We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Casa Babi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Babi
Ranked #1 of 10 Vilanculos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Grogeous rooms overlooking a picturesque beach in Vilanculos. The rooms are beautifully decorated, very comfortable and have great showers.

The food is absolutely amazing. I was especially impressed by the breakfasts. Bacon and eggs, muesli with yoghurt, tropical fruit, fresh bread with home-made jams, freshly-squeezed juice, proper coffee - everything you could want really!

The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful with any aspect of your holiday.

We made a good decision to stay here and it was hard to leave. Thank you Denis and Sabrina :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrov2, Propriétaire at Casa Babi, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

thank you so much for these lovely comments. Next time, come in summer and you'll have even better fruit on your plate in the morning! mangoes will be here soon!!! We hope you'll choose again Mozambique, and us, for one of your next holidays and that this time we'll be able to bring you diving. All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 253 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Amazing views, fab food and fantastic hosts, couldn't ask for more. We went because the owners run a dive school on site (which is also superb) and found the lodge to be fantastic in its own right. It is like many owner-occpied African lodges in that the owners will help you if and when you need it and to have a beer around their bar with you if you don't. Perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMoz, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Many thanks Nick for this review,

Happy you had a nice stay with us, but we must correct a few things...

1/ We are not South African, we are French/italian, so don't expect a braii !
2/ We don't sit at the bar for beers only, we drink wine as well !!!

Warmest regards,
Denis & Sabrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Beautiful accommodations, lovely, friendly owners, full of recommendations of the local area + the food was the best I had in while in Mozambique. Definitely worth waking up early as my photos of the sunrise are some of my favourites. After sunrise, I was delighted to discover that breakfast was more than just eggs on toast (as with many other places I have stayed in Mozambique!) Dinner, although extra, is well worth the price. The chef is a genius in the kitchen and we loved everything that came out. The shower + bathroom deserves a special mention. When travelling in Africa, good showers are difficult to come by + these were excellent !

Just a few strides from the dive shop + the beach, where the local fisherman gather to set off their boats in the early mornings, and to sell their fish in the early afternoons. Beautiful !

Unfortunately didn't have the opportunity to dive while we were here, so will definitely be returning as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMoz, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thanks Cat,

Hope you will take the time to dive next time!

Denis & Sabrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Rarely I found such a combination of location, friendliness, great service and amazing food. This is a place where you feel spoiled.

My family and I spent about a week between June and July 2012. We all agreed that we never felt so sad leaving a place.

Only a strip of grass and a couple of palms separate you from the beach. The place is strategically positioned to quickly access the reefs around Bazaruto Archipelago. The reef is in pristine conditions. The annexed PADI centre is well organized and the instructors professional. I particularly appreciated the emphasis they put in explaining divers that the area is protected and any unorthodox behaviour that may affect the reef was not going to be accepted.

Management is keen to help you organizing activities with other operators in the village.

Breakfasts and dinners at the lodge were always of excellent quality. I had the impression the Sabrina liked to go the extra-mile to exceed our expectations.

As a family we always made sure that every holiday we go to a new destination but we have unanimously decided that we will make an exception for Casa Babi.

Potential annoyances: Sunday morning religious services in the nearby Church may be noisy if one doesn't like church choirs.

Room Tip: Top rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMoz, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Many thanks Andrea!

Will be great to see you again with your fantastic family!

Warm regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Brilliant place in Vilanculos. Stunning sea views and beautiful newly-built luxury rooms. The food was the best we have had in Mozambique and very good value. I would really recommend diving with Odyssea Dive (attached to Casa Babi). Thank you Sabrina and Denis

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pols82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thanks Polly... What else can I say? Happy you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I am a Divemaster in training here at Odyssea Dive and i can honestly say the accomodation at Casa Babi is breathtaking!

The amazing smells that come from the kitchen when i arrive in the morning leave me wishing i could have just one bite.

There is the added convenience of having the dive center next door so you can wake up; stumble to your morning coffee and breakfast and then walk a mere 20 meters down to the boat waiting on the water. Could a diver ask for anything more?

Your view from the room is of the flat 'lagoon' created by the islands which protect the mainland from the rough seas. You can see Benguerra and Maguaruque and on a crystal clear day the famous sand dune on Bazaruto Island.

Sabrina and Denis are very friendly and will do their best to make sure you never forget your holiday to Vilankulos.

Casa Babi is stunning and a 'must visit' in Vilankulos.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thanks Dan,

I'll check with Sabrina if you could have one bite or two...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Casa Babi for 4 days in Jan 2012. We loved everything and we wished we could stay longer and already look forward to the next stay.
The guest house is located right on the white sand beach and facing the ocean with a stunning view overlooking the water. Our room is beautifully decorated. Clean, tidy, simple, the perfect combination of grace and comfort. We loved the breeze going through the room, enjoyed falling asleep listening to the wave and waking up with the sunrise as well as watching fishing boats coming in every morning.
We did our advanced diving courses at the odyssea dive center and were nicely looked after by Sabrina and Denis and all the staff through our stay. Because there are only 4 rooms at the guesthouse you receive very personal and detailed service from the host. Sabrina and Denis are both incredibly nice and helpful. The sandwiches prepared for divers are awesome. Although one sandwich per person seems not enough coz they are so delicious and you do get hungry after a boat ride and a deep dive under the sun. hehehe ;p
Now, I have to mention the food at Casa Babi. My partner and I were living in both Shanghai and Melbourne where you get spoiled by great food&wine and where considered as foodie's paradise. We both agree that the food at Casa Babi is the best home-cooked food ever during our entire one-month Africa trip !!! Breakfast is simple but fresh and delicious. Dinner is full-on from starter, maincourse to dessert. Everything is super tasty and yum-yum-yum (Cheers to Sabrina and her well-trained kitchen ladies) and at a very reasonable price !!! We didn't eat elsewhere at all during those 3 days. (Oh well, we went to the hostel pub next door one night for BBQ and it turned out a total mistake. The food was 2 hours late and terrible. The entire night we kept saying how we should have totally eaten at "home"- Casa Babi >@< ). Even later on we left Vilanculos and went on to Tofo and still were missing the food at Sabrina's. Truly the best food we've ever had in Mozambique !
This is a hidden gem brings you peaceful and private getaway holiday experience. We are looking forward to our next stay already and whoever are going to Vilanculos we highly recommend this place. All the best Casa Babi ! - Eva and Todd

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013
Google Translation

Merci Véronique et Olivier pour vos commentaires sur votre séjour chez nous et pour l'appréciation positive sur la tarte aux fruits de la passion. Dommage que vous ne soyez pas restés plus longtemps pour goûter d'autres de nos spécialités! la vie de la plage est effectivement intéressante à admirer depuis nos terrasses ou notre jardin. Très authentique... plus que la ville elle-même effectivement. Nous espérons que le reste de votre séjour mozambicain s'est bien déroulé et que vos pas vous ramèneront vers nous dans le futur. A bientôt, Sabrina, Denis, Virginie, Francisco et tous les autres!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
2.5 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
243 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
2.2 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 9 in Vilanculos
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#5 of 9 in Vilanculos
88 reviews
11.5 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
71 reviews
22.3 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Babi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Babi

Address: Odyssea Dive | Rua do Palacio, Vilanculos 8000, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Vilanculos
Price Range: $207 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Babi 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful beaches in Vilanculos, overlooking the bay of Bazaruto, Casa Babi is the latest addition to accommodation in Vilanculos. Designed by Odyssea Dive as a "boutique hotel," our aim is to meet the needs of travellers, divers and non-divers, who wish to spend some time enjoying our unique decor in a cosy and familiar atmosphere, where details are important. A real home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Babi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing