We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had dinner here and loved it !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Vilanculos
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had dinner here and loved it !”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Like a Spanish parador.
Had dinner and loved the inventive coooking, atmosphere and service.
Wonderful food and location. Would love to stay one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    60
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
97
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The moment that we entered our fabulous room we could see that Casa Rex has the Wow factor. Beautiful room with magnificent sea views out towards the Bazaruto Islands. We had booked Casa Rex for a few days relaxation and luxury at the end of our Honeymoon, and it didn't disappoint.
The town itself is an excellent place from which to explore the islands, and being picked up by boat from outside the hotel was a nice touch.
Casa Rex also has an excellent restaurant, and the breakfast is fabulous.
We are already looking forward to returning to this excellent hotel in a friendly town

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

A wonderful place to spend great relaxing days: the room was clean and well equiped, a very good restaurant with great sea food.
Day trips to Bazaruto and the other islands are available, booking directly from the hotel.
Very kind people and warm welcome.
We would love to have another holiday there!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arigiulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Very few places actually look in real life like the images on their website but this one does. The hotel actually grew from a large house, to a restaurant, then a few rooms and eventually the current configuration of two blocks of rooms on either side of the old house/restaurant. The complex stand on a rise with virtually all rooms having a magnificent sea view. The view includes the islands of the Bazaruto archipelago in the distance. The shallow sea and large tidal range combines to expose a huge beach area at low tide which all fills up again at high tide. A few steps and a very short walk gets you on the beach. The hotel has two sparkling swimming pools to cool off in when the Mozambican heat calls for a swim. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served on the wide veranda of the house. The inside of the house houses the kitchen which has a large opening into the comfortable lounge area so that you can see the staff preparing the dishes. The menu is varied but concentrates on sea food. Should you stay for more than a few days there are ample other dining possibilities within walking distance.
We stayed in one of the "Arcadia" rooms that was very nicely appointed with air conditioning, a small fridge and all the usual trappings but what makes the room is the bed that stands in the middle of the room against a low brick wall and surrounded by a beautiful and totally functional mosquito net. When tied back in the day it looks like an over the top four poster bed and at night it provides very necessary protection. The balcony led to the spectacular view.
All the staff, from the manageress to the chamber maid were always friendly and a pleasure to deal with. We were taken on time and with a smile to all the activities that we chose as well as to the airport and when we forgot stuff at the hotel on our way to the airport these were delivered to us before the aircraft departed.
Vilankulo is an African city but we walked around quite a lot. We never felt threatened. There is a supermarket down the road and a whole cluster of shops. There is a sports bar and a novel beach bar within walking distance as well as a few other restaurants. It all makes for an easy, relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have air conditioning. It is needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Having just flown in from the UK, the peace and comfort helped to ease us into an exhausting visit to Moz and Zimbabwe. Good food, helpful attention and welcome shade make this small hotel ideal for couples and small family group. It's location, high above the beach, makes it unsuitable for small children. We hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank De-novo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We recently stayed at Casa Rex and were very pleasantly surprised with this lovely small hotel on the coast of Mozambique. The rooms were incredible, the views fabulous and the atmosphere was laid back, warm and inviting. The beach was easily accessible and great for walking but not the best beach for swimming as it is quite shallow. Not to worry as they have 2 small pools that were delightful! The restaurant was really lovely, with beautiful views and the food was delicious, though beware the service is quite slow- but we weren't in any rush! I would highly recommend Casa Rex.

Room Tip: 2nd floor Acacia rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalsofrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

After having plenty of "poor value for money" -experiences with African hotels, I almost burst into tears when entering the room. It was beautiful, clean and good value! The restaurant was great, breakfast tasty and abundant and the views to Indian Ocean beautiful. In addition we got such a good service from the management.

If going to Vilanculos, book this in advance to get transfer from the airport.

I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
0.6 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 8 in Vilanculos
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 8 in Vilanculos
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 8 in Vilanculos
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#5 of 8 in Vilanculos
65 reviews
19.5 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
443 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts

Property: Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
Address: 17-19 Bairro de Outubro, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Vilanculos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive at Casa Rex Boutique Hotel, you will instantly feel at peace - surrounded by the lush gardens overlooking the turquoise crystal blue waters of the Indian Ocean. Our room types are spacious & comfortable, each with an individual style and breezy perspective of the bay. Wireless internet access is found throughout the hotel for your convenience & for business traffic, we have conference facilities. The lounge and dining area, with custom crafted wood furniture and fittings and large sofas will make you feel right at home.... Casa Rex is renowned for its excellent open air a la carte restaurant, including a magnificent array of fresh seafood dishes and imported wines, many guests like to try the crisp local beer. A range of activities are available from Casa Rex including scuba diving and snorkeling at magnificent world renowned sites. Unbelievable deep sea fishing is most popular here & one has the opportunity to fish multiple areas around and past the islands. Go on an island dhow safari, or visit the islands - Bazaruto, Benguerra, Margaruque & Santa Carolina - by motorized boat. Or try your hand at the exhilarating kite surfing, with kiting safaris for the more experienced. Whale watching is best from August to October, and sunset cruises in traditional dhows a favorite with most holiday-makers . If you want a change from being on and in the water, try horse riding along the beach. Explore the local market, schools and visit the various craft shops for a taste of the local culture. After an active day, relax with Spa treatments from our visiting therapists, sip sundowners on the Casa Rex terrace or refresh yourself in one of our 2 sparkling swimming pools overlooking the harbor - the perfect way to end a day.....or begin one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rex Hotel Vilanculos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing