We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$210
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Cabana Beach(Vilanculos)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dugong Beach Lodge(Vilanculos)
$410
$398
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel(Vilanculos)
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dona Ana(Vilanculos)
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Dercia(Vilanculos)
$8
Priceline
View Deal
$959
$867
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Pescador(Vilanculos)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
63
18
9
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
18
9
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday tripinfinity poolsmall resortlow seasonbeautiful placeloved every minuteenjoyed our stayexcellent foodfishbennyboachefxaviermozambiqueexcursionsreefbeach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 100 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Villanculos, with it's crystal clear water and gorgeous blue sea, is more than worth a visit, and Villas do Indico is the place to stay when in Villanculos. It's a great hotel on an amazing beach, with superb food, top-notch service and surprisingly affordable prices. The rooms are spacious, with air-con, large comfy beds and practically on the beach. Any minor issues we had were dealt with promptly. The boat trip to the islands is an absolute MUST!! And do walk up the sand dune, even if it feels like you'll never get to the top, the views are worth it! Many thanks to the staff at the hotel for making it a perfect stay, specially Paulo and Melissa. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelholicBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at Villas do Indico over Easter 2012 with our young family. The location is great, rooms are clean and comfortable, the pool is sparkling and the service is very friendly and good. The lodge is very family friendly. We particularly enjoyed the amazing Azorean/ Mozambican/ Portuguese cuisine which was absolutely delicious - they bake their own bread and prepare whatever is caught in the ocean that day - in some ways, the food really made our stay.

The only thing I would say is that I am not sure exactly where the "Eco-Resort" status comes from (other than self-appointed); and rather than a spa with a comprehensive menu, there is a simple tented room on the beach for massages which is very ably run by a lovely masseuse. In addition, it is 10k out of town (a plus for us) and you can't reach do Indico without a 4x4. We would not hesitate to recommend do Indico as one of the nicest places to stay in Vilanculos.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is a great hotel - the previous reviews have said it all, really, but I would underscore the biggest advantages (in my mind), which are value, cleanliness, food, and service.
- This isn't a backpackers hostel, so you wouldn't expect to pay backpacker prices, but I think the price is very fair.
- The hotel is impeccably clean, despite being in nearly untouched natural surroundings which could easily take over if were not diligently maintained.
- The food is EXCELLENT; best seafood I've had in ages, all incredibly fresh and based on what's available that day. Highlights for us were some perfectly cooked lobster and crab. I salivate just remembering it.
- Every member of the staff is charming and helpful - great job all around.

The cons, as stated in other reviews, are the cost of food and the distance from town, which could be undesirable for travelers looking to socialize/party, or those on a strict budget. That said, we would stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe suite. Every room appears quiet, but some are more removed from the beach than others; would recommend choosing one that is closest to the beach.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank puresummerhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We loved this beautiful place on the beach! We enjoyed the hospitality of management and staff, the beauty of the environment, the beach, the archipelago, the food and the wonderful, beautifully decorated rooms. Good service, nice and clean and in a peaceful setting 10 kms outside town.

We came for a restful beach holiday and got exactly what we wished for. We certainly would like to come back some time

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We spent a week of our honeymoon at Villas, and we couldn't have been happier. Beautiful rooms, stunning location, incredible pool, and the friendliest service you could wish for. And the food! We had 4 course feasts every night that we will remember for many years to come...

A really really special place, all the more special for the fact that it's miles away from town! Also the perfect place to stay while doing a Sailaway Dhow Safari - which they can organise for you. Highly highly recommended.

Loved it, and can't wait to go back once the spa is built!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank missybridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews