We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and beautiful”

Sailaway Dhow Safaris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer all inclusive day and overnight dhow safaris to the Bazaruto Archipelago National Park. Accommodation options on overnight safaris include camping or lodge accommodation on the mainland whilst on safari. Excellent food, refreshments, snorkeling over reefs and exploring the islands in the Archipelago. Day safari rate from Mt 2,850 p/p and overnight safaris from Mt7,350 p/p.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had the best time on our 3 day dhow trip. The crew were warm and friendly, great food, amazing sites along the way. Some of the best snorkelling I have ever experienced along 2 mile reef. The water was warm and clear even in June. I highly recommend it!

1  Thank corinaonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 62 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

The trip was wonderful, using a boat with a motor and a sail. Overnight was in very nice and basic rustic house on an island, the sunset and starry-sky was an unforgettable experience. Richard was very helpful to overcome an cumute-problem to a lodge, he drove us there.

All in all, excellent experince, Sailaway is highly recommended.

1  Thank NikiAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I read about Sailaway in the december 2011 issue of National Geographic Traveller and immediately thought ' that is what we should be doing'. The trip materialised this June and it turned out to be as good as described. The crew was experienced, the food was great ( I just loved the tomato sauce and the fish and the crab)and the snorkling and the walking on the isles were wonderful. I will not quickly forget the beauty of the aquamarine ocean.Overnight we stayed at Villas do Indico which was also a very good experience, very friendly management, wonderful environment, a very comfortable room and again: mouthwatering food.

Thank Fredeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Would recommend this safari to anyone and everyone staff were great starting from richard the manager who guided me extremely since my first contact, chef alfredo (Chefe Carapau) who's cooking was truly great, to rogerio a fantastic guide and the captain of smooth sailing. Bazaruto Archiepelego truly an amazing trip ! Take care and thank you guys ! ; )

Thank CarimCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

we did 2 day trip: 1st day magarruque island, sleeping on Benguerra island, second day: 2mile reef , dunes on Bazaruto and back to vilanculos. the bazaruto archipelagus is beautyful!! Sailaway organisation lack of responsibility! we had a 3 staff cruise with us and we experienced bad situations with them: lunch of first day very poor, they had eaten most of our food; once arrived to the accommodation in benguerra the crew leader tried to share the house with us instead of going to sleep in their accommodation. in the morning we realised that the crew leader was completely DRUNK and therefore we started late our second day programme because he had to 'recover'. once back to Vilanculos we explained the situation to the Sailaway owner and he completely disregard our comments.
of course bazaruto archipelagos is very beautyful. with this review I would like to warn future travellers to choose an other company for a dhow safari to Bazaruto islands; in Vilanculos there is a lot of offer!!!

2  Thank escaparate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveSailaway, Owner at Sailaway Dhow Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Hi Sylvia
Our apologies for the problems you experienced on the trip. Having operated since 1997 we have provided thousands of safaris with very positive feedback from clients, and we do try our hardest to operate responsibly. I think there must have been some confusion regarding your lunch on the 1st day. Our staff never eat lunch before the clients do. According to the crew on the trip you said that you enjoyed the lunch that day? Secondly our guide Rogerio was informed by the house staff that they could sleep in the spare room in the house. After you objected they moved to quarters out back. Some clients actually insist that the crew occupy a room if it is not being occupied. As far as your guide drinking on safari this is unacceptable and not the norm. He has been disciplined about this and we offer our sincerest apologies about that. Our manager, Richard, did not disregard your comments, he went to find the crew to find out what had happened on the trip when you voiced your complaints on your return. When he returned to speak to you, you had already left our office. This was unfortunate as he could see that you had legitimate complaints and he wanted to deal with them. Hopefully if you return to Vilanculos one day we can offer you a safari without mishap.
Best regards
David Kimber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailaway Dhow Safaris also viewed

Vilanculos, Inhambane Province
Vilanculos, Inhambane Province
 
Vilanculos, Inhambane Province
Vilanculos, Inhambane Province
 

Been to Sailaway Dhow Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing