We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location”
Review of Casa Babi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Babi
Ranked #1 of 9 Vilanculos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Casa Babi guest house rooms are very comfortable and with nice decoration. They all overlook Vilanculos amazing beach.
Food is home made and delicious (although a bit overpriced) and the owners are very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACandEdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
many thanks for your review AC and for your comment on our meals. We sincerely think that an average price of 600 meticais (16 - 17€) for a 3 courses meal is pretty reasonnable compared to what one can get in town and for the quality we try to offer. But we get your point and will start thinking about ligher and cheaper options. we hope you'll come back to check by yourself! safe journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
127
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent a week in Casa Babi and loved it. The accommodation is beautiful with ocean views, the service was great and the food was fabulous...all home made fresh produce! Owned by a french couple who are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMoz, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Many thanks from the French couple !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicchio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My sister and I spent a week at Casa Babi to reminisce about our childhood in Mozambique. It was a perfect place to do so. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated, mattresses excellent, very tasty breakfast with fresh tropical fruits, home made brioches and jams, and incredibly tasty dinners based on fresh fish and often Sabrina's home grown vegetables, different home made desserts every day, A real find! When we didn't go out on excursions to the islands of the archipelago, we just sat by the pool and watched the world go by below on the beach: fishermen bringing in their catch, children playing on the sand, friendly dogs strolling about, women with huge loads balanced on their heads elegantly walking to the boats as the tide rose. Sabrina and Denis are always there to organize outings, or just to chat over a glass of white wine. Thank you all, we want to come back every year.

Room Tip: Ground floor room is perfect for direct access to the garden. All rooms have views over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
thank you so much for this beautiful comment. We shared it with the cooks and they are very proud! we sincerely hope you'll come back every year and as sincerely, hope we'll manage to come and see you in your little paradise! see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We can only recommend Casa Babi: we spent four fantastic days looking at the Ocean, having snorkeling, boat trips around Bazaruto Archipelago and riding horses on the beach. Casa Babi is not only a guest house but also an appreciated diving center.The rooms are very nice and comfortable, the italian-french-local style kitchen is marvellous and all the staff is really friendly, dedicated and helpful. Sabrina will be able to follow you in every single request and wishes.
We can suggest the area not only to divers but also to people who desire to admire and have a jump in an unspoiled nature.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pomata77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for all these nice comments. We hope this mozambican experience will bring you back here, maybe on the occasion of one of the projects you love so much. There is a lot to do... all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Grogeous rooms overlooking a picturesque beach in Vilanculos. The rooms are beautifully decorated, very comfortable and have great showers.

The food is absolutely amazing. I was especially impressed by the breakfasts. Bacon and eggs, muesli with yoghurt, tropical fruit, fresh bread with home-made jams, freshly-squeezed juice, proper coffee - everything you could want really!

The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful with any aspect of your holiday.

We made a good decision to stay here and it was hard to leave. Thank you Denis and Sabrina :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrov2, Propriétaire at Casa Babi, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
thank you so much for these lovely comments. Next time, come in summer and you'll have even better fruit on your plate in the morning! mangoes will be here soon!!! We hope you'll choose again Mozambique, and us, for one of your next holidays and that this time we'll be able to bring you diving. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Blantyre, Malawi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Amazing views, fab food and fantastic hosts, couldn't ask for more. We went because the owners run a dive school on site (which is also superb) and found the lodge to be fantastic in its own right. It is like many owner-occpied African lodges in that the owners will help you if and when you need it and to have a beer around their bar with you if you don't. Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMoz, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Many thanks Nick for this review,

Happy you had a nice stay with us, but we must correct a few things...

1/ We are not South African, we are French/italian, so don't expect a braii !
2/ We don't sit at the bar for beers only, we drink wine as well !!!

Warmest regards,
Denis & Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Beautiful accommodations, lovely, friendly owners, full of recommendations of the local area + the food was the best I had in while in Mozambique. Definitely worth waking up early as my photos of the sunrise are some of my favourites. After sunrise, I was delighted to discover that breakfast was more than just eggs on toast (as with many other places I have stayed in Mozambique!) Dinner, although extra, is well worth the price. The chef is a genius in the kitchen and we loved everything that came out. The shower + bathroom deserves a special mention. When travelling in Africa, good showers are difficult to come by + these were excellent !

Just a few strides from the dive shop + the beach, where the local fisherman gather to set off their boats in the early mornings, and to sell their fish in the early afternoons. Beautiful !

Unfortunately didn't have the opportunity to dive while we were here, so will definitely be returning as soon as I can.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMoz, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thanks Cat,

Hope you will take the time to dive next time!

Denis & Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilanculos hotels
2.5 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 8 in Vilanculos
205 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
2.2 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 8 in Vilanculos
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#5 of 8 in Vilanculos
65 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 8 in Vilanculos
76 reviews
7.1 mi away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Babi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Babi

Property: Casa Babi
Address: Odyssea Dive | Rua do Palacio, Vilanculos 8000, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Vilanculos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Babi 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful beaches in Vilanculos, overlooking the bay of Bazaruto, Casa Babi is the latest addition to accommodation in Vilanculos. Designed by Odyssea Dive as a "boutique hotel," our aim is to meet the needs of travellers, divers and non-divers, who wish to spend some time enjoying our unique decor in a cosy and familiar atmosphere, where details are important. A real home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Babi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing