We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing April holiday”
Review of Archipelago Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Archipelago Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in Casa 8 from April 4 to 9th. Drove from Harare, no problems. We loved the area and the staff were brilliant. Best beach in Vilankulo and the Casa was perfect. If you want 5 star, stay away but we loved the rustic finish and casual friendliness of everyone there. Piping hot water, comfy bed ( with view of the sea!) good kitchen basics. Thanks for an unforgettable holiday!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Buzzyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArchipelagoHarare, Owner at Archipelago Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Truly delighted to host you at Archipelago Resort and we look forward to your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 167 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying here whilst on a five day Horse Riding Holiday with Mozambique Horse Safari. The Casa accommodation was just wonderful, with Ocean views and well kept gardens. The staff are very helpful and cheery, and we spent afternoons chilling in the pool , sipping ice cold beers. We were treated to a fantastic fish BBQ supper, with traditional Mozambique music being performed by a group of local singers .... Lovely , relaxing and simply stunning ..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarneyWaitaLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

A great place for a relaxing holiday.

The trip from the airport to the resort is interesting as it passes through the local villages. Buy some sweets from the shops before you leave and throw them out to the little kids; they just love it.

Seven of us stayed in Casa #5 during November and were very happy. The accommodation is large, comfortable and private. Two bedrooms downstairs (one with ensuite) and a loft with 3 beds. A spacious kitchen with gas cooker, lounge and dining room. We spent most of our time on the outside verandah overlooking the pristine archipelago.

The restaurant and bar area is a great place to meet people, enjoy an excellent meal (I recommend the piri piri chicken) and have a few drinks. The staff are all very friendly and can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable. There's a nice pool and great views out to sea.

We hired a boat from the resort to snorkel at 2 mile roof which was excellent. On the way we visited the Southern tip of Bazaruto island and climbed the sand dunes. The environment is pristine and the water crystal clear. Lunch on Benguerra island was great although a bit more expensive than the mainland. Fuel for the boat was quite costly but I guess that's unavoidable.

One day we bought a fresh snapper from the beach and cooked it on a BBQ at the Casa. You can ask for a BBQ at the restaurant area. The fish was amazing. Later we had more fish and garlic prawns and cooked them on the BBQ in front of the Casa. Just magic.

I highly recommend this resort.

Grant, Tracey, Nick and Norman and all their staff made the stay very enjoyable; thank you all!

Room Tip: Ask for a Casa at the front overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chanetsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a Casa, so there's no reason to complain about the room at all :)

The staff were very friendly, the resort is very very quiet, safe and well maintained. For our liking it was a little to quiet and we would have liked to meet some younger crowd than we actually did. The beach is indeed gorgeous, not busy and the water is clean. I loved it to walk from there to Vilankulos, which is actually a one hour walk.

The biggest minus point would be the fact that you always need to have some transport arranged when you wanna do something outside the resort. In Tofo, where we were before, you just hitchhike for free, while in Villankulos the taxi to and from the resort costs always MT600 each way. So, if I see the restaurant owner offloading his van with staff from the local market at 09am in the morning I am asking myself why's he not announcing the evening before that he's heading to town the next morning.

We were also quite disappointed by Dive Bazaruto, which is the dive center in the resort but thats another story.

After all, we were happy at the Archipelago Resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamSchonke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed there in Sep 2013 for a wedding on the beach which was incredibly beautiful! The beach is gorgeous, not busy at all and the water is clean and lovely. My favorite part was definitely the beach and the prawns from the restaurant! My criticism would be that the casas (or at least mine) was lovely and clean but a little more attention to detail could have been added for e.g the gas stove was impossible almost to turn on and there wasn't even a kettle or toaster available. The owners are charming and attentive, but the manager/kitchen lady is not very friendly or approachable. Overall, a lovely place and worth the drive!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the casa's with the view of the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliana789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed at the Archipelago resort for a week in October 2013 whilst on the Horse Riding Safari. It is the perfect balance of rustic Africa and luxury and is everything I hoped it would be, and more. The staff were exceptionally friendly, the resort is quiet, safe and very well maintained and the food is great. The casas are large and well appointed; don't expect Duravit style bathrooms but everything is clean and functional. This is not Oberoi standard but is so much more personal and is much the better for it.

Room Tip: There are only 18 casas arranged either side of a sandy track. The lower numbers (possibly 1 to 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooze_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Archipelago Resort is beautiful, has everything you need, and is staffed by friendly and helpful people. I stayed a week and loved it! (Especially the Malva pudding!)

The beds were comfortable, the casas were very inviting and cleaned every day. No loud noises and a charming design made the stay quite nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lane134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
9.8 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
71 reviews
4.4 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
5 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#5 of 9 in Vilanculos
82 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 9 in Vilanculos
95 reviews
24.6 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archipelago Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archipelago Resort

Address: Chibuene, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Vilanculos
Price Range: $89 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Archipelago Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort consists of eighteen fully furnished chalets. There is a central area with an attractive restaurant, bar and swimming pool. The chalets sleep six people each and have a fully equipped kitchen. It is situated close to the Bazaruto Marine Park famous for it pristine sea life, coral reefs dives, turtle breeding grounds, dugongs and migrant whales For the more active, we boast an extensive knowledge of the area, with our Dive Instructor/fishing expert having operated in these waters for nearly 10 years. Our portfolio includes unexplored dive sites, fantastic surf, fly and big game fishing. A fully equipped SCUBA dive center offering on site PADI courses; boats and fishing equipment for hire, wind surfers, para sailing, banana boating, island trips and transfers, dhow trips, horse riding along the Vilanculos beach and much, much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Archipelago Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing