We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We had a very relaxing time at Casa Rex and loved the sunrise we could see from our terrace.
This is probably one of the more expensive options in Vilanculos but you will have all the comforts of a western style hotel here.
The hotel is a little bit outside the town centre and we were told not to walk on the road during the night, so we either ate at the restaurant or one of the staff drove us to a nearby more local place which was cheaper and also very good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 253 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2010

We came for 3 nights and stayed for 6, the friendly welcome and the great atmosphire due to the interior art design by Rex made us feel at home.
Great location great country, highly recomended

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IssyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We spent a single night at Casa Rex as we were looking for a slice of luxury in the midst of our budget vacation in Vilanculos. Some of our friends ended up staying in the Acacia rooms while we were directed to one of the courtyard suites. The courtyards are bigger, but the view from the upstairs Acacia balconies is worth so much more than any extra space in your room.

Food at the restaurant was relatively good, but you can get similar quality for a cheaper price elsewhere in Vilanculos. The only complaint I have is the varying level of service. On arrival, we had to wait almost an hour for a cup of coffee even though we asked for it three times. Also, getting drinks at the pool was going to be "difficult" according to one of the managers at first, but it turned out to be no problem at all in reality. It just took a bit of an effort in their part, which I am glad they made. Props for that.

150-180 USD for a night of luxury is a lot in Mozambique, but spending time at the pool with a drink in your hand and admiring the view from one of the upstairs Acacia rooms made it worth the money. I would recommend Casa Rex for a night or two, but if you're looking for luxury regardless of price you might as well go for one of the island resorts nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

This is a well manicured, upmarket, lush oasis. Staff are very helpful--especially Eva and Mel--and the views are magnificent. Food was delicious, but a bit on the expensive side. My only suggestion is for guests NOT to stay in the courtyard rooms if you are looking for a peaceful night's sleep. These rooms are adjacent to a local bar and it gets very, very loud over the weekends.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millioncamels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

all over it was very nice, Suzanne is very helpful. The managers themselves are not very professional but the staff is just wonderful. The food is the best in town. We tried a few others not bad as well but Casa Rex is really good. The acacia rooms are with seaviews and just great. They organise everything for you and take care about the transports. If you want to stay on the island I can suggest Sao Sebastiao, just 40 minutes with the boats there is Dugong Beach Lodge, they gave us a special rate for one nights which was 150$ the same as Casa Rex but all inclusive, so try to contact them for the rates but even if you pay more that's just a great place to stay. Big Blue Adventures are very helpful and professional to do the island trips snorkelling etc.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

The Bazaruto archipelago is the draw of this place, and we do have some beautiful photographs of us out on the islands. Unfortunately, staying on the islands themselves is very expensive, so we tried to cut costs by staying on the mainland.

Casa Rex is a nice hotel - we had a cute room, with it's own balcony overlooking the sea. The breakfast is good too. The restaurant is on the terrace, and is a small, beautifully manicured lawn with a couple of swimming pools, on a cliff overlooking the beach. It does get a little boring looking at the same menu for several nights - but there aren't a great deal of other options in town.

There isn't a great deal to do in Vilanculos, the town itself is pretty small, and we were warned that it wasn't safe to walk around at night (though it felt perfectly safe during the day). We did do some diving, which was OK, but not the most spectacular I've seen (that goes to Menjangan island off the coast of Bali). This might be a great place to chill out and relax if you've just come straight from a busy job, but we hit this place at the end of our 3 week honeymoon, and we stayed for 6 days, and actually got a bit bored. Which I realise is a bit churlish, but there you go - we would have preferred to stay a bit longer in Botswana or South Africa.

However, it's very expensive at £150 per night for 2, which is way too much to spend in Africa. This kind of place is definitely overpriced in comparison to similar places in Asia, or indeed South Africa.

If you do go to Mozambique, I'd suggest doing the backpacker thing, or splurging and staying on the islands - but this mid-price resort was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaumik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

When we arrived to Mozambique we were atonished by everything...the people is soooooo nice...they wave at you and salute you all the time. There is someone picking you up from the airport...so dont worry. People from the hotel are really nice, really nice...

The hotel is really cute but it seems that it hasnt been renewed since the 1950s. We have been told that it was the only hotel in the area that didnt get injured by the cyclon... it has a big reception that is anexe to the restaurant where you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner...the food is ok...but not excelent.

The rooms are fine...there are some in the ground floor and the upper floor...we stayed up and the views are great...magnific I would say. You have a little terrace where you can rest or sun bathing, read... Bathroom is the problem...light went on and off all the time...the shower looked dirty and we had to shower with sandals.

Swimming pool area...and beach...if you go to this hotel to go to the beach...dont go...if you go to the swimming pool...go. Going to the beach in Mozambique is a great experience but the only problem is that they are so big that you can feel unsafe...but walking is fine...

The personal is one thing that has to be mentioned...because its great...thank you for being so nice...all of you...thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Luzarraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
0.6 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#5 of 9 in Vilanculos
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 9 in Vilanculos
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
71 reviews
20.8 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
481 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vilanculos Beach Lodge
Vilanculos Beach Lodge
#4 of 25 in Vilanculos
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts

Address: 17-19 Bairro de Outubro, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Price Range: $153 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive at Casa Rex Boutique Hotel, you will instantly feel at peace - surrounded by the lush gardens overlooking the turquoise crystal blue waters of the Indian Ocean. Our room types are spacious & comfortable, each with an individual style and breezy perspective of the bay. Wireless internet access is found throughout the hotel for your convenience & for business traffic, we have conference facilities. The lounge and dining area, with custom crafted wood furniture and fittings and large sofas will make you feel right at home.... Casa Rex is renowned for its excellent open air a la carte restaurant, including a magnificent array of fresh seafood dishes and imported wines, many guests like to try the crisp local beer. A range of activities are available from Casa Rex including scuba diving and snorkeling at magnificent world renowned sites. Unbelievable deep sea fishing is most popular here & one has the opportunity to fish multiple areas around and past the islands. Go on an island dhow safari, or visit the islands - Bazaruto, Benguerra, Margaruque & Santa Carolina - by motorized boat. Or try your hand at the exhilarating kite surfing, with kiting safaris for the more experienced. Whale watching is best from August to October, and sunset cruises in traditional dhows a favorite with most holiday-makers . If you want a change from being on and in the water, try horse riding along the beach. Explore the local market, schools and visit the various craft shops for a taste of the local culture. After an active day, relax with Spa treatments from our visiting therapists, sip sundowners on the Casa Rex terrace or refresh yourself in one of our 2 sparkling swimming pools overlooking the harbor - the perfect way to end a day.....or begin one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rex Hotel Vilanculos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing