We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Zombie Cucumber

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zombie Cucumber
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Turned up having done very little research and was super impressed by every single aspect

Clean and comfortable rooms, great bathrooms with hot and powerful showers, good food...incredibly priced

Recommended to anyone

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MikeD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valerie1209, Propriétaire at Zombie Cucumber, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi Mike. what to answer you? Just thank you, thank you, thank you ! Hope to see you again. All the best. Bruno & Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    31
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
34
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twizel, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend at the end of 2012. It is hands down one of the best backpackers I've ever been to. It's a good price for vilankulos, the owner and manager were really friendly and helpful and helped us to book a private trip out to bazaruto on short notice.
Nice food, clean really cute rooms and in a great location, only about 10 min walk to town and 1 minute to the beach - if you're after a place with loads of charm, this is it!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chloecorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valerie1209, Propriétaire at Zombie Cucumber, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi and many thanks for your review ; perhaps we'll see you back this year ?... Warm regards. Bruno & Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We spent 6 days at Zombie Cucumber / a.k.a. Casa Jules.

We stayed in one of the rooms at the back of the resort (no.4) and had an amazing time. Valerie and Bruno were very quick to satify all of our needs when concerns were voiced to them.

The pizzas are delicious but the rest of the menu is so-so and pricey. Walk up 5 minutes for breakfast or lunch to Kuvuka cafe instead!

We went out on a "Dhow" safari one day with Marina, a friend of the owner, and had a wonderful time, great food, and fantastic snorkeling!

This hotel is non pretencious and a good mid-range option!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVZubieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valerie1209, Propriétaire at Zombie Cucumber, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your nice comment. We are sad you didn't realy enjoy our food because we try to do our best. Kuvuka is realy a very nice and cheap place with sea view and we are happy to support them through our reviews. Enjoy winter in Canada. Bruno & Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We (Honeymooner) stayed 3 nights in Zombie Cucumber. Bruno is a excellent entertainer, the accommodation (we stayed in the new built room) is perfect (clean, cute, lovely decoration, secure, 50m from the beach, ...). The food is very good (for sure you can eat outside cheaper, but you will never find spaghetti's with shrimps that tasty). The stuff is helpfull.
We will come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael_Bern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valerie1209, Propriétaire at Zombie Cucumber, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Many thanks for the review. We hope to see you back soon. Best regards. Valérie & Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights last week. Great locaton, only a 50 metre walk from the beach and if your not into swiming in the ocean they have a great pool with a bar. The rooms were very clean and modern. The restaurant is also great and the owner Bruno is really helpful with tips and hints on what to do and see. I highly recommened a stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valerie1209, Propriétaire at Zombie Cucumber, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi and many thanks for the great review....You make us very happy to be so happy ! Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springbok, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We traveled to Vilanculos in mid Augustus 2013 we were planning to stay 2 nights in self catering units and 2 nights camping, on the first day we arrived at Vilanculos we ate something at zombie cucumber, and there was just something special about the place, so we decided to stay over there instead of camping. It turned out to be an awesome night as there was a live local band and as I understand there is every Sunday and even people from the crowd started singing and playing some instruments it was a very special night on our holiday. Even before we decided to stay there the manager was willing to do our laundry at a very good price which we appreciated allot. Thank you Zombie Cucumber

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valerie1209, Propriétaire at Zombie Cucumber, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hi and many thanks for the friendly comment. I also remember thats crazy , funny and international sunday's night ; for us also it stays a very special memory, because all the sundays are not so busy ! and so wonderfull ! We are happy to read that you was coming for lunch or diner and "feel that there was something special" that made you deciding to stay !! It's exactly what we want : to offer something special, comfortable ,warm, soft and friendly. Thank you so much and see you soon .< val & Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The place has a fairly nice atmosphere but is not very well maintained and the service is poor. The managers are particularly unhelpful when it comes to helping travellers which is really very needed in Mozambique as getting around is not so easy. - we got the impression they had no clue about local matters and were only interested in spending time back in Belgium.
We found it poor value - 75 euros per night is rather pricey for what you get so you might as well pay a bit more for a far better service.
We were happy to change hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valerie1209, Propriétaire at Zombie Cucumber, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hi and very sorry about your comment. When did you come ? I don't find any registration with your name or from somebody from your country in august. We are also surpirsed to read that we are just interseted spending time back in Belgium because Bruno hate to go back to Belgium and he was just coming back from his stay the 10 of august, and I came back end of july so we were not realy to excited to go back home as we were just back ! Also, if you read all the other comments our best quotations are about services and helping our clients ; So I realy don't understund.. We have managers of islands' trips companies coming everyday to Zombie ; We have a big board in the loundge offering ALL informations about activities, restaurants, massages, everything to do in Vilanculos and we are presents all the day untill we close late in the evening . Most of the time our staff is going to buy bus'tickets for the clients and if they leave Zombie in the middle of the night to get their bus, our guard is going with them...
We can't be apreciated by everybody,because everyone is idifferent and expecting for something else ! I'm just sad you didn't take time to tell me the problems ; regarding the place you were after, I think you prefer traveling in business hotel, unformal places than in guest houses. Sorry again that you didn't like our place. Best regards. Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilanculos hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
77 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
2.0 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baobab Beach Backpackers
Baobab Beach Backpackers
#4 of 25 in Vilanculos
186 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beach Village
The Beach Village
#16 of 25 in Vilanculos
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmeiras Lodge
Palmeiras Lodge
#3 of 10 in Vilanculos
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zombie Cucumber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zombie Cucumber

Property: Zombie Cucumber
Address: Avenida Marginal | Bairro Central, Vilanculos 0000, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Vilanculos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zombie Cucumber is very well located (2mn walking distance from the beach, facing Bazaruto archipelago)and has been fully renoveted in 2012. The new owners, Valerie & Bruno, are french and belgium and do anything to turn your journey in their small paradise as the best remember of your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Zombie Cucumber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing