We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chill, eat and dive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Babi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Babi
Ranked #1 of 8 Vilanculos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chill, eat and dive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at Casa Babi for 10 days with our young kids, and loved every minute. Sabrina and Denis have thought through every little detail of this minimalist-but-sophisticated little piece of paradise. From the carefully designed meals, to the diving experiences, we had an idyllic break here. Many places strive to have the "home away from home" thing, but these guys have really achieved it. Our kids did the great "bubble-making" course with Federico and Virginie, the incredibly professional and fun diving instructors. I don't know other places around the area, but what I can say is that you'll love this little gem.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hello Richard & family, thank you very much for this lovely feed back. We'll obviously share it with our instructors and staff. We're very happy you could feel at home here as we really do everything we can to make our guests feel more like part of the family then clients! we hope the kids are doing good in their environment and that you'll all continue diving together. All the best, Sabrina, Denis, Francisco, Virginie, all the staff and all the dogs & cats!!! (who miss the kids too!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
120
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Vilanculos is Mozambique's tourist hub and when you drive through the town, you may wonder why. It isn't the prettiest town in Mozambique, but once you reach the small Casa Babi, your view changes straight away.

You're made to feel part of the family here. The optional dinner is stunning continental and local cuisine and the owners join you. I think everyone who stays at Casa Babi chooses to stay for dinner because the food is great and reasonably priced.

The rooms are really modern but retain some African influences - the blend worked well.

The beach is a hive of activity - it's not one to sunbath on, but one where you can experience the local culture. The fish market is right outside. The owner's dogs look after their guests as well as the owners do - they accompany you during your walks if you want!

This place is slick - Sabrina and Denis have thought things through from a user experience. Water in the room, a bag containing beach towels is in the room, local amenities are used etc.

The other benefit is they own Odyssea Dive, so you get discounts on their daily snorkeling and diving trips to the Bazaruto Islands. For these, you go on a speed boat so arrive before the slow dhows and get to spend longer on the island after lunch.

We really enjoyed our time at Casa Babi.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMoz, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review, Marcus.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay, diving and snorkeling.

Greetings to Ryan!

Denis & Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Thanks a lot to the whole team. We had an awesome stay!!! The location, rooms and restaurant are absolutely beautiful and the service was amazing - better than we could expect. Food was delicious, too. The views on the sea were simply breathtaking from Casa Babi. We also enjoyed the diving: nice relaxing dives, very good equipment and dive guides with a very professional focus on safety. The reefs were not as crowded with divers as in Tofo. Overall we liked diving here more than in Tofo. The day trips to Bazaruto are really unforgettable experiences. We took some really amazing pictures over there...

Clearly 6 out of 5 stars!

Room Tip: there are only four rooms and all of them are equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMoz, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi Christian,

We are happy you enjoyed it.

Thanks for the great pictures and nice comment.

We are not 5 stars, though, please, future guests, don't expect so much!

Greeting to Mieke
Denis & Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed with a friend here before and after setting off on our Sailaway Dhow safari. What a fabulous place - the staff were so friendly & accommodating and Sabrina even took us to the chapa stand and made sure we were safely installed in the chapa we took down to Machite (I think she thought we were mad taking public transport but she made sure we weren't ripped off!). The location is a little out of town but Vilankulos accommodation seems to be spread out anyway & we didn't have any problems - we walked back along the beach from the gallery at the other end of town for dinner then took a taxi back to the guesthouse. We had lovely views over the sea from our room. The food was excellent - dinner was one of the best meals we had in Mozambique - and breakfast was also delicious. We only wished that we'd had more time to stay here for longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livlov_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello LovLiv, this is such a nice review, especially coming from guests who spent such a short time with us. Thank you very much. Hope you managed to finish your Dive Course in SA and will come and dive on our side one of these days. I hope I didn't look too doubtful about the chapas! They can be pretty uncomfortable but are definitely part of the travelling experience. See you soon hopefully. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We just spent an amazing week in Vilankulos and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay (and eat!!!)
Rooms are very comfortable, have an amazing view of the beach and every detail was taken care of (special plugs, beach towels, even iPod charger). The French owners, Sabrina and Denis, really made us feel at home while giving us the space and independence that we needed. They also organised our open water diving course at the nearby Bazaruto Archipelago, a true paradise. And when we thought it couldn't get any better, dinner was served and it was just the best food I've had in the whole of Africa. Normally we like to explore new restaurants and places but with such nice meals, we hardly made it to other restaurants. I would definitely go back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nico_LND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello N&G, a million thanks for your great review... and for your company while you were here. I'll share the comments on the kitchen with Myriam and Zita who definitely deserve it! We hope you'll continue diving around the world and are still working on the chocolate fondant to make it perfect for the next time you come! all the best, Sabrina and Denis, all the staff, dogs and cats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed 4 days at Casa Babi in Vilankulo and this made our honeymoon even more special. Denis and Sabrina are very easygoing while always making sure we were having a very good stay. All the rooms have varandas and face the ocean, with sort of a natural 'plasma' facing the very long Vilankulo beach. Moreover, the rooms were also very nicely decorated and impecably cleaned. We still remeber the daily delicious breakfast, cooked by Rosa and Anita, specially those big fruit plates and homemade jams. Casa Babi was our perfect spot to relax inbetween safaris.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InesBranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMoz, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are very proud you chose Casa Babi for your honeymoon, and even prouder that you enjoyed your stay here so much!

Greeting to Rui
Denis, Sabrina, and the kitchen team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a really lovely stay at Casa Babi in May. It was very relaxed and homely, and Sabrina and Denis were always helpful but didn't fuss which we liked. Our upstairs room out of only 4 rooms was large and cool with plenty of space and storage and a beautiful view of the beach and Indian Ocean; a great place for local colour with the fishing boats coming in, but the tides were not always easy for swimming. It was our kind of place and we would go again rather than to some luxury featureless lodge. This is Sabrina and Denis' home and dive business, so it was cosy and personal with good food straight from the sea. We also had the additional excitement of puppies expected but we had to wait for an email from Sabrina when we got home to hear all was well with 7 arrivals! We thank them most warmly for their hospitality

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joan078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hello John and Anne, all the family, puppies included, thank you for your nice comments on your stay! Sorry for the tides that don't make swimming easy... we'll try to re-organize that as well! We'd be very happy to welcome you back whenever your travels will take you again to this side of the world. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
1.9 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
2.2 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#2 of 8 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#3 of 8 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 8 in Vilanculos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#2 of 8 in Vilanculos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
21.1 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Babi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Babi

Property: Casa Babi
Address: Odyssea Dive | Rua do Palacio, Vilanculos 8000, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Vilanculos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Babi 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful beaches in Vilanculos, overlooking the bay of Bazaruto, Casa Babi is the latest addition to accommodation in Vilanculos. Designed by Odyssea Dive as a "boutique hotel," our aim is to meet the needs of travellers, divers and non-divers, who wish to spend some time enjoying our unique decor in a cosy and familiar atmosphere, where details are important. A real home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Casa Babi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing