We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutly perfect place”
other travelers have booked this property
Winner Luxury Travel Guide Award 2017
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Winner Luxury Travel Guide Award 2017
Winner Luxury Travel Guide Award 2017 Winner Luxury Travel Guide Award 2017View from the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Winner Luxury Travel Guide Award 2017
Winner Luxury Travel Guide Award 2017
Winner Luxury Travel Guide Award 2017View from the house
Winner Luxury Travel Guide Award 2017
Winner Luxury Travel Guide Award 2017
Kingsize bed
Top floor
Bathroom on top floor
Our idol - made out of wood
Villa Cool Front
Living room With two single beds
Mixer
Kitchen - fully equipped
Deco on veranda
Beach Volleyball field
Sunset
Bathroom first floor
Barbecue and view
Your beach
Villa Cool and VilanCool
View from top
Art deco
Upstairs
Stairs to top floor
Villa Cool and its beach
Sunset at Margarugue (your view)
Hangmat and view on top
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Vilanculos, Inhambane Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Lilli2102
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Absolutly perfect place”
Reviewed January 10, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

From the first moment we arrived we loved the location, the little house and most importantly our hosts Nelson and Petersius. They welcomed us warmly and gave us the impression of having arrived at a good friends home. Nelson went with us to the supermarket and the local market for provisions, was never tired answering our many questions or even to spend time with our children. He showed us the local market, bought fish at his friends house (fisherman), ordered a Tuctuc when we got tired of walking, cooked Dinner or went fishing with our son (on a standuppaddle board). Petersius was as wonderful as Nelson. They both brought us to the close-by local restaurant and even picked us up, to guide us home through the village in the night. We never felt unsafe, all the people in the village or at the beach were amazingly friendly and our children played with local children at the beach. If you are looking for a local experience where you can meet rural simple friendly people, watch them repairing their wooden dhows or hear them singing and listen to music in the night and early in the morning, you are at the right place. If you want a lodge with a pool and no contact to locals, you are better off on the north beach where are many touristic lodges. We went there by Tuctuc and walked home on the beach and had a fantastic day. Highly recommended are as well dhow trips to the Islands. Amazing beautiful. Last but not least the place is well run and spotless clean. Thank you Nelson and Petersius for the most amazing holidays! We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2018
Dear Lilli2102, thank you very much for your review. We highly appreciate your feedback and we are absolutely happy that you love our place in the same way we do. We love to forwarding your comments to Nelson and Petercio - they`ll be very proud and happy about your appreciation of their service. It is always their highest target to make our guests happy. You are very welcome again at VilanCool.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeboy
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Wonderful Beachfront Villa”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent 4 enjoyable, relaxing and memorable nights here which perfectly rounded off our 3 week trip. When looking at spending time in the town of Vilanculos I was determined to go slightly off the beaten tourist path in search of a more immersive and authentic slice of East African beach life. Therefore I decided to forego the opportunity of staying at one of the more conventional resort type hotels located on North Beach and instead opted to rent Villa Cool which is a self catering beachfront property located within a local barrio on the less touristic South Beach side of town.

For my wife and I personally speaking, this in retrospect turned out to be a wonderful decision. Upon arrival we were met by the most gorgeous beachfront vista one can imagine with the shifting sands and tidal pools highlighting all the different shades and hues as the white sands intertwined with the crystal clear Indian Ocean.

This picture postcard image had a dash of colour added via the presence of the various moored local fishing dhows that were studded along the shoreline. The visual picture painted however only tells one side of the story. In reality the whole initial impression made was an overwhelming sensory overload but in the best possible way.

The sounds of kids playing, women singing, fisherman tending to their boats or hauling in their catch was only drowned out by the noise of donkeys baying, cockerels crowing and local teenagers blasting out Reggie and rap music from their improvised boom boxes. My wife and I looked aghast at each other before both breaking into toothy grins & fits of laughter… although it might not be for everyone; this was exactly what we had been hoping for.

If you can fall in love with a place at first sight then that’s what happened with us that afternoon. This glowing impression of the place was emphasized still further by our initial interaction with Nelson, the onsite manager of the property. We had been under the impression the villa was self catering. (Which to a degree it is)

However it is really more of a home that comes complete with your own personal project manager aka Nelson. He is in charge of running the adjacent kite surfing school but he made it very clear from the beginning that when guests are staying at the Villa then they are his priority above all else. He took pride in being there, holding down a responsible job within the community and excelled in facilitating the enjoyment of our stay by any means necessary

We found Nelson to be a charming, responsible, professional and personable young man who is not only a credit to himself but a valuable and important asset to the Villa Cool/VilanCool set up. During our stay he assisted us in such ways as accompanying us to the market to barter for food/drink supplies, arranged numerous taxis/tuk-tuk, dinner reservations, served us cold drinks ad hoc on the beach, gave us a SUP lesson, took us to paradise dunes for a sunset dhow cruise in celebration of our 10 year wedding anniversary… I could go on... Nothing was too much trouble for him or indeed for any of his accompanying staff members.
I mean even when I commented that my bad back was bothering me due to us having to lie out directly on the sand, he disappeared then reappeared armed with a mattress for me to lay down on. Simply put the man is a star.

The accommodation itself is also wonderful. It stands as a split level, thatched roofed, rustic but comfortable villa. The downstairs area is self contained and houses a kitchen, bathroom and sitting area opening out onto a lovely covered deck fronting the beach.

Upstairs, accessed via 2 flights of wooden stairs, lies your en suite bedroom which is spacious, airy and wonderfully romantic. I have travelled extensively over the years but I struggle to remember enjoying a better view than the one which presents to you from your bed here at Villa Cool as it looks out to the beach, to the ocean and to the distant paradise islands of the Bazaruto Archipelago.

This view only becomes more impressive if you step out of the room, onto the upper deck where you can sit in the shade and relax with a good book and cool, perfectly mixed G&T or catch an afternoon siesta by lying in the all enveloping and super comfortable hammock.

All in all we both had an absolutely wonderful time here and for any travelers who are more inclined to shun the often sterile resort hotel offerings in favour of going slightly ‘off piste’ in search of a more authentic and engaging experience; one where you can immerse yourself more fully into the local way of living and culture then I can only highly recommend this property… We’ll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassado...
1 review
“Relaxing and Beautiful”
Reviewed January 21, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a fantastic and relaxing experience at Villa Cool. The location is ideal - situated right on a beautiful beach with stunning views. The hosts and assistance were responsive and friendly - we felt at home. We were a group of 3 USA backpackers in our late 20s/early 30s.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2017
Hi guys, thanks for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you had a really great time and enjoyed your time at Villa Cool.
Cheers, Astrid
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielS12...
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise in Vilanculos”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A stunning villa right on the coast with breathtaking views of the archipelago.
After thinking we are going on a self catering holiday we were pleasantly surprised to have brilliant 24/7 service. Nelson was incredible helping us navigate around markets and shops in Vilanculos and daily finding us the freshest fish for a reasonable price.
Nelson, Antonio and Zachariah helped us to prepare and barbeque these local delicacies. Also they would cook you anything you desired along with keeping the villa clean every day.
Villa Cool has a great location as you get privacy but you are not completely secluded. That part of Vilanculos is not touristy and you get a great feel of the local lifestyle and culture.

We had a fantastic day with Edmundo on Sunset Dhow Safari. Jeff organised a trip out to see the beautiful Bazaruto Archipelago. We snorkeled amongst tropical fish in the coral reefs in the Bazuruto National Park and stopped on Bazaruto Island where Sunset Dhow safari prepared a delicious lunch of fresh seafood. I would strongly recommend this trip! This excursion cost 3500 MZN pp.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the fantastic daily service given by Nelson.
Liked least: We have nothing negative to say. It wasn't really an issue but the village could get a little rowdy at night with people playing music.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2016
Dear Daniel. It has been a great pleasure to host you in our little paradise. Many thanks for your very kind review - very much appreciated. You Team from VilanCool Water Sports
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André M
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias D
Ronneby, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zenzitrav...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2017
Liebe(r) Zenzitravel, vielen Dank für die super Bewertung und es war uns ein Vergnügen, euch bei uns zu haben. Es ist ja nun schon wieder eine Weile her und es hat sich viel bei uns getan - vielleicht habt ihr ja Lust und besucht uns mal wieder. Das Team von VilanCool Water Sports würde sich freuen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing