We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great small hotel in Vilanculos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Vilanculos
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great small hotel in Vilanculos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We spent a happy week's family holiday at Casa Rex. We had two courtyard view rooms with sea views from their front porches. The hotel set the one room up for our 4 children and the other one up for my wife and I. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we were met by Oliver at the modern new airport building, which is about 10 mins by car from the hotel. Mel and the other managers arranged a series of excursions for us including a town and market tour with a local guide Faquir, a dhow day trip to Margaruqe island where we walked and snorkeled, a canoeing and birding trip on a nearby river with a local guide Jay and the hire of a speedboat for a day for fishing and whale watching off Bazaruto island and snorkelling at Two Mile Reef on the ocean side of Benguerra island. All the trips were good, though the dhow and speed boat trips were overpriced. The fishing is not for the faint hearted. It involves a high speed dash through a gap in the outer reef and trolling for several hours in what, on the day we went, were big (2m +) swells. Otherwise we spent some mornings and afternoons walking along the beach to the north and the south, including going 8km south to the Archipelago resort. Along the way there are several good places for tea or a lunch including the newly refurbished Dona Ana hotel and the Kuvuka coffee shop. When we tired of walking we rode the local tuk-tuks which are cheap. Although the Casa Rex management were more than happy to make reservations for us to eat elsewhere and even fetched and carried us during the evenings we soon realised the best food in town by far is at the Casa Rex itself and so ate most of our meals there. The excellent food, spotless and comfortable rooms and friendly staff made our stay an excellent one. I highly recommend the Casa Rex. Andrew B, Cape Town

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casarex, General Manager at Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
It was a pleasure to host you and your family Andrew and to see you enjoy so much of what Vilanculos has to offer. Wonderful that you all had a such a good holiday, I hope you make it to Casa Rex again. Melonie Glyn-Woods
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    59
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
96
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inhassoro, Mozambique
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Its an amazing relaxing place, could be pricey so its not good if you're on a budget... Its easy to find, its close to the beach and also to many other must go places...The staff is exellent allways ready to help... The rooms are cozy but the size varies... The restaurant serves really well... The view alone is worth the visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank André D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casarex, Manager at Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Many thanks for your positive review André, we are delighted you that you enjoyed yourselves at Casa Rex. Yes, we do offer three different room selections - Premium, Acacia and Courtyard Suites each designed to provide maximum comfort, whilst giving our valued guests a choice of rates. We do hope that you will return to visit us again. Melonie Glyn-Woods
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in April following a safari holiday and it was excellent, lovely views of the beach and sea from our room balcony. Very quiet so we could just chill out. Staff very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and delicious. Will defiantly stop here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casarex, General Manager at Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Many thanks for your comments Robin. It was good to share our lovely environment with you, you were perfect guests. Come back again soon. Melonie Glyn-Woods
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Quiet!no television.The food is very fresh.The rooms are well kept.The beds are comfortable.All rooms appear to have the most majestic sea views.P.S!take a couple of good books.Vilankulous can be a little quiet activity wise,but its up to you to make the most of it.So have fun and enjoy the great food at the Casa Rex restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clemkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casarex, General Manager at Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank-you for your kind remarks about our lodge, it was good to welcome you and we hope you will return. The wide choice of activities in the area, from scuba diving, snorkelling, horseback riding, dhow trips, bird safaris and kite surfing are always popular, curling up with a good book by one of our pools is also a very good suggestion! Melonie Glynn-Woods
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at Casa Rex for a week during our honeymoon in August 2012 and really enjoyed it.

Gorgeous rooms, beautiful beach, and a lovely staff who were very happy to help us arrange anything we wanted to do including a day of diving at the Bazaruto Archipelago and horseback riding. Vilanculos is apparently the wind surfing capital of Africa but we didn't partake ourselves.

Breakfast was good - strongly recommend the huevos racheros - and lunch and dinner options were also very nice.

We had a beautiful, spacious room with mosquito net over the bed and a big balcony to look out to the ocean. For our honeymoon, they served us dinner one evening at the top of the stairs leading down to the beach for a more private, romantic atmosphere.

Easy access to beaches and a few restaurants on the beach which are nice and reasonably priced. Also a few restaurants inland right next to Casa Rex which were nice as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Casa Rex hotel is a small charming hotel near the beach in Vilanculos. For those looking to avoid the steep prices of the hotels on the Islands of the coast, I highly recommend this location. The hotel has a lovely view of the beach with a set of stairs leading down to the beach. The rooms were quite large with a balcony view of the ocean, what more could one ask for! The hotel restaurant serves a lovey breakfast and dinner is also a good option. The staff at the hotel were always extremely gracious and accommodating. We recommend a Dhow trip to the Bazaruto archipelago - the whitest sand I have seen! Otherwise, mostly enjoy relaxing on the beach in peace and quiet. I have been in Vilanculos twice now for holidays - the first time was over Christmas and the second shortly after the Easter holidays. In both situations, I found the beaches to be far less occupied than those in Europe.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the far right on the second floor with a beautiful view of sunrise in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Gorgeous rooms and attentive service. We found Casa Rex to be wonderfully relaxing. The gardens are beautifully kept and the housekeeping staff are so attentive and rooms spotless. The security guards are also very friendly and the property felt very safe. The food was lovely and very well presented. Excellent variety at breakfast !

We spent most days by the lovely pools or strolled down to the Kitesurfing school, which is a five min walk down the beach. My partner was able to kite surf and I was able to relax in the bar on the beach front. The school also offer storage and will sort your kites out for a small charge every day, so you don't even have to lift a finger !

The hotel were very happy to arrange taxis for you if you wanted to eat out. We did so three nights of our stay just to get out and about and the taxis or Tuks Tuks are very reliable.

I would highly recommend a trip out to one of the Islands. The Kitesurfing school ( Mark) organised us a wonderful trip to Magaruque and being the low season we were the only people there. We had a fabulous snorkel and lunch and my partner kitesurfed back to the mainland whilst we went back on the Dhow.

A very relaxing holiday and the staff cannot do enough for you. If you are a keen Kite surfer consider going in September when the downwind is on and although not perfect wind in Feb, my partner did manage to get a session in everyday we were there. If you are a Kitesurfing widow like me, the casbah bar @ the kite school is excellent for afternoon drinks and food ( whilst watching the goings on) and the Casa Rex pools delightful to lounge around all day if you prefer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzy1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
0.3 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#2 of 7 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
13.3 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 7 in Vilanculos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#3 of 7 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 8 in Vilanculos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts

Property: Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
Address: 17-19 Bairro De Outubro, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Vilanculos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive at Casa Rex Boutique Hotel, you will instantly feel at peace - surrounded by the lush gardens overlooking the turquoise crystal blue waters of the Indian Ocean. Our room types are spacious & comfortable, each with an individual style and breezy perspective of the bay. Wireless internet access is found throughout the hotel for your convenience & for business traffic, we have conference facilities. The lounge and dining area, with custom crafted wood furniture and fittings and large sofas will make you feel right at home.... Casa Rex is renowned for its excellent open air a la carte restaurant, including a magnificent array of fresh seafood dishes and imported wines, many guests like to try the crisp local beer. A range of activities are available from Casa Rex including scuba diving and snorkeling at magnificent world renowned sites. Unbelievable deep sea fishing is most popular here & one has the opportunity to fish multiple areas around and past the islands. Go on an island dhow safari, or visit the islands - Bazaruto, Benguerra, Margaruque & Santa Carolina - by motorized boat. Or try your hand at the exhilarating kite surfing, with kiting safaris for the more experienced. Whale watching is best from August to October, and sunset cruises in traditional dhows a favorite with most holiday-makers . If you want a change from being on and in the water, try horse riding along the beach. Explore the local market, schools and visit the various craft shops for a taste of the local culture. After an active day, relax with Spa treatments from our visiting therapists, sip sundowners on the Casa Rex terrace or refresh yourself in one of our 2 sparkling swimming pools overlooking the harbor - the perfect way to end a day.....or begin one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rex Hotel Vilanculos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing