We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year 2013”
Review of Dugong Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dugong Beach Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The best features are the exquisite natural landscape, with the lodge location well thought out and pitched within the boundary of the mangrove environment. The staff are lovely, extremely friendly and always helpful. A highlight is the food, not lots of choice but simply and magnificently presented and prepared. The buildings and infrastructure of the lodge are within a year or so of needing refurbishment, however rooms are very comfortable and more than acceptable -(systematic use of insect repellant is a must really and should be expected for this type of environment). The "wet transfer" was fun.....rolled up trousers and shoes off, to paddle and climb into the small launch ferrying you to and from the resort. Some disappointment with the lack of information about trips available, meal times etc. However, for those with an assertive streak, not really a problem. Flamingos and dolphins are never far away with mornings and evenings being the bests times for sightings. The generator was a problem during our stay and one night free of air con was not good. Overall, a very special experience where tourist development is not quite completed. Long may it stay that way.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Michelle Bouic - Client Liaison & Branding Executive - Legend Lodges, Hotels & Resorts at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Gillian F

Thank you for taking the time to review Dugong. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay and that found it to be Legendary. We apologise for the lack of information regarding the tours and that you had an aircon problem. It is however heartening to see that these small issues did not dampen your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dugong Beach Lodge in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 71 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Mozambique is a lovely destination for a holiday and the people of Mozambique are very friendly and nice. But don,t be fooled by website pictures or by travel agent recommendations when choosing a location. I chose Dugong Lodge based on travel agent recommendations and website pictures. It was a big mistake. They did not tell me: (a) there is hardly any beech at the lodge (b) electricity would be purposely disconnected at night (c) the roof in my toilet would constantly leaking , (e) the accommodation I was promised never materialized, and (f) there would only be one other Chalet occupied. The staff, who were very helpful, were much more than the guests. The Lodge is located literally in the middle of no where. The only way to get somewhere with other holidaymakers is a one hour boat ride from the Dugong Lodge.

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank sabry_heakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Senior Marketing Assistant, OBO General Manager at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Sabry


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your complaint was dealt with, as far as we were concerned, directly with your travel agent to your satisfaction and refunds were affected. A copy of the apology letter sent to your travel agent is available should you require it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent five days in this place of paradise. But its not only the location, but the excellence all round - from the staff (Brian, Ernesto), the absolutely incredible food (Alex), beautiful rooms, and activities: Snorkelling, Sailing to Hoby, Boat rides, Safari, and the unbelievable view at "Worlds View".

Room Tip: Ask for a room with its own pool if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you ever want to experience 5 star food, 5 star accommodation, 5 star snorkelling, 5 star luxury, 5 star hospitality look no further!!! Dugong Beack Lodge is exactly that! The scenery is so amazing we could not stop taking photos!!
The staff went out of their way to make it perfect!! They are superb!
We loved the rooms with it's own private deck overlooking the sea!
This is a destination you will never forget!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Senior Marketing Assistant OBO General Manager Dugong Beach Lodge at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Dugong Beach Lodge, we do appreciate it and are very glad to hear that our team’s efforts are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

From the time we were picked up from the small airport at Vilanculos till the time we were returned to it we were pampered and spoiled.
The rooms are arranged along a pristine beach reached by raised walkways, the bathrooms are huge with a free standing bath, his and her wash-basins and indoor and outdoor showers. A lovely bedroom with ample space for table and chairs, outside a shaded veranda with loungers and closer to the sea a lean- to with two more loungers in the shade.
The food was of the highest possible quality, the meals are eaten on the decking outside the main lounge. Breakfasts have everything possible and all items freshly prepared and brought to the table. We do not each lunch but were assured by other guests that again there was great variety and quality. The dinners were some of the best I have eaten on holiday, each night there was a choice of sea food or meat prepared to your taste and served at table.
We seldom re-visit a destination but have already looked at incorperating Dugong as an extension to next years trip to Zambia.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a plunge pool but those that have do not have what we prefered namely a shady,thatch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Senior Matketing Assistant OBO General Manager at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you very much for your review of Dugong Beach Lodge. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the food in particular, and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 days in this paradise. Bruised and tired from safari we were greeted at the airport and driven to Vilanculos harbor where a boat awaited us to take us to the lodge. We had visited the web site for the Dugong Lodge and were duly impressed, but nothing could have prepared us for the beauty of the location and the lodge. The staff were nothing short of excellent, attending to our every need ensuring that our time at the lodge would be a truly memorable experience, and it was. The food was spectacular and I'm not easily pleased! The lodge and beach house accommodations were luxurious and meticulously clean. The location is best described as a island paradise, although it's on a peninsular, that rapidly erodes ones memory of the rest of the world and the only thing one can do is relax and enjoy. The marine life was amazing as too was the experience of crabbing, snorkeling, kayaking, beach walks and dhow sunset cruises. Leaving this idyllic place was so very hard. As we boated past a flock of flamingos on our return to the harbor and airport we realized that it would be impossible for us to describe what we had experienced and if we could no one would believe us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

A 30min boat transfer from Vilanculos takes you to this very intimate luxury beach lodge. (You can also access by road or helicopter). They have the most beautiful deck where you sit under the trees eating delicious food and watching the beautiful world go by. The chalets are very luxurious with beautiful baths, outdoor showers, private decks, plunge pools and beach lapas. The atmosphere is relaxed and calm as they are situated in a marine reserve there are no watersports directly in front of the lodge. Great for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank cherilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilanculos hotels
12.8 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#5 of 9 in Vilanculos
85 reviews
13.9 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
235 reviews
13.3 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 9 in Vilanculos
100 reviews
16.3 mi away
Santorini Mozambique
Santorini Mozambique
#5 of 25 in Vilanculos
55 reviews
14.3 mi away
Vilanculos Beach Lodge
Vilanculos Beach Lodge
#2 of 25 in Vilanculos
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dugong Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dugong Beach Lodge

Address: Vilanculos Coastal Wildlife Sanctuary | San Sebastian Peninsula, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Price Range: $452 - $1,009 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dugong Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 30 000 hectares of pristine Marine and Wildlife territory, it provides a unique Beach & Wilderness Experience in a hidden corner of sub-tropical Africa. This diverse eco-system of wilderness and wetland, with its powder white beaches and crystal clear water is host to a magnificent array of fish, dolphin and most importantly, the nearly extinct "Atlantic Dugong" (which resembles a sea lion). Shallow and deep water reefs reveal beautiful creatures such as the great leatherback turtles, sailfish and manta ray. Deep-sea fishing of marlin and barracuda is truly spectacular and the large flocks of flamingos and pelicans are a sight to behold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dugong Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dugong Beach Hotel Vilanculos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing