We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, backpacker place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baobab Beach Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Nice cozy bar. Very friendly and helpful staff. There is a lot of young people, backpackers here, so its noisy at night and you dont get much sleep. Good and cheap food is served. The small beehives are maybe good to sleep in if you are 20. I wouldnt recommend them for a family.

Room Tip: Don't choose the beehives. They are very small with just one bed and nothing more. The chalets a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perbjorkhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 206 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

During 2 months in Africa we found most people to be friendly and kind. During our week's stay at Baobab Beach we were hardly recognized. We had a beach bungalow which was comfortable. The bed was nice and the mosquito net was in good shape. However, rats could easily get in. They chewed a hole in one of bags to get at some sugar.

We booked a dhow trip to the island from a person at the resort. The trip was a disappointment. We were told we would return at 5:00-5:30 but were back by 3:30.

Our bungalow had a beautiful view of the sea. It was relaxing to sit on the porch. A hammock is available outside your door.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0nlan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We camped here and found everything fine, but nothing more. I agree with some of the previous reviews about slightly apathetic staff (although I thought this just applied to the foreign staff - the local staff were pretty helpful/friendly). The price was reasonable (for Mz), but food was quite expensive (which matters as you're about a km out of town).

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I arrived at Baobab having booked 2 nights accommodation in a beach bungalow with en-suite. We were very impressed with the location, comfort and cleanliness of the bungalow! After the first day we even lengthened our stay with 2 more nights. Having said that we found that the service was not good and (some) staff, including the dreadlocked barman (Hugh?), very unfriendly and apathetic. Overall the quality of the food was good, but on one occasion we waited over an hour for spring rolls and on another almost 2 hours for our prawns (which arrived cold).

We initially decided to stay at Baobab because their accommodation seemed comfortable and affordable - and it delivered! Service aside, we would still recommend that anyone stay here (there are plenty of other restaurants in town ;).

Room Tip: The 3rd, 4th and 5th beach bungalows are further from the communal area (and quieter) as well as bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minke k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca C, Manager at Baobab Beach Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feed back.

Since your stay with us we have made some significant changes to the processing and functioning of our kitchen/restaurant, so the long waits and the slow service in this department have been addressed.

We hope you will join us again in the future as we strive to improve the service standards at Baobab.

Thank you again,
Baobab management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Nice basic bungalow (I had one with shared bathroom), decent food but nothing to write home about, quite impersonal service, but nice beach location. The main draw is that it's where most travelers go, so always nice to mingle and get tips for the rest of your travels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpontal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed in this hostel for 4 nights and really loved it! All the staff is so friendly. I lost my suitcase for 3 days and Julia provided me with clothes and Vince went with me to the airport like 3 times to get my suitcase back. The service is great!! The first night I was upgraded to a bungalow on the beach, the room was very clean and had all the comfort! The other 3 nights I stayed in 'hut' with private facilities, also this room was really clean and I loved my hut :-) I friend of mine came over for the weekend and he could stay with me at no extra charge. Perfect again.
Many many thanks to all of the staff for making my stay worth while! If you go to Vilanculos, stay here you won't regret it! The beach right in front of the hostel is truly amazing, Paradise does exist!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miami16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Baobab is one of the oldest backpackers hostels in Vilanculos and feels a bit rough round the edges - though it is quite cheap. We found the bar quite noisy late into the night as the dorms are very exposed to the surroundings, which was OK but added to the noise problem. The owner looks after the local street kids which is a great thing to do, although it does seem to attract a great number of beach boys to the beach where the hostel is, meaning it is nearly impossible to relax on the beach. The food is OK and reasonably priced and the bar is good - fun and busy. The communal kitchen is excellent and well organised with a deposit for utensils. Friendly staff also. Despite the aforementioned drawbacks it is probably amongst the best backpackers in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe-p-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilanculos hotels
2.3 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 9 in Vilanculos
101 reviews
2 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
1.8 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#5 of 9 in Vilanculos
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
243 reviews
11.5 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach Village
The Beach Village
#14 of 25 in Vilanculos
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Backpackers

Address: Rua do Palacio, Vilanculos 1304, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Vilanculos
Price Range: $24 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baobab Beach Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baobab Beach is situated directly on the beach and just a kilometer from the colorful central market in Vilanculos, Mozambique. Baobab Beach looks out over the azure seas and shifting sands of the Bazaruto Archipelago. Baobab Beach facilities include accommodation, restaurant, bar, communal kitchen, communal ablutions and transport to buses. Accommodation consists of beachfront chalets (shower en-suite), ethnic huts, dormitories, camping and overlander sites.Baobab Beach activities in the area include a diving, snorkelling, island hops, dhow trips, horse riding, fishing and villiage tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Baobab Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing