We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful stay!”
Review of Casa Cabana Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Cabana Beach
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Vilanculos
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What a wonderful stay!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Casa Cabana for a week. The accommodation was lovely and the food was fabulous and tasty! I have a special diet which they happily catered for and impressed me with. All the staff were friendly especially the manager Vonde, who was unbelievably kind and helpful- organising internal and external activities for us. The location of CC is simply beautiful and you get to see locals catching seafood and exchanging wares on the beach. A big thank you to all the people at CC who made our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherJess2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    30
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just a quick review! All of the staff were very hospitable and more than happy to help us find our way around town and discover what Vilanculos had to offer. Right on the beach (literally!), only 10 minute walk from town. A fantastic room with a beautiful porch area for evening reading. Great food at the bar and at very reasonable prices. We'd definitely stay there again! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryAllen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Cabana.

Positive points:
Excellent location right by the beach.
Lovely, well-maintained swimming pool.
Rooms are comfortable and clean. The two upstairs units each have a lovely sitting room/kitchen with a view of the sea. All units have a comfortable hammock that I wish I was still swinging in. The air conditioner works very well.
The restaurant is close by and serves a lovely breakfast. The view from the restaurant is spectacular.
Good value for money.
The management responded quickly and efficiently to any queries or complaints.

Negative points:
The rooms need a bit of maintenance. The cupboards leak when it rains, the bathroom door stays closed with difficulty. The hot water is intermittent so we seldom had a hot shower (fortunately with the hot weather this was not such an issue).
Cleaning ladies come to do their daily cleaning whether it is a convenient time or not.
The restaurant and this part of the beach is popular venue which means that it can be very busy at times and you may find non-residents sharing the pool which is in close proximity to the accommodation.
The 4 sleeper units are more suited to 2 adults and 2 children as there is only one bathroom and the space is a bit cramped for 4 people.
Mosquitos get in under the mosquito nets, so suggest putting them down early and spraying generous amounts of insect repellant.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AlliJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manjelito, Owner at Casa Cabana Beach, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thanks for pointing out some areas where we need to pay attention. The leak only came to my notice at the start of the rainy season and has since been attended to. Unfortunately our cleaning staff need to be told when not to disturb. Non-residents using the guest pool is something we need to address and we will put up a sign advising that the pool is for guest use only. We sometimes have a problem with the mix of hot and cold water from the gas geyser and recently put in new taps with hot and cold feeding independently . I was assured that this had solved the problem but obviously not so thanks for bringing it to my attention. We usually advise prospective guests that the self cater units are more suited to a family with small children as you rightly point out. Mosquitoes are insidious and we do our best to control by supplying sprays in the rooms and by spraying every 3 months as well as ensuring that nets are in good condition. The good news as that I have been here for 13 years and have not yet had malaria.(Touch wood) Best regards Rob Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My three weeks in Mozambique closed with a four night stay at Casa Cabana, a lovely way to finish a great journey. The rooms are set in a very pretty garden, just back from the beach, and are spacious and well-thought-through, complete with a day bed and hammock on a private terrace, super-powerful a/c and kettle & fridge in the room. They'll need a lick of paint soon and the cupboards are oddly flimsy given the overall construction but everything was clean and comfortable, and everything worked.

The Casbah restaurant and bar, right on the beach, is a lovely spot to relax and watch the Indian Ocean and the distant Bazaruto Islands, although is a little over-run, particularly at the weekends, by blokes with, um, a close relationship with beer and I expect would be especially so on high days and holidays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I have always been put off visiting Mozambique due to stories of high cost and long and dangerous roads, but the thought of another beach holiday in Kwazulu Natal forced us to finally take the plunge. We decide to fly instead of driving with others in our big group driving and bringing provisions. There are direct flights from OR Tambo to Vilanculos airport which was very convenient.

One has to be careful about accomodation as some places are quite rough, which one might not pick up from visiting web siites. Take some advice and check out sites like Trip Advisor to get a true perspective. Friends found Casa Cabana in Vilanculos which is a delightful four apartment small resort. The rooms are air-conditioned and the bigger family rooms have DSTV and their own kitchens for self catering, as food in Mozambique can be pricey for some so plan for home cooked meals and eating out treats.

The resort is literally about 100 meters from the beach and has a restaurant / bar in front of the apartments which became the center of our universe. It was great to relax on the beach during the morning and afternoon and then move to the pool when it got too hot. The heat was kept at bay with lot of Pino Calada's and Cappareinas from Casbah, the bar. The owners Rob and Janine who were staying at the complex were very friendly and generous and the waiters provided excellent service.

Vilanculos is a bay that faces four different islands which includes Bazaruto Island and they have an amazing tidal effect when the moon is in the right position, the sea recedes for almost a kilometer and one can walk up to boats that were previously in water. The water is amazingly warm and clear and no rocks or dangerous coral, just sand. Some of us did a day trip to Bazaruto Island to snorkel and was an amazing experience to climb the largest dune on the Island. If you more adventurous, Kite Surfing, diving and fishing are other options. Most of the group just relaxed with swimming, tanning, reading and sleeping ... My iPad and Kindle were just the gadgets for the lazy life.

I highly recommend the resort as a great beach experience, and anyone who is sick of the same old Ballito holiday to give Vilanculos and Casa Cabana a great try.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Casa Cabana is a small hotel that offers accommodation right on the beach in Vilanculos.
It has 4 bedrooms, two upstairs with a great view.
The staff is very friendly and attentive. The owner, Mr. Robert and Dale, his nephew, are very friendly and helpful. Always helpful to assist in our needs. I was
The restaurant has great food and is right on the beach.
I have been a little sick while I was there and Mr. Robert wanted to take me to the hospital because I had no car and the house is a litle far from the center, walking. I loved the concern and I felt supported.
Thank you and I highly recomend Casa Cabana!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianab114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscliff
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Excellent resort - very clean and spacious. Delightful restaurant/bar area right on the beach. Extremely hospitable, friendly and helpful owner - they take great care of all your needs. A very enjoyable holiday destination

Room Tip: self catering cabanas are very roomy - sleeps 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieatkingscliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
0.3 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
0.3 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 8 in Vilanculos
199 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#5 of 8 in Vilanculos
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 8 in Vilanculos
75 reviews
19.3 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
443 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cabana Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cabana Beach

Property: Casa Cabana Beach
Address: Beach Rd, Vilanculos 1304, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Vilanculos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated right on the beach in the centre of Vilanculos bay and all rooms have a spectacular view of the sea. We offer our clients luxury self cater units which come with satellite TV and aircon + fully fitted kitchen/lounge which looks out over the Indian Ocean. Double room + a small back room with a double bunk bed makes these ideal for families with small children. We also have deluxe double rooms which are equally well fitted out with top of the range mattresses and cotton linen without the the self cater option.The well known Casbah restaurant is on site with 5 star catering serving the best fresh seafood and steaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Cabana Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing