We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$34
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$38
$24
View deal
SAVE $14
Expedia.com
$38
$24
View deal
SAVE $14
Priceline$38
CheapTickets$24
Travelocity$24
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
79
24
12
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
79
24
12
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful place nice pool calamari trips bungalow reef beach canoe tide paradise ana
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 128 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2019

We stayed at Villas Do indico for Christmas It was expensive for the confort of the rooms but nothing surprising as it was the peak season. The real issue of this lodge was the food which was really awful and the fact that, as the lodge is far away from Vilanculos, there is no other alternative than to eat at the restaurant if you don`t have a 4*4.The service is very slow, we waited 1h30 min one night to get 2 pizzas and a chicken which tasted like fish as they probably used the same grill. Most of the time, they were running out of something, cheese for the pizzas, or coffee or jam in the morning ... there is definitely space for improvements .To conclude on a positive note, the surrondings, the pool, etc are really beautiful and the staff (Xavier) very friendly and accomodating.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaPaulaS3295, Owner at Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2019

Thank you very much for your review.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards from all Villas do Indico Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018

We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved it! The service was amazing, and the location is absolutely idyllic. Even with the whole place being booked to capacity it never felt crowded.

We stayed for 6 days. Four of these were spent just lazing away next to the pool and the beach, and that was amazing. On day 2 we took a quick trip to see the town and get a few snacks, and day 5 we booked a snorkeling trip, which was probably the highlight of our holiday :)

As good as everything was, we had two complaints – firstly, the double bed in the suite is just two single beds pushed together. This is horrible, especially for a honeymoon trip. Cuddles just don't work with hard mattress edges jamming into your ribs.

And then there was the food...
Pizza? Fantastic! Get the Indico pizza.
Grilled fish? Amazing!
Curry? Sent me straight back to the meals we got at university residences.

The food prices are not unreasonable for the class of hotel, but the presentation and flavour is closer to something you'd find when you go visit your aunt Jen. It's not bad at all, actually quite nice. Home-cooked flavour, wholesome without being any kind of impressive. Ultimately though, you know your mom's food is better.

Meals range from $10-$20USD, and for that price I expected just a liiitle more. The veggie side was the same every day. A very buttery mix of cabbage and carrot, nice on day one, too much on day two, after day 6 enough to put me off cabbage for a month. Is steamed broccoli or even just a frozen veggie mix too much to ask for?

The Indico Curry was a low point. Rice, boiled chicken pieces, and a fruity brown puree of a sauce poured over everything. Not even a hint of vegetables, and nothing resembling curry spices in the taste. Had we never ordered the curry, our overall opinion of the food would have been much better.

Stick to the pizza, grilled fish and seafood. And make sure to ask for their hot sauce. it's out of this world ;)

Overall, our stay was amazing. The beach is less than a minute walk from the rooms, all the staff were super friendly, and the suites are cosy as heck inside. Rowing was nice, but they need to fix the double canoe.

If we're ever back in the region, we'll definitely return to Villas do Indicos!

Thanks Xavier for going out of your way to make our stay special!

Room tip: Get a sea-facing room, it's worth it. Rooms 1-4 are close enough to the main building to get wifi.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karel225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaPaulaS3295, Owner at Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2019

Thank you very much for your review.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards from all Villas do Indico Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2018

We came for a short, 2-night trip to Vilanculos. We really enjoyed our stay at Villas do Indico. For the first night, we were the only guests on the property. We felt very well taken care of by all of the staff. While other reviewers have said that the food is expensive, we didn't think so, compared to Maputo prices, and it was very good. (Yes, the 400mzn for an omelette is a bit high, but that was a choice we made.) We took a boat trip out to two of the islands, organized through the hotel, and we thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The infinity pool was a great addition as well.

Room tip: Wifi is only available in the restaurant/pool area, but in Room 1, it is close enough to pick up wifi too.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank C-Line1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaPaulaS3295, Owner at Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2019

Thank you very much for your review.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards from all Villas do Indico Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2018 via mobile

The place is lovely made with attention to details. Position itself as an mid-upmarket retreat resort.
Make sure you know ahead of your stay however what is and what is not included in your rate and what are the prices to avoid unpleasant surprises.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank agiefdlowaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaPaulaS3295, Owner at Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2018

Thank you very much for your review.
Best regards for all the team at Villas do Indico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

Great location. Great resort. The directions is not clear to find the resort.
Food is not great compared to area but overpriced!
I had the most expensive omelette in the world without toast or anything else on the plate.
We could enjoy the resort more if cocktails and food was better priced. Instead we went outside to get the same for cheaper.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 894peetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Paula S, Owner at Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you very much Peet B for your review. We ll try to improve our performance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews