit, including places more ‘luxurious’, but this was undoubtedly our favourite. And it all came down to Dennis and Bonnie.

How can Dennis, after almost two decades of owning/managing Etendeka, be so gracious, warm and friendly, is beyond me. And Bonnie’s passion for the area, coupled with his extensive knowledge (geology; ecology; wildlife – you name it, he knows about it), made him the best guide we had. He is a real asset to Etendeka.

Visitors to Namibia should stay here for the isolation; beauty and quiet. Spotting wildlife is secondary and frankly almost a distraction from the sheer exquisiteness of the location. Food is excellent, the staff friendly, the rooms comfortable. You will find more plush accommodation plus I challenge anyone to stay in a more interesting and personal lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princess_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our absolute favourite accommodation in a three week trip consisting of eight different and varied lodges. So isolated but so communal!

Dennis (owner/manager) is a star - he gets everything absolutely right. The food is superb and served buffet style with an introduction to the courses by the magnificent local guide 'Bonny'. His local 'click' language is amazing to listen to but thankfully he translates it to English.

Bonny's knowledge of the area as a guide is priceless and his no-nonsense approach makes his trips educational, well-organised and, above all, fun. If some wildlife is to be found Bonny will find it. If it has passed through he will show you the tracks. He is a guide in a million.

The tented accommodation has effective outdoor bucket showers and from the very comfy beds lions can be heard roaring and rumbling to one another. In the morning a variety of wildlife can be seen from zebra to springbok. On the walk to breakfast their droppings indicate how close they came to the tents.

All the staff are clearly committed to the place and Dennis is ever-present, sharing meals and meeting and greeting and bidding what was a very sad and reluctant farewell.

A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reavley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

You have to park your car at Palmwag Lodge (in shade). A driver will pick you up and take you through the stunning landscape to the camp. This is like a game drive, lots of giraffes, antelopes, sometimes also elephants. The camp has well designed tents, they stay cool even in summer The beds are comfortable, light with solar panel/battery. Attached there is a bucket shower, flush toilet and basin, hot water available with a kind of solar geyser. The distance between the tents is good to keep privacy but not too far. Breakfast, lunch an dinner is served at the main building, absolutely delicious! In the evening you get a sundowner at the fireplace.
Staff very friendly and helpful. The guides well trained. The morning walk was a lesson about fauna and flora. The gamedrive in the afternoon with lions, elephants, african wildcat, jackals.
One of my favourites, my recommendation!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxWindhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great place to experience wildlife in beautiful Namibia. Perfect place for photography. The people are very passionate. I will definitely try to go back in the future. A truly wonderful place to get to know the animals in a true natural environment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foto_unlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damaraland
0 mi away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#6 of 15 in Damaraland
480 reviews
0 mi away
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
#1 of 2 in Palmwag
770 reviews
0 mi away
Huab Lodge
Huab Lodge
#2 of 11 in Kamanjab
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
#1 of 12 in Otjiwarongo
391 reviews
0 mi away
Hoada Campsite
Hoada Campsite
#1 of 11 in Kamanjab
134 reviews
0 mi away
The Stiltz
The Stiltz
#8 of 52 in Swakopmund
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etendeka Mountain Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etendeka Mountain Camp

Address: C40 towards Sesfontein, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Damaraland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Damaraland
Price Range: $504 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Etendeka Mountain Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foothills of the Grootberg massif, in stunning scenery set amidst the ancient Etendeka lava flows of northern Damaraland, you will find Etendeka Mountain Camp. Here the ancient basalt has been slowly eroded over millennia, leaving scattered boulders lying upon dramatic flat-topped mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Etendeka Mountain Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etendeka Mountain Camp Namibia/Damaraland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing